We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we wanted and more” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Pinon Pointe

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Pinon Pointe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Pinon Pointe
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 North Highway 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 46 hotels in Sedona
Bend, oregon, USA
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Everything we wanted and more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We loved our stay at the Hyatt Pinon Pointe and will look forward to staying again! We stayed in a studio, and although we read a lot of reviews complaining about the size of the room, we were completely comfortable and didn't find it exceptionally small in the least. The room was the size of a typical hotel room and had a king bed (most have queens), a small sitting area, a tiny kitchette, nice bath, and cute little balcony with amazing views. The bedding was incredible and combined with the blackout curtains, I slept 11 hours the first night! This from a girl who is lucky to get 6!

The pool was nice, smallish, but totally adequate. I don't think Sedona puts a big emphasis on pools so I was pleased with what we got. The hottubs were great, as were the outdoor fire pits and a great fitness center. We loved being close to restaurants/bars, so this was a perfect location for us.

We found the staff to be quite friendly and helpful. I found it a little odd that the staff were so militant at the pool, with someone roaming through the pool area about every 20-30 minutes to check on things. They work hard to keep the pool only for registered guests and to make sure the area is picked up, etc.

The only reason I cannot give this location a 5 star is because we stayed at the Hyatt Regency Scottsdale on our last night....and THAT place deserves the 5 stars! Stay here, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    278
    162
    43
    34
    18
See reviews for
209
173
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ellsworth, Maine
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

This was one of 3 hotels we chose to stay at in the Sedona area. While checking in we asked for an upgrade.How dare I ask that question. This isn't a hotel but a residence hotel so don't ask when you check in. We drove to our room which was a "lock out room" We were aware the room was going to be small but not this small. We had to call the front desk already since the room next to us which is the 1 bedroom wasLodid. I was sleeping in my bed and could hear the conversation next door. The room is small with a sitting area, closet, television and a small kitchen area. Our food froze twice in the frig. You also get your room cleaned. When I say cleaned its picking up your towels , making the bed and cleaning up. Don't think this is the same service you get at the Marriott Residence Inn. We had to put our own dished away daily, the coffee pot was never cleaned, the carpets were not vacuumed, and the sheets never get changed. Our corner of the sheet was ripped from day one and we left the corner up on the bed to let the person know to change. She never changed the sheet out. We stayed at many Hyatts before but this one the employees who work the grounds don't even say hello to you. The lady at the pool was friendly. We travel to Sedona regularly so our next choice we will try one of the other hotels .

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The Hyatt Residences at Pinon Pointe were a perfect location to enjoy the Sedona area and also be within walking distance of uptown Sedona which has a good selection of eating and drinking opportunities. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment which was surprisingly spacious and well equipped. It was a real bonus to have a full kitchen and a washer dryer in the unit. The only downside for the unit we stayed in was the number of stairs to get access - mainly when checking in and out with luggage. Sedona is however a hilly place, so some stairs are to be expected. If you have mobility issues, make this clear when you book, as some units are more accessible than others. The staff also offered assistance with luggage, so do also take advantage of that.

Room Tip: Request a unit in the newer part of the development for a more up to date feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed here recently for 4 nights in a one bedroom suite. I was very impressed with the quality of the room and the staff were all very helpful too. The location is superb with views of the red rocks available from all sides. It has a couple of onsite shops and restaurants but it's also within walking distance of the main town. I tried out the gym which was well equipped but best of all was the stunning view which makes it the best gym I've ever visited!

We intend to return to Sedona next year and we'll definitely be staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views but it's better to have the top floor rather than ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The hotel is nice and staff is very friendly. However, rooms are quite old and require renovation. Carpet is used and looks dingy. Light in bathroom is too dark.
On the other hand the pool and the gym are great!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is an excellent hotel, in my opinion. My family recently enjoyed a suite for several days at this resort. It was perfect! The room/suite was very comfortable. It was generously appointed. The staff was excellent. The amenties were fantastic. THe views from this hotel are truly fantastic! I look forward to another stay at this first class resort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Our family of 5 stayed here for 3 nights. We thought the location was great for touring. You can walk to the main street and restaurants. You can also walk to the Chamber of Commerce, which is excellent for information on hiking and attractions in Sedona. We learned that all development in Sedona has to follow certain construction rules, so that is why the resort is generally very low to the ground and has few overhead lights at night (they give you flashlights in the kitchen to take out).

The 2 bedroom unit is a combination of the studio and the 1 bedroom unit. If I had just stayed in a studio, I would have not been impressed, since that just consists of a bedroom with a kitchenette and a bathroom. The porch was quite small on that side with no view. The 1 bedroom unit side has a large kitchen, dining area, living room with gas fireplace and a large bedroom with a jacuzzi and then separate shower/double sink/toilet. The porch was quite spacious with a table and 4 chairs. Our unit was a lower unit but the porch on that side looked into a ravine where we saw javelinas (wild pigs). That was really cool to see them! The pool was in the center of the resort and you have a great view of the red rocks from the pool.

The only other Hyatt Vacation Club property we have been to is the Hyatt in Siesta Key Florida, and that property is brand new with complimentary continental breakfast and is really a 5 star place. This place is not as beautiful and grandiose, but for a family, there is plenty of space. I would highly recommend booking at least a one bedroom to get the larger space.

Room Tip: I would expect that the rooms with higher elevation had better views. Expect that you will need to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Pinon Pointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Pinon Pointe

Address: 1 North Highway 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#9 Family Hotel in Sedona
#25 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Pinon Pointe 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Pinon Pointe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Pinon Pointe Hotel Sedona
Hyatt Hotel Sedona
Hyatt Hotel Pinon Pointe
Sedona Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Pinon Pointe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.