We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lighting and safety issues” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Pinon Pointe

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Pinon Pointe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Pinon Pointe
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 North Highway 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 45 hotels in Sedona
Los Angeles
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lighting and safety issues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The two-bedroom time-share condo we shared with friends (actually a one-bedroom connecting to a studio) was spacious and clean, and the requested view from the one-bedroom living room balcony of the distant red rocks was very nice. The Hyatt location was excellent, adjacent to the little village of shops and restaurants, and a 2 mile drive into the city of Sedona to the nearest supermarket. A highlight was the Pink Jeep tour that picked us up at the Hyatt lobby.

We had been told before we arrived to expect to climb stairs to reach our 2nd floor unit (no elevator) which was fine. But what we hadn't expected, arriving at night, was that our walk from the parking area to the unit would be more like climbing our way through a Carl Escher drawing, blindfolded. Outside lighting was essentially non-existent, making the trek down a darkened maze of steep, shallow-stepped flights of concrete stairways, and around and up again through a darkened stairwell to our unit, extremely hazardous; and while also carrying luggage, coolers, etc. there is an accident just waiting to happen.

Inside the studio unit the lighting was abysmal. It was too dark in the bathroom and living area to apply makeup, even during daylight with the lighted make up mirror they provide. With all the lights on in the unit on a sunny day, the room was still darkened like a cave. I even needed a flashlight to read the thermostat.

Overall, the Hyatt was very good, though the glaring lighting issues are reflected in the value and room ratings.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    282
    163
    44
    34
    18
See reviews for
213
175
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is a Hyatt Vacation Club, so the rooms are on the small side, but we really weren't in the room that much, so it didn't really matter.It does have a fridge which is always nice. Overall, the Hyatt was in a great location, we walked to dinner and shops. They also have a nice shopping area with restaurants and shops. We ate breakfast here every morning. The activites center was very helpful on advising about hiking trails and they also have the $5 hiking trail pass to purchase onsite. I will be staying here again soon and looking forward to it!

Room Tip: Always ask for one with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flin Flon, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We did not stay here but passing through this beautiful area we did drop in for lunch. The food was excellent and very reasonably priced, a far better meal than we had anticipated. The service was also top shelf.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My family visited the Hyatt Pinon Pointe in June 2012. We stayed in a one bedroom condo that was wonderfully clean, spacious and had everything we needed for a 4 night stay! First, upon check-in, we were greeted warmly and personally shown to our room. All the features of the property were pointed out to us and we felt very comfortable. Our condo had a full kitchen, large eat-in area, laundry, living room, balcony (with table/chairs for eating outdoors) and bedroom/large bathroom. Our room was kept very clean by the housekeeping service and they were all very friendly. I would say the the bed was not the best bed I've encountered on a vacation, but certainly not the worst. After a long day of hiking, tennis and swimming, it was still very satisfactory! The bathroom is huge with a very large sink area, huge walk-in shower and there was a seperate tub in the master suite. Our son slept on the pull out sofa bed and he said it was pretty comfortable. We loved the large pool (note: no lifeguards and a pool bar would be nice). The hot tubs were great in the evening and we played tennis everyday with the most amazing views of the red rocks! The club house at the property has ping pong and pool tables and kids can check out board games. They also offer featured speakers who talk about Sedona, history,wildlife, etc...The location of the hotel is fantastic because you can walk many places for dining (I recommend WildFlower Bread Company and Cowboy Club) and shopping in town. We also drove to a Safeway and got some groceries so we wouldn't have to eat out for every meal. We reserved a grill at the resort and they provided all the grilling utensils. It was so convenient! We went hiking at the West Fork Trail (beautiful hike) and we went on a Pink Jeep Tour (a MUST)! Also, my husband rented a mountain bike at Bike & Bean and rode with a guy from Sedona Destination Adventures. He had an amazing time and his guide, Will Guertz, was very friendly and made sure he took my husband to fun trails that were challenging, but safe! We absolutely love everything about Sedona! The scenery is magnificent, sunsets are unbeatable and the people in Sedona are very laid back and friendly! We recommend visiting Sedona and staying at the Hyatt Pinon Pointe....we will be back!

Room Tip: A room with close proximity to the pool is great and a room with a view is even better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I would be reviewing the Hyatt once a month if TripAdvisor let me. We stay that often. We're young, we're business people, and this is our retreat when we want a quick getaway.

We've probably stayed here a month each calendar year! In fact, it's the Hyatt that has rekindled our love for Sedona. So much so that we're getting married in Tlaquepaque this spring. Of course, we'll be booking the rooms at the Hyatt when we do.

Thanks staff and everyone for always making us happy when we come over.
Matt & Melinda

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I never vacation in cold weather destinations but decided to go to Sedona solo for a personal retreat. IT WAS FABULOUS. The hotel was beautiful, clean, cozy and the view was amazing.I was in a two bedroom. The bed and pillows were perfect for me. They had CD docks in bedrooms which made it nice. OH, the oversized jacuzzi tub in the room --ooh la la. One day it was actually about 70 degrees and sat outside by the pool reading a book with soft piped in music in the background and gentle waterfall ambience with a awesome view of the mountains. How does it get any better than that in winter? Next day was 40degrees but prepared for that too :-)
The staff were all first class. The activities were great: free wine tasting, a musician, lectures on local history. The fitness room was great. It was off season so quiet but enough friendly guests to meet new friends (several of whom had been there many times before and loved it as well). The restaurants had fabulous food, hotel was very centrally located for walking. I felt safe even though it was very dark on the property but they provided flash lights. What else can I say?? Okay, the only negative I can pull out of my hat is that I hated the smell of the soap-so there! I will return! (with my own soap) :-)

Room Tip: My unit was on the second level and was beautiful despite not being the most recently remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Other then the staff being somewhat clueless - it was an excellent stay - right in the middle of everything. Rooms were a good size and facility was great. One of the best time shares of many we've been to.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Pinon Pointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Pinon Pointe

Address: 1 North Highway 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#10 Family Hotel in Sedona
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Pinon Pointe 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Pinon Pointe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Pinon Pointe Hotel Sedona
Hyatt Hotel Sedona
Hyatt Hotel Pinon Pointe
Sedona Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Pinon Pointe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.