We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Pinon Pointe

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Pinon Pointe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Pinon Pointe
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 North Highway 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 46 hotels in Sedona
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is an excellent hotel, in my opinion. My family recently enjoyed a suite for several days at this resort. It was perfect! The room/suite was very comfortable. It was generously appointed. The staff was excellent. The amenties were fantastic. THe views from this hotel are truly fantastic! I look forward to another stay at this first class resort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    278
    162
    43
    34
    18
See reviews for
209
173
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Our family of 5 stayed here for 3 nights. We thought the location was great for touring. You can walk to the main street and restaurants. You can also walk to the Chamber of Commerce, which is excellent for information on hiking and attractions in Sedona. We learned that all development in Sedona has to follow certain construction rules, so that is why the resort is generally very low to the ground and has few overhead lights at night (they give you flashlights in the kitchen to take out).

The 2 bedroom unit is a combination of the studio and the 1 bedroom unit. If I had just stayed in a studio, I would have not been impressed, since that just consists of a bedroom with a kitchenette and a bathroom. The porch was quite small on that side with no view. The 1 bedroom unit side has a large kitchen, dining area, living room with gas fireplace and a large bedroom with a jacuzzi and then separate shower/double sink/toilet. The porch was quite spacious with a table and 4 chairs. Our unit was a lower unit but the porch on that side looked into a ravine where we saw javelinas (wild pigs). That was really cool to see them! The pool was in the center of the resort and you have a great view of the red rocks from the pool.

The only other Hyatt Vacation Club property we have been to is the Hyatt in Siesta Key Florida, and that property is brand new with complimentary continental breakfast and is really a 5 star place. This place is not as beautiful and grandiose, but for a family, there is plenty of space. I would highly recommend booking at least a one bedroom to get the larger space.

Room Tip: I would expect that the rooms with higher elevation had better views. Expect that you will need to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I was pretty disappointed for my first Hyatt stay. I felt like I was treated like a kid when it came down to the pool because the guy in charge of the pool wasn't professional and kept harassing me every 5 minutes for half an hour straight about getting out. And did I mention that you have to check in towels. Who in the right mind would steal towels from a Hyatt? Studio room was clean, but was expecting a little more fun from a so-called resort for what I paid for. I won't come back again. Go to the L'auberge or Rouge instead. Avoid at all cost...

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed in 2 bedroom suite. Great accommodations for 4 friends. Clean rooms and grounds. Helpful concierge & staff. Pool has fabulous 360 views and several hot tubs. Great location in center of town but tucked away and peaceful setting. Rooms have everything you need in kitchen. Very comfortable and well outfitted!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit. It may seem a bit pricey however, you will be very comfortable and will appreciate the facilities as well as it's location. After you check in (which is easy), you're directed to concierge services. You'll then be inundated with information pertaining to attractions, services, discounts and incentives. Specifically, a 90 minute sales presentation to receive a discount on an activity. We were able to book a reservation for the pink jeep tour and Denise was extremely helpful with that. She then offered a $100 savings towards the cost of the activity if we would participate in the presentation.. We decided to take the offer, but later decided to pay the full price and pass on the sales pitch (time share). We felt we would much rather spend the 90 minutes doing something we wanted rather than being in a situation we might regret. Besides, we won't return to Sedona because we typically don't go back to a place once visited. There's too much to see in the world and not enough time to see it.
Our room was quite comfortable. Unfortunately the construction crew must of consisted of several unskilled laborers. For example, several light switches were wired upside down and were located in places that didn't make sense. The lighting in the kitchen was inadequate. Perhaps the overhead light was missing a bulb or maybe the shade just blocked too much light. Needless to say, at times it was frustrating. The appliance worked fine and we were surprised to see that they furnished laundry soap. Unfortunately no dryer sheets of fabric softener though.
Sleeping was comfortable but if the doors are closed to the bedroom, it gets a bit warm. The BR window does open about 4 inches but the heavy drape blocks the air from entering and you can't open the drape to expose the opening (no thought there). Fortunately you do have access to the balcony which provides a spectacular view.
Beware....Sedona seams to go to bed early! Shops typically close around 5:00PM and restaurants close around 8:00PM. We like to eat around 7:30 to 8:30 and boy were we surprised. Sedona is definitely a tourist town, but is a very nice place to visit. The red rocks are awesome! We rented a Tomcar and headed for the trails. Nice & fun. Also hiked to Devils Bridge and the pink jeep tout to Broken Arrow is highly recommend. Took a day to visit the Grand Canyon. Wow is all I can say. Went on the train ride from Clarkdale to Perkinsville....BORING! you cannot get off the train so the 4 hr excursion was a bit painful. You're not missing anything. Do your shopping in Jerome. The prices are much more reasonable. Also, there's a scenic view rest stop on the way up to the GC where native Americans offer their crafts for sale. Excellent merchandise selection; mostly jewelry, pottery and kids gifts. I wish now I had purchased more. Great prices and quality.
Keep in mind that everything in Sedona is over-priced. From pizza to burgers to bracelets to hats. The Wildflower across the parking lot is very good as well as Sound Bites Grill. El Rincor boasts about their Chimichangas. Mine was aweful (chicken) but my wife said her beef was very good. Daughter chose the burrito. I should've got that. Better yet, maybe I should've gone to Elcote.
The pool, gym & grounds of the Hyatt are excellent. The staff are extremely helpful. The rooms are exceptionally clean. Free USA Today and Starbucks fresh coffee (in thermos) are available in the lobby daily. The paper is also in the activity center.
Sedona a tourist town but a beautiful place to visit. Wouldn't want to live there.

Room Tip: Upper floor. We stayed in 133B which overlooks the shopping center across parking lot but offers sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My family of five just stayed at this Hyatt Residence Club for three nights. We paid as a hotel guest and booked a 2 bedroom - a one bedroom unit that was attached to a studio room. The resort is lovely. It's built into a hill, right at the intersection of Upper Sedona and West Sedona. You can walk from the resort grounds to many stores, restaurants, ice cream shops, etc. We had great weather while we were there so we were able to use the lounges at the pool and enjoy the views of all the red rocks. They have a clubhouse with a pool table, tables and chairs to play games/cards, ping pong table, exercise room, playground area for the kids.
The unit was very clean and furnishings were new/spotless. The studio had a queen bed and pull-out sofabed, small kitchen area and a balcony with two chairs/table, and its own bathroom. The main unit had a table with four chairs, pull-out sofa, granite kitchen area with appliances and provisions to cook if you wanted. There was also a washer/dryer and we were given a few boxes of single use detergent. The bedroom was large and had a comfortable king bed. Bathroom was huge, with two sinks, large walk-in shower, and huge jacuzzi tub. The unit had lots of closet space too. This main unit had two balconies or lanais. We only had a party of five people but the unit could hold 8. Because we rented as a hotel guest we were provided with towel changes and beds were made. The only disadvantages about our unit were the following: we were in a lower unit, so numerous stairs had to be taken to get to our unit. It was a bit onerous with our luggage. No one at the front desk offered any assistance with this. I know as a timeshare owner you are on your own, but since we were paying a nightly rate that was quite high, I thought assistance with luggage should have been offered. We are able-bodied adults with three teens and would have declined assistance, but it should have been offered. The unit is also very dark. I know Sedona has regulations on lighting but I think some of the lamps/light fixtures could be switched out or higher wattage bulbs could be put in. Other than that, wonderful place! Sedona is magnificent!

Room Tip: Try to ask for a higher level room with view. And definitely mention if you are disabled or need so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We spent only one night here on our way to the Grand Canyon. The 2 bedrooms worked out great for our family. Spacious, nicely appointed and clean. Excellent gym and pool area. Perfect Sedona location. We would love to return!

Room Tip: We liked our room as it was near the pool area and on the second floor which provided better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Pinon Pointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Pinon Pointe

Address: 1 North Highway 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#9 Family Hotel in Sedona
#25 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Pinon Pointe 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Pinon Pointe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Pinon Pointe Hotel Sedona
Hyatt Hotel Sedona
Hyatt Hotel Pinon Pointe
Sedona Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Pinon Pointe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.