We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red Rock Rocks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Pinon Pointe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Pinon Pointe to your Saves list
Hyatt Pinon Pointe
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 North Highway 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
new jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Red Rock Rocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

The staff at the Hyatt Pinon Pointe were professional and courteous. Always gave great suggestion for dinner and things to do. Our room was ready when we got there (we were 3 hours early). We had a two bedroom condo that overlooked the Red Rocks. It was a lovely stay. My 13 year old daughter was in her own room with a mini kitchen and her own bathroom. The ground beautiful and kept very clean. Pool was up higher then then the rest of the hotel. They had soft music playing in the backgroundaround the pool. They had a nice fire pit lit every night.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    172
    49
    36
    18
See reviews for
225
190
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

Hyatt Pinion Pointe is built into the side of a mountain at the very center of Sedona, walking distance to many restaurants and galleries. There are restaurants, shops and galleries on the property but they are not owned by Hyatt. Wildflower Bread Company is a great breakfast place on the property.

We stayed in a studio, with great views from the balcony. Furnishings are high-end, and the pool, hot-tubs and activity center are all well-maintained, but be prepared to do some walking to any facility, the lobby, and your unit. Having said all that, we'd stay here again in a heartbeat. It is truly close to all Sedon has to offer

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainmaker77
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

Yes the site is outstanding, even the people were friendly, however the rooms for non-Hilton timeshare members if you end up with the lockout is like staying in a dungeon. Terrible view (unless you dig a wall), there is no light, no view, just terrible.

Now on the other hand if you have the luxury of staying in the full suite no problem, except again for you quest...who gets to experience the dungeon. Our suggestion, just use the full large suite, don't take the lockout, or find another hotel.

Now it does have a computer on line, but don't call it a business center. They have a poor with about 60 chairs and maybe 8 umbrellas (so either plan on getting a seat early or cooking...), oh, and if your there as a couple and don' t do noisy kids....pass on this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

Our stay was between June 20th to the 23rd. What a perfect place and perfect location. Beautiful resort. Adjacent to a small town for ice cream for the little kids. If you're visiting Sedona, this is the place to stay. There are other reviews of the resort so I wont get into it much other than it's highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

I took a friend here for a "girls getaway" and we had a blast. We rented a two-bedroom and she got the huge master suite and I took the lock-out. Expected just a bedroom but got a nice room with a little kitchen area, big bed and a sofa. Not like I needed it!

We chose not to cook but ate breakfast at the Wildflower everyday...I could have eaten there 3 times each day! Easy walk through the parking lot to get there.

Our room had nice views from both decks. Everything worked quite well.

My only suggested improvement would be a handle on the door separating the lock out from the main unit. The door is heavy and it's not always easy to grab the dead bolt.

This would be a very difficult resort for someone physically impaired...be sure to ask ahead of time for an accessible room.

Loved the dark city! We never used the flashlight, the stars were so bright!

Visit the Chamber of Commerce on the corner right behind the resort! Super friendly and helpful volunteers there.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2009

Stayed mid-April at Hyatt Pinon Pointe as part of our Hyatt Vacation timeshare. Excellent location for our first visit to Sedona. Roomy one-bedroom suite with a great view from a spacious balcony. Only snafu was when our microwave "died" in the middle of dinner preparations. Staff efficiently replaced it the next morning with a new one. Concierge and all staff very helpful. We were able to walk to many restaurants and shops. Wildflower Bread Company in the nearby small shopping center had varied menu selection and very reasonable prices. Excellent mushroom soup! Pink Jeep tour (not to be missed!) picked us up at the door. Hyatt timeshare sales staff were patient about answering questions about our previous purchase and the point system -- and not pushy about making another sale. We did end up buying another week here! (We also have a week at the Highlands Inn.) This is a place we are eager to visit again!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles california
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

This Hyatt property is beautiful and wonderfully kept up. we loved the spirit of the staff, a change they link to their new manager Mike. we have stayed 3 times and plan to come back. we saw the negative review and have some context. First, a studio is just that, all the features cleverly arranged into a tiny space. Just like a studio apartment.

If a Hilton hotel rooom (a bedroom with a couch) is your idea of a place to stay, then please be happy there. However, if you want a small apartment, Go to Hyatt vacation clubls. Two people? Get a one bedroom minimum and then you have a lovely balcony for meals outside, a spacious living room with fireplace (push a button and it is on). Why do you have a flashlight and minimal outdoor lights--to see the stars! People who live in the area and all who love Sedona come there because they do not want the washed out night skies of LA, SF, NY. The view from the swimming pool and the hot tubs is amazing rocks, just like the travel magazine photos.

If you are traveling with friends or adult children, the vacation club is ideal. You are sharing a living space and you don't have to make appointments to see each other! For our adult children, it lowers the stress factor, they can sleep as late as they like. If we are hungry for contact, we stay home and read and email,etc. and when they get up at their pace, we are around for an impromptu meal and catch up. And, in this economy, the money saved on meals is astronomical, we can afford to invite them for an entire week. The kitchens are beautifully equipped and cooking in a group is fun.

There was a bit of trouble with the Internet, but Mike was on top of it and it got fixed faster than promised. Owner's meetings happen only once a week, fyi and when we are there, the meeting does not seem to get in the way of users of the public computer. There is a wine and cheese reception once a week, a wonderful native American flute concert (free) and concierge service far better than any Hilton. An MIT scholar gives a session on the vortex experience and there is a weekly hike overview.

You can walk down to the intense tourist area for shops, but go to the visitor center, right next door and learn about all the wonderful things to do that are free as well as special expeditions. Don't forget to ask the US Forest Service rangers there about earning a patch!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Pinon Pointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Pinon Pointe

Address: 1 North Highway 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#7 Family Hotel in Sedona
#21 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Pinon Pointe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Pinon Pointe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Pinon Pointe Hotel Sedona
Hyatt Hotel Sedona
Hyatt Hotel Pinon Pointe
Sedona Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Pinon Pointe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.