We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views and Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Pinon Pointe

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Pinon Pointe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Pinon Pointe
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 North Highway 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
Truro, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Views and Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

For a fair - not inexpensive - rate you get a studio, room, or suite in a prime location, some of which have spectacular views of the red rocks (as for such rooms in advance or there's little chance of getting one). Our two-bedroom unit was well equipped with full kitchen, two full baths, two king beds, and two separate view balconies. The lighting in most of the rooms was inadequate and a minor maintenance issue with a toilet went unresolved during our full-week stay. There is no restaurant in the facility, but many nearby. We will stay again next year.

Room Tip: Ask for red-rock view room in second phase unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    167
    46
    36
    18
See reviews for
218
180
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I haven't stayed with a Hyatt property prior to this trip. After the great experience I had with the Hyatt Pinon Pointe, I am strongly considering seeking out Hyatt properties in my future travels. My husband and I spent three nights in a one bedroom suite. It was beautifully furnished with a large plush bed, full kitchen, jacuzzi, fireplace and a comfortable seating area on the patio that overlooked the red rocks of Sedona. A nice touch were the recent issues of a variety of magazines which were nice to look through after a long day. There were very nice Portico toiletries including a massage bar and toothpaste in addition to the standard shampoo, conditioner and body wash. The swimming pool area was spectacular with red rocks all around and comfortable lounge chairs. Check-in was spotless- we actually arrived 5 hours before check-in but were welcomed and given a key to the pool area and had our baggage stored without hesitation. The front desk also called as soon as our room was ready, which was ready an hour before the actual check-in time. The Hyatt was quiet and private but just a few steps away from all of the shopping and attractions in Sedona. I would highly recommend the Hyatt Pinon Pointe- it might be a little more expensive than other hotels in the area but the fantastic service and property are worth it!

Room Tip: Go for the one bedroom! Very spacious and luxurious with nice views of the red rocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tooele, Utah
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Hyatt sits on a small hill and some units have wonderful views. Fortunately when we arrived they said our unit had a view. I say fortunately, because we were told that we couldn't change rooms. The two bedroom units are comfortable and nicely decorated. However, there was little natural light. During the day we had several lights on and the rooms still did not seem particularly bright. We stay in timeshares frequently and found the kitchen missing some items we expected, like a mixer and other miscellaneous that you would expect in a fully furnished kitchen. On the other hand it is wonderful to have a full kitchen. If you stay a week there is a mid-week clean up.

There is a swimming pool, hot tubs, and exercise room. There was usually a daily activity offered, such as bingo one night and a movie with popcorn and sodas. We went to hear an Indian flute player. There were about a dozen people at the half hour activity; it was great.

There are a couple of concerns.
1 - Stairs if you are on the second floor and have to take up all your personal stuff plus food for week, etc . However, they asked us if we needed help taking things into the room.
2 - Exterior lighting is very minimal. It is so low that they provide a flashlight in every room. We needed it when we went out on property at night.

We have been in about 6 different timeshares in the Sedona area.. This one I would rank second. Since this is a timeshare they offer a freebie to attend a sales presentation. We didn't attend, but they offered $100 for shopping, or 2 tickets for a train ride, etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Too cold for the pool or hot tubs because of the snow but the property was outstanding. I would go back but i am not filthy rich. Kind staff - we were there for a time share Hyatt points presentation and almost bought.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We are a family of four, kids ages 6 and 3, so this place was perfect. It's a timeshare, but Hyatt seems to have done a decent job in training their staff...though some work here is still needed.

The rooms are big with a large balcony, full kitchen and a view. My kids doubled up on the pull out sofa. The pool is at the center of the property is heated and has the views that makes you feel you are at a 4-star luxury resort.

The property is near everything with views that are breathtaking. The #1 tour that everyone should take, Pink Jeeps, picks you up at this hotel and drops you off.

I would definitely stay here again though the $20/day resort fee needs to be discontinued. Surprises at check-out never leave a good impression. With that said, this place brings the best in accommodations and location. Loved it!

Room Tip: Ask to be near the pool at the east side of property, with the balconies facing due east. The rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

There are a lot of plusses about the Hyatt Pinon Pointe. We rented a unit for 4 people that
was a one-bedroom and lock-off studio attached in front hallway. The studio was quite
dark as its sliding door window faced the hillside. Very tight living space because they
provided a table with 2 chairs that sat in the area where a coffee table would normally
be placed between the couch and TV. All this was remedied by the ample living room in the
one-bedroom unit, but anybody looking to rent only a studio should be aware.

This particular unit was NOT friendly to those who have mobility problems--stairs and outdoor
access to lobby were dark in the evening due to Sedona "dark skies" low lighting policy. Be
sure to ask for better location unless you want bellman to handle all bags and stairs aren't an
issue.

Hotel staff was very accommodating. Sedona is a very busy town in a beautiful setting, not
the remote getaway we were hoping for.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I would like to thank all the staff at the Hyatt for making our holiday one to remember, never had such kind and helpful staff in any other resort. We have been to many Vacation Clubs over past 20years, and the Hyatt is the best by far.
The Hyatt location with excellent, with easy walk to shops and dinning. On site dinning was first class.
This was our second trip to Sedona and will return again in the near future, and would only stay at the Hyatt as best in Area.

Room Tip: We had Roon 1321A Corner suites large and sunny good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Pinon Pointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Pinon Pointe

Address: 1 North Highway 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#8 Family Hotel in Sedona
#26 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Pinon Pointe 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Pinon Pointe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Pinon Pointe Hotel Sedona
Hyatt Hotel Sedona
Hyatt Hotel Pinon Pointe
Sedona Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Pinon Pointe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.