We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothin but love...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Pinon Pointe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Pinon Pointe to your Saves list
Hyatt Pinon Pointe
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 North Highway 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
Arizona
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Nothin but love...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I would be reviewing the Hyatt once a month if TripAdvisor let me. We stay that often. We're young, we're business people, and this is our retreat when we want a quick getaway.

We've probably stayed here a month each calendar year! In fact, it's the Hyatt that has rekindled our love for Sedona. So much so that we're getting married in Tlaquepaque this spring. Of course, we'll be booking the rooms at the Hyatt when we do.

Thanks staff and everyone for always making us happy when we come over.
Matt & Melinda

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    172
    49
    36
    18
See reviews for
225
190
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I never vacation in cold weather destinations but decided to go to Sedona solo for a personal retreat. IT WAS FABULOUS. The hotel was beautiful, clean, cozy and the view was amazing.I was in a two bedroom. The bed and pillows were perfect for me. They had CD docks in bedrooms which made it nice. OH, the oversized jacuzzi tub in the room --ooh la la. One day it was actually about 70 degrees and sat outside by the pool reading a book with soft piped in music in the background and gentle waterfall ambience with a awesome view of the mountains. How does it get any better than that in winter? Next day was 40degrees but prepared for that too :-)
The staff were all first class. The activities were great: free wine tasting, a musician, lectures on local history. The fitness room was great. It was off season so quiet but enough friendly guests to meet new friends (several of whom had been there many times before and loved it as well). The restaurants had fabulous food, hotel was very centrally located for walking. I felt safe even though it was very dark on the property but they provided flash lights. What else can I say?? Okay, the only negative I can pull out of my hat is that I hated the smell of the soap-so there! I will return! (with my own soap) :-)

Room Tip: My unit was on the second level and was beautiful despite not being the most recently remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Other then the staff being somewhat clueless - it was an excellent stay - right in the middle of everything. Rooms were a good size and facility was great. One of the best time shares of many we've been to.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This used to be such a gem! Unfortunately since transitioning to a timeshare property, the quality of this hotel has nose-dived. We stayed in a 2br suite and had to sleep with pillows over our ears. The amount of loud guests in their 20's and 30's was disproportionate compared to prior visits to say the least. The floors vere very dirty and we wore shoes indoors to keep our feet from turning black. Just the general cleanliness of the property was low compared to past stays. Annoyingly, the staff seemed like they would prefer to socialize with each other rather than assist guests. Althought they were more helpful at checkout. There aren't many hotel type amenities such as breakfast or coffee or hospitality from the staff at the property because it is a timeshare and the warmness of the place has certainly gone. On a positive side, the pool looked nice and clean, but we didn't swim because of the low temperatures, it would probably be nice in April or May. I suppose the old addage of "you get what you pay for" is true, but overall we were still expecting a bit more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Not all places in Sedona allow children. However, Hyatt Pinon Pointe does and had reasonable rates and availability upon short notice. We stayed in a studio on the ground floor, which was dark and a bit cramped. If you are not going to spend much time in the room, the studio for 2-3 people would be fine (there's a mini-sofabed). Otherwise, book the larger rooms and ask for a higher floor.

Because this is a timeshare hotel, there aren't many amenities. It lacks the welcoming feel you get at other Hyatt hotels. The lobby, upon check-in, was quiet and deserted but had 4 employees sitting around (2 concierge) with nothing to do. No coffee, cookies, and no complimentary breakfast. There is a Starbucks and Wildflower Bread Co. restaurant on the property, and could be a pleasant walk to when the weather is fine. But in the winter, I recommend packing some breads and fruit and using the kitchenette in the hotel room to prepare breakfast. There is complimentary coffee in the room.

Am glad that I brought a pair of slippers, because the floors were filthy. We weren't sure if the carpet or tile was the culprit, but the bottoms of our feet were black when you walk barefooted.

The location is great and close to many restaurants, shops and places to book tours. Overall, this hotel was adequate but not comfortable nor memorable enough for me to return to. Would be open to trying another hotel next time in Sedona.

Room Tip: Studios on the ground floor were dark. Choose a room on a higher floor for more light and better vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed two nights at Hyatt. Our studio apartment was quite a big hotel room in European standards. There was a nice pool area, which we didn't visit due to temperature and e.g. Wildflower Bread Co was part of the complex and had very good breakfast and lunch options. Only negative thing was a slightly poor noise insulation between the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

1br was perfect for our family of four. Hotel is well located and has great views of the rocks. Friendly service. Nice pool and rec area. Would stay here again. A bargain at only about $200/night. Hotel in process of going timeshare, so might not be available for rentals much longer.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Pinon Pointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Pinon Pointe

Address: 1 North Highway 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#7 Family Hotel in Sedona
#21 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Pinon Pointe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Pinon Pointe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Pinon Pointe Hotel Sedona
Hyatt Hotel Sedona
Hyatt Hotel Pinon Pointe
Sedona Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Pinon Pointe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.