We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Sedona” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Pinon Pointe

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Pinon Pointe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Pinon Pointe
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 North Highway 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 46 hotels in Sedona
Orlando, Fl
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Sedona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This Hyatt is in a wonderful location in Sedona. It is set up high so the views are amazing from your balcony, and especially the pool area. The units are very spacious and even have a fireplace. It was so nice at night to be able to sit on the patio and not sweat!
This hotel is conveniently located. We walked to Tlacapaque and then to many galleries. It's an easy, nice walk. They have crosswalks in front of the hotel--you do have to watch for drivers in the roundabout, but we had no problem. The pool is very relaxing. Hardly anyone there when we were there. Hardly saw any children. We grilled steaks one night in the cabana and we had it all to ourselves. It was great. The music is not too loud, and is mainly in the background. There are tons of trails there---so much to do. We needed more time! We did get sandwiches at Wildflower Cafe to take on a hike with us and they were delicious. Great views of the mountains where the shops are. Alot of the shops seem touristy.
Also, Kerrie at the front desk was not very pleasant, but everyone else was. I would definitely come back and stay here, hopefully when the weather cools down during the day.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor so you get a better view of the sunset, the mountains and the city overall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    278
    162
    43
    34
    18
See reviews for
209
173
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
los angeles california
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We "own" here and do come almost every year as it is our favorite Hyatt vacation club. The mood is peaceful and scenery beautiful. Very few children most of the time, so the pool and grounds are very relaxing. Music is pleasant not bangy or jangling.

I am totally puzzled by the comments about staff rudeness. The staff under manager Mike's amiable direction with Christine's assistance are outstanding, they make every effort to make your stay enjoyable. Any requests filled promptly. Concierge will assist with selecting restaurants and share which ones you can walk down hill and get a ride back up!


There is an amazing shopping center in walking distance--Tlacapaque with fountains and sculptures and no chain stores. Also on grounds is a set of high end stores with Coldstone Creamery, Starbucks, and a Wildflower cafe each with outdoor tables and great views.

The hiking is amazing, trails for every level of expertise. Watch the weather, it can be warm to hot.

Room Tip: Units are a mix of views and many have stairs with no elevator. Specify any limitations when booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Being on a hillside in downtown Sedona, gives most of the rooms here a wonderful view from the patio/balconies. The pool side is very relaxing as children are limited and the music in the background is spa like. Like all of the surrounding landscape - the natural hilliness leads to many stairs - so be aware of the altitude elevation and plan accordingly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Hyatt Pinon Pointe should be a lovely experience, but our stay was greatly diminsihed by the fact that the staff were unfailing rude and unhelpful at every turn. The only effort to be friendly was when they were trying to sell a time share. On more than one occassion, workers, including the manager, where affirmatively (and unnecessarily rude). And when called on it, by multiple guests, they did not ask how they could make the experience better. I guess they were distracting by making a more attractive website and taking photos to attract more visitors. Those pictures will be true, but will hide the miserable nature of the personal service you'll get.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We exchanged a Marriott two bedroom for a week at the Hyatt in Sedona. Very pleased with the trade . We are accustomed to Marriott quality and this was comparable in every way. The view from the pool deck is spectacular. The units are spacious and well furnished. The grounds are beautiful and parking is close and plentiful. Absolutely perfect. Some second floor units have better views of the Red Rocks but we were very pleased with our home for the week. The only critique we had was the lack of sheers in the windows . It is either dark or open to the world. Picky, picky for an incredible resort.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Fabulous views from every angle, well appointed 2 bedroom condo, friendly staff and great location. Negatives would be: lack of service by the pool and staff neglecting to point out the availability of bell staff ( the stairs are killers!!!). Mall across the street has a Starbucks, other small restaurants and shoppes. Really liked Sound Bytes. Good vibe, varied menu.

Room Tip: Avoid lowest level if at all possible. Rooms that are mid level and up only. They start with the num...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our family vacation 5 night stay could not have been better. Our (top floor room 432) 2 bedroom suite faced beautiful red rocks and provided ample room for us and our two kids (8 and 11). We loved grilling and eating dinner on our balcony and the extra bedroom/bathroom really allowed us to spread out. The staff were friendly and helpful and the pool beautiful and never crowded. The room was comfortably appointed and robes are available upon request. There were pool items (balls, noodles, etc) for the kids to play with as an extra bonus. It was a perfect home base for hikes (Cathedral rock and Red Bell Rock), grocery, horseback rides, jeep tours, walking distance to restaurants and stores. We were happy to find the New Frontiers grocery (Whole Foods like) and a convenient Safeway, too. The Wildflower restaurant is (literally) a stones throw away and offers a great breakfast with red rock views. I misplaced my wallet and left it behind by accident upon check-out, the staff quickly mobilized to locate it and Fed Ex'ed it to our next location in Las Vegas with follow-up and concern. We were all impressed with our stay from beginning to end and felt spoiled by the surroundings and service. Couldn't imagine staying anywhere else the next time we visit. We loved it!

Room Tip: We stayed in 432 A and B and had exceptional views and plenty of room for our family of four. We req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Pinon Pointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Pinon Pointe

Address: 1 North Highway 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#9 Family Hotel in Sedona
#25 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Pinon Pointe 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Pinon Pointe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Pinon Pointe Hotel Sedona
Hyatt Hotel Sedona
Hyatt Hotel Pinon Pointe
Sedona Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Pinon Pointe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.