We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet oasis near center of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Pinon Pointe

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Pinon Pointe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Pinon Pointe
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 North Highway 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 45 hotels in Sedona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quiet oasis near center of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed 2 nights. The suite was well appointed and appeared to have been updated relatively recently. Beautiful bathroom facilities including a large whirlpool tub, the king sized bed was comfortable. Well-equipped kitchen. The pool area is gorgeous and comfortable. I took advantage of the morning yoga class and really enjoyed it. We were guests rather than owners and they were a wee bit too eager to get is to attend the sales meeting, but when we said no they left us alone. All in all, a beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    285
    165
    44
    34
    18
See reviews for
215
176
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Three of us stayed here at the Hyatt "Residence Club" in mid-March in a one-bedroom ground-level "accessible" suite. We had asked for an "accessible" suite when making the reservation online about 2 weeks prior. Thankfully they had a unit available, within 30 feet of handicap parking, and were also able to accommodate our early arrival at noon without extra charge. This Hyatt is not a hotel but a facility something like a time-share condo, meaning there is not food and beverage room service. Our unit had a separate bedroom with king sized bed, a large bath with conventional tub, but with extra safety bars and supports and a hand-type shower supported on a vertical sliding tube.There was a small but adequate fully equipped kitchen with fridge, stove, microwave, dishwasher, toaster, blender and basket-tyle drip coffee maker. There was an eating area consisting of a table, large padded bench against a wall and another free-standing bench opposite, akin to a booth that could seat 6 people easily. The living room had a gas fire-place which we used, a queen-sized pull-out sofa with a firm foam mattress (too firm for me, but I managed). A flat-screen TV in the living room and one in the bedroom. Also a washer/dryer in a large cupboard near the kitchen The unit faced a restaurant/bar across the roadway and so there was some noise from late party-goers. The units don't seem to offer an abundance of natural light, which was unfortunate, plus we were facing the north-east. We had a partial view of the rocks. Being a ground-floor unit we had an outside patio with table and 4 chairs but we never used it. Units on the 2nd and 3rd level had a balcony. The recreational facilities on the 3rd level were top-notch including a large pool, 3 other separate hydra tubs or jacuzzis, large indoor lounge area with change-rooms and restrooms, pool table, library and a large TV, outdoor fire-pit and two outdoor BBQ grills, plus ping-pong table and many lounging chairs. There are several shops including a great bakery and a Starbucks within the complex and the location is great - close to many restaurants and shops. The staff were all very personable and attentive. We would definitely stay here again, and for a longer period. Great spot for families, and they seemed to provide supervised activities for children for an extra charge. So the main complaint was the firm mattress on the pull-out couch, some noise from people walking in the unit above and from patrons of the nearby restaurant/bar, and the lack of natural light, which may be because homes and units are built to shield the inside rooms from the hot sun in the summer. Apparently there are "accessible" units on the higher levels, which would them provide a much better view of the rocks of Sedona, but we were quite pleased with our unit. Definitely, units on the 3rd floor offer the best views, and so are in high-demand. I've always been happy with Hyatt-run hotels and facilities. Great way to end our vacation. Wish we had a longer time in Sedona at the Hyatt Pinon Pointe.

Room Tip: Try to arrange for a unit on the third level for a better view. That may require booking far in adv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

For a fair - not inexpensive - rate you get a studio, room, or suite in a prime location, some of which have spectacular views of the red rocks (as for such rooms in advance or there's little chance of getting one). Our two-bedroom unit was well equipped with full kitchen, two full baths, two king beds, and two separate view balconies. The lighting in most of the rooms was inadequate and a minor maintenance issue with a toilet went unresolved during our full-week stay. There is no restaurant in the facility, but many nearby. We will stay again next year.

Room Tip: Ask for red-rock view room in second phase unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I haven't stayed with a Hyatt property prior to this trip. After the great experience I had with the Hyatt Pinon Pointe, I am strongly considering seeking out Hyatt properties in my future travels. My husband and I spent three nights in a one bedroom suite. It was beautifully furnished with a large plush bed, full kitchen, jacuzzi, fireplace and a comfortable seating area on the patio that overlooked the red rocks of Sedona. A nice touch were the recent issues of a variety of magazines which were nice to look through after a long day. There were very nice Portico toiletries including a massage bar and toothpaste in addition to the standard shampoo, conditioner and body wash. The swimming pool area was spectacular with red rocks all around and comfortable lounge chairs. Check-in was spotless- we actually arrived 5 hours before check-in but were welcomed and given a key to the pool area and had our baggage stored without hesitation. The front desk also called as soon as our room was ready, which was ready an hour before the actual check-in time. The Hyatt was quiet and private but just a few steps away from all of the shopping and attractions in Sedona. I would highly recommend the Hyatt Pinon Pointe- it might be a little more expensive than other hotels in the area but the fantastic service and property are worth it!

Room Tip: Go for the one bedroom! Very spacious and luxurious with nice views of the red rocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tooele, Utah
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Hyatt sits on a small hill and some units have wonderful views. Fortunately when we arrived they said our unit had a view. I say fortunately, because we were told that we couldn't change rooms. The two bedroom units are comfortable and nicely decorated. However, there was little natural light. During the day we had several lights on and the rooms still did not seem particularly bright. We stay in timeshares frequently and found the kitchen missing some items we expected, like a mixer and other miscellaneous that you would expect in a fully furnished kitchen. On the other hand it is wonderful to have a full kitchen. If you stay a week there is a mid-week clean up.

There is a swimming pool, hot tubs, and exercise room. There was usually a daily activity offered, such as bingo one night and a movie with popcorn and sodas. We went to hear an Indian flute player. There were about a dozen people at the half hour activity; it was great.

There are a couple of concerns.
1 - Stairs if you are on the second floor and have to take up all your personal stuff plus food for week, etc . However, they asked us if we needed help taking things into the room.
2 - Exterior lighting is very minimal. It is so low that they provide a flashlight in every room. We needed it when we went out on property at night.

We have been in about 6 different timeshares in the Sedona area.. This one I would rank second. Since this is a timeshare they offer a freebie to attend a sales presentation. We didn't attend, but they offered $100 for shopping, or 2 tickets for a train ride, etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Too cold for the pool or hot tubs because of the snow but the property was outstanding. I would go back but i am not filthy rich. Kind staff - we were there for a time share Hyatt points presentation and almost bought.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We are a family of four, kids ages 6 and 3, so this place was perfect. It's a timeshare, but Hyatt seems to have done a decent job in training their staff...though some work here is still needed.

The rooms are big with a large balcony, full kitchen and a view. My kids doubled up on the pull out sofa. The pool is at the center of the property is heated and has the views that makes you feel you are at a 4-star luxury resort.

The property is near everything with views that are breathtaking. The #1 tour that everyone should take, Pink Jeeps, picks you up at this hotel and drops you off.

I would definitely stay here again though the $20/day resort fee needs to be discontinued. Surprises at check-out never leave a good impression. With that said, this place brings the best in accommodations and location. Loved it!

Room Tip: Ask to be near the pool at the east side of property, with the balconies facing due east. The rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Pinon Pointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Pinon Pointe

Address: 1 North Highway 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#8 Family Hotel in Sedona
#20 Business Hotel in Sedona
#21 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Pinon Pointe 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Pinon Pointe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Pinon Pointe Hotel Sedona
Hyatt Hotel Sedona
Hyatt Hotel Pinon Pointe
Sedona Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Pinon Pointe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.