We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location and Room size ( for 2 bedroom) was perfect for our family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Pinon Pointe

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Pinon Pointe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Pinon Pointe
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 North Highway 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
Concord, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Central Location and Room size ( for 2 bedroom) was perfect for our family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

It was our first time in Sedona so we did not really know where to stay. We assumed that if it is Hyatt, chances are we would not go wrong. That assumption was correct. From the central location, (yes we were able to easily walk to downtown) to the architecture that set the mood and blended into the environment, we loved the timeshare / hotel. We had a 2 bedroom on the ground floor, but were able to sit on the porch and have a wonderful view. The master room had a separate entrance to what I assume is a studio size bedroom. The size of the master room was amazing even with a kid sleeping on the pullout. The tub and shower are HUGE. The beds were very comfortable in all rooms and even the pullout.

If I was to have an issues #1 price #2 no pool bar or service and #3 it would be that there was no room service, but that is not a big deal. The next door restaurants were close enough to resolve that issue.

There was a nice pool albeit a little small. Really wish there was a cabana bar or service. ;(

My wife and I loved the location and if we come back we will probably but will try to get a better rate. But, on the whole, wonderful location in a wonderfully beautiful town.

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd floor. Bring your own adult beverages. FYI - If you are going to take a Pink Jeep tour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    167
    46
    36
    18
See reviews for
218
180
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I booked a pair of rooms for one night when staying for business in June 2013. The rooms are distributed throughout a large property, so mine was about a 5 minute walk from the pool. The room was nice... since this is a time-share, it had a mini kitchen (no stove) and some nice, homey touches. However, the room was quite small—a king-size bed takes up most of one end. The balcony is a great plus, especially with the incredible view of the red-rocks. Everything was very clean.

The problems I encountered with Pinion Pointe were with hidden costs, a ridiculously-early (10 am) checkout time, and surly or disinterested staff. The hidden costs came with my payment through Hotels.com; several days after departing, I received a mystery $22.75 fee on my credit card. It turns out there is a nightly "resort fee" that is collected after you check out. While they claim it's clearly stated, it wasn't on the website and it wasn't at check-in. Take this into consideration in pricing alternatives. You may also take into consideration the early check-out nonsense and staff attitude. I found when I was dressed for business (jacket and tie), I was treated OK, but with jeans and sport shirt the attitude was condescending or impatient. Weird… isn't that their target guests?

I recently stayed at Poco Diablo and found huge rooms, warm staff, and great food—that's my first pick in Sedona at present.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had great stay there with really beautiful view. The studio was small, so its better option to take 1 or 2 bedrooms. Swimming pool was great, again with awesome view.
The staff was very nice, we got high chair for a baby and a portable crib was available too.

Room Tip: Take a room on second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

After reading the reviews on Tripadvisor, we hesitated a lot to book at the Hyatt since we were afraid to be sent in a room describe by many as a "dungeon". We stayed at the Hyatt for a week and we were delighted by the view we had from our room. This place is awesome, well maintained, in the center of everything. Some free activities for the residents are organized by the hotel like a wine tasting evening, a dance performed by natives from the Sedona area, etc.

The reviews concerning the dungeons made us feel nervous. We were sort of gambling for a nice room, i mean "taking a big chance" to like it or not just because of the room they would asign us at our arrival (this would make great or dispappointing vacations depending on the spot we would get). We are adding some tips here, hoping it can help you to get a great view and avoid to stay in those dungeons:
- Dungeons as they are described by other reviewers are mostly facing parking lots or big slopes. Most of them seemed to be studios, so avoid renting a studio alone.
- Book a large room. We booked a 2 bedroom suite: we got a one bedroom suite connecting with a studio. The studio was facing a parking, a very large tree and a radio transmission tower. The bedroom, dining and living room from the one bedroom suite were having it all: mountains all over the place!!! As we mostly gathered around the dining and living areas, we were really delighted by this place.
- Make a reservation long before you go, at least 3-6 months before and ask for a 2nd floor and for a view
- Show up at the hotel early. If you arrive at 6pm, they won't have any room left to allow you to change if you are not satisfied.

Finally, a suggestion for this Hyatt: as many customers are so unsatisfied with the rooms with no views, why don't you renovate and transform those areas into something else ? These rooms would make great places for shops (while some shops were asigned great views... why exactly?) or for business meeting rooms, computer center or why not a sauna or a spa.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Can't say enough good things about this place. Beautiful rooms with very nice staff. Would definitely stay there again. They made sure that we had everything we needed. They also helped us with our plans during our stay. Rooms were very clean.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We traded our timeshare for this property and were excited to see it was a Hyatt. We had such high hopes. Well that ended the minute we walked into the room. We were had a downstairs unit which made us feel like we were in a dark cave. So dark and depressing. And the NOISE! Oh my goodness, the noise. You can hear EVERY footstep, drawer opening and closing, door opening and closing from your upstairs neighbors. The construction is so poor it's ridiculous! It was so terrible, in fact, that we cut our much anticipated vacation in half to get out of there! I will think twice (even three times) before I trade for another Hyatt property again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had a great stay at the Hyatt PP in Sedona. The resort is in a fabulous location in Sedona, really very central to everything. We got very lucky and got a room in th second floor near the pool (room 922 A and B). We had some good views, but certainly not the best or worst you could get at this resort. I can see why people on the first floor would not me happy, as those rooms really are below ground level.

The room itself was very nice, no complaints at all in that regard. My reasoning for giving this a 4 star versus 5 are nitpicky, but here they are:

1. The towels for the pool and the room are really not very nice. Smallish, not soft.
2. The pool is WAY too small for the size of the resort. There is also no kids pool so if there are loud bratty kids at the pool, as there were when we were there, it really ruins the experience.
3. There is no drink/ food service at the pool.
4. No daily maid service, and in fact, we arrived a couple of days late for our week long stay (exchanged via Interval) and we were told we would not receive the mid week cleaning because of that. Really?

Those are really our only complaints. Like I said, nit picky,but they claim to be a 5 star resort, so much better than other resorts on Interval, and I did not find that to be true. That said,if we got another trade in Interval for this resort, we would definitely return!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Pinon Pointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Pinon Pointe

Address: 1 North Highway 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#8 Family Hotel in Sedona
#22 Business Hotel in Sedona
#26 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Pinon Pointe 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Pinon Pointe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Pinon Pointe Hotel Sedona
Hyatt Hotel Sedona
Hyatt Hotel Pinon Pointe
Sedona Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Pinon Pointe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.