We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healing in Sedona” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sedona Pines Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sedona Pines Resort to your Saves list
Sedona Pines Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   6701 West Hwy 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Aldergrove, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Healing in Sedona”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Sedona Pines Resort rests in Red Rock country, a hikers/cyclists paradise. Plenty of trails to explore not to mention the four local (healing) vortex. Sedona Pines is located approximately 10 minutes west of downtown Sedona on HWY 89-A. Just far enough out of town to take in some R&R but close enough to shops, malls, grocery outlets (two natural/organic retailers in town), gallieries and exhibits. The accommodations at Sedona Pines is unique --- each unit is a stand alone Park Model unit (400 sq. ft) with a comfortable size deck. Each unit has a charcoal BBQ for your grilling pleasure. If charcoal is too much work, there are propane BBQ located about the property (depending were your unit is located, you may have a bit of a hike). Each Park Model is a 1 bedroom/bath unit which is well furnished and equiped (complete with A/C). The bed is very comfortable and the galley-style kitchen is adequate (well equiped). Two bedroom units are available however they consist of two detached Park Models connected by a common deck. The property is spotless, well maintained and groomed. Recycling is encouraged thus reducing the Resorts enviro footprint. Resort amenities include a fairly large central pool with spa, a small fitness centre (Universal weight machine with aerobic bikes), an adult-only "lagoon-style" hot tub spa (spent most of our time soaking here!), free laundary area (abundant washers and dryers) complete with its own hot tub spa (what better way to wait for the clothes to dry!) and miniature golf course. There is a onsite restaurant/bistro but we did not venture in to sample the cuisine (I shall default to the other reviews on this one). For those RVing, there are several hook-up sites available. There are daily scheduled activities for those interested as well as you can book one of many excursions at the office (if you're into trains, the Verde Canyon Railway is recommended. If a trip to Jerome Ghost Town is on your list, suggest you do so during the week (Monday-Thursday) as the weekend is a "zoo". Wine high on the list, try the three wineries located nearby). During our stay, the demographic trend was towards an adult - mature adult mix which made for quiet evenings. If you are looking for a R&R home base from which to explore Sedona, the Pines may satisfy your needs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    175
    49
    27
    31
See reviews for
109
203
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Sedona is lovely and this was my second trip in a year.

In order to get two bedrooms, the second is a separate unit off the deck of the one bedroom unit. Not very suitable for children, but works for singles or couples traveling together if you don't mind crossing the deck for meals.

Resort accomodations are average, general condition and service is good, restaurant NOT recommended. Quite a ways out of town and being on Rt.89A, does not give you easy access to Rt.17 if you are going to do any exploring north or south. Previously I had stayed at a resort on Rt. 179, which was much more convenient to everything.

Laundry is fairly convenient and free. No cell phone service, but that is pretty typical for the area. Two computers are availabe for guests in the lobby.

If you are looking for luxury, this is not it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Sedona Pines Resort is a clean, friendly, quiet place for adult relaxation and recreation. Located about 5 miles west of Sedona, the resort is far enough outside of town to be away from the traffic congestion but close enough to gas stations, restaurants, supermarkets, pharmacies, etc. The resort is located close to three wineries, a neat state park (Red Rocks State Park), and the Verde Canyon Railway excursion trip (highly recommended!). A day trip to the Grand Canyon South Rim is easy to do, as is any sightseeing you want to do in Flagstaff. Sedona Pines has a number of amenities.....during our one week stay my wife and I used the nice-sized pool, the adult-only "lagoon" hot tub spa, the miniature golf course, and the free laundry.

The cottages at Sedona Pines are of a sturdy pre-fabricated construction with a Southwestern exterior fitting in nicely with the local environment. The interior of our one bedroom cottage was the size of a large motor coach RV.....plenty of room and amenities for two adults, but it might be a little tight for the maximum occupancy of four. I would recommend the two bedroom if you have four or more in your party. We did not have much of a view, but that didn't matter since we weren't there much during the day anyway. The deck was a nice, quiet place to relax and enjoy some wine with some fresh high desert air. We used the provided charcoal grill three times and the following morning when we got up the grill had been cleaned. The property is well maintained and very clean....probably by the same elves that cleaned the grill.

If you are a person that can't disconnect from texting and tweeting, this is NOT the place for you! The cellular service is nearly non-existant (one bar about 25% of the time) but there is a land line phone in the room. There are seven free wi-fi points scattered around the property, so internet access is not a problem. There are nice flat screen TV's in the living room and bedroom, but the local cable system is not the best.....a basic selection of networks and poor reception on about a third of the channels. Local stations are good as are news and weather channels. We spent more time on the deck than watching TV anyway, so this was not really an issue for us.

The Sedona Pines Bistro is on the property. Prices are about what a resort restaurant usually charges. We had one meal there where we took advantage of the offered meal discount coupon, the free house margarita coupon, and the happy hour. We had a fine meal and the drinks were good as well. We had no problem or complaints with the Bistro, but the rest of the time we either cooked our own meals or visited other restaurants where we happened to be at mealtime.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Highly recommend this resort in West Sedona. We have stayed at other "Gold Crown" resorts and feel this was equivalent in many ways. We liked being out of the hubub of downtown tourist-oriented Sedona. We were leery because of some of the more critical reviews but found the units very comfortable and well furnished and amply supplied. The only thing that we lacked was a king size bed. We made do with the queen and had the option of separating if need be to the sleep sofa in the living room. Appreciated the jetted tub in the bathroom. They have made the most of the space that is in these units and we found ours very comfortable. If you must have a kingsize bed, then try to get into one of the casitas which are slightly more spacious and require a few more points. They are adding 20 more casitas we were told. The casitas have washers and dryers as well. Some of the sites have better views, especially the ones on the periphery. We loved the individual units for privacy and no noise. Our unit, #118 on Pine Loop, had a view of a horse farm and a small mountain. They will tell you that they do not assign units till you get there but we were already assigned our unit when we arrived. I have several recommendations. Do not accept a unit on Pine Loop that is below 116 as the backs of them view a storage lot for RV's. Also the units in the 700's as well as 133-139 view the few R.V.'s who are camping there if you have a problem with that. The unit we had was one of the best equipped we have had in terms of timeshares, even to grilling utensils and plentiful towels. We had the usual starters of coffee, etc. and the bathroom amenities. There is a midweek cleaning and linen change as well as restocking. It would be fine for 2 adults and 2 children on the sleep sofa in the living room but I believe it is more ideal for a couple only. The majority of people there were in the retiree age range. We did not see the 2 bedroom units inside but they look like ours with another one connected by a deck. We had a nice deck with table and chairs and had breakfast every morning outside. All units are non-smoking but sand filled ashtrays are provided on the decks. There are charcoal grills at each site and propane grills scattered throughout. Daily garbage collection and they encourage recycling. They also have pet friendly units. Many of the units are near small water features that run between them and have fountains at the ends of the roads.There was a very comfortable double swing across from our unit that viewed a fountain and small pond. We appreciated the large laundry facility with abundant free washers and dryers as well as a large screen T.V.You have one box of Tide and a fabric softener provided in the unit along with a laundry basket. You can purchase extra detergent and softener in the laundry. There is a hot tub outside the laundry for relaxing while your clothes get clean. None of the amenities (pool, hot tubs, laundry, fitness center, restaurant) is farther than a short walk. The roomy heated main lap pool stays open till 9 or 10 p.m. and the Lagoon hot tub is open till midnight (adults only) There is a playground for children as well as arts and crafts activities, an 18 hole miniature golf course, and a fitness room with several cardio machines, one multi-purpose machine, and free weights. Enough for a good workout and clean towels also. There are a number of activities going on that we did not do including water aerobics, Bingo ($6 for 5 cards and a glass of wine!), and different presentations. We attended a really good one on Native American flute making and music with Wolfs Robe, a very gifted musician and excellent presenter. A real gift was the lack of pressure regarding the RCI "update." We did not sign up for it despite very enticing gifts including bottom of the Grand Canyon tours worth $200. We were told by others that the presentations were low key and low pressure. We did not have the repeated phone calls that many resorts persist in making. My husband enjoyed playing Sedona Golf Resort, Oak Creek, and one in Cottonwood just 12 minutes from the resort. Special greens fee rates can be obtained through the concierge or on GolfNow.com. Seven Canyons course was lovely but tight and they do not budge from their $95 fee all day. My husband generally played the courses mentioned after 12 for anywhere from $28-49. We also had fabulous massages by Lois at Afterglow in the Village of Oak Creek. Wonderful but very pricey dinner was enjoyed at L'Auberge overlooking Oak Creek. (Their wines start at $40/bottle and go up into the hundreds but they are rated as one of the 10 best restaurants in Arizona and have an eclectic menu, excellent service, and an ambience hard to beat. Our bill with tip came to over $200. The menu is price fixed with a choice of 3 or 4 courses. We opted for 3 courses; appetizer, salad or soup, and entree (I had fabulous duck).. We also have had a good meal in the past at Barking Frog in West Sedona. The resort is located just outside of town in West Sedona. It is more of an adult community although it is kid friendly in many ways with playground and kids activities. Teens without access to a car would probably go crazy. A really nice Safeway with Starbucks is less than 10 minutes away as is the Harkins 6 screen Theater and the Mary Smith Theater which has special showings of eclectic films, Walgreen's (2 Redbox rental stations), and a natural foods store are just a few blocks from Safeway. The Sedona Medical Center is probably 5 minutes from the resort. We had a very reasonably priced lunch at the Bistro at the resort. We noted complaints from other reviewers about the prices but there were only two items on the menu that were over $20. The ambiance was fine and there was a fireplace in the restaurant which would be nice in cooler weather. The complimentary Margeritas were not very good (too sweet) but the wine list was fine and the other bar drinks were also good. We enjoyed a salmon quesidilla and a very good burger for our lunch along with a nice glass of a local wine. Recommended sites: 116-124, 111, 200 Adobe, 320 Quail Run, 327 Quail Run, 426 Ridge Trail, 113 and 115A on Pine Loop, 117, 119, 129, 131 Pine Loop. After 132, you get closer to the main road, (89A) which can be busy but we never heard any road noise although we noted that previous reviewers may have found it a problem. Although it is a 4 lane, it seems to only be heavily travelled during rush hours.. The drive to Cottonwood is less than 15 minutes and there is a Safeway there as well as a Walmart and Lowes or Home Depot as well as several notable historic sites to visit. The entire resort is impeccably clean with even the gravel being raked. Quick responses from the 24 hour front desk and the security feel very good. They also have DVD movies for rent and we were surprised that many of them are recent releases. The units have flat screen t.v.'s with DVD players in the living rooms and bedrooms. They also have a large library of paperbacks. Many of the tours have shuttles that pick up and drop off those enjoying the tours to Grand Canyon and other places. Sedona is just 25 miles from Flagstaff, another one of our favorites. The drive through Oak Canyon to Flagstaff is amazing. We also went to the Sedona airport to watch the sunrise one morning. The restaurant there has several specials including live Maine lobster on Thursday nights. Finally, if you have never been to Sedona, you would have to be totally brain dead not to be in awe of the incredible topography of the ancient red rocks. We enjoyed a stroll through the Red Rock State Park as well as the drive around the loop which is less than a mile from the resort and from which you can see many of the famous rock formations. There are two computers in the office area and the ability to print boarding passes. We were told that WiFi was "spotty" but we had no problems in our unit which was near a back corner of the resort. There are reliable hot spots throughout the resort, however. Also our Verizon cell phone service was good. We were told that some AT&T customers have had difficulties with reception.

Room Tip: Please see my review in which I listed the better sites as well as those to avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I love this place! If you want to be in the midst it the hustle & bustle of the downtown Sedona tourist area...don't stay here. Would you like a calm, peaceful environment to rest & relax after hiking amongst the red rocks...stat here.Would you like to stay somewhere that is well maintained & clean to the point where one man's job is to rake the sand & gravel with the quiet & purposeful movement of a monk in a zen garden...stat here! Other perks include free wi-go, free laundry,free fitness centre, free mini golf, free smiles & warm hospitality...stay here

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Wife and I stayed here for 4 days last Sept. after hiking the Grand Canyon rim2rim. This is the perfect place to unwind, especially if you are of "senior citizen" vintage, like us. It is located a ways outside of the town of Sedona, so the relaxing atmosphere is most welcome. However, the bad news is that you are a few miles from town if you want to eat out or do much shopping. We had a super rental with lots of room, a complete kitchen, nice eating area, full-sized bed, well-laid out grounds (maintained every day), and easy access to pool and min. golf course. The pool was huge with a great hot tub next to it. We were there when school was in session, so it was not crowded. Check-in and out were a breeze and the staff couldn't have been nicer. We had a large deck outside the front door where we had coffee and read the paper each morning. It was clean and had all the features any grand hotel would offer -- coffee, tea and other supplies in the kitchen and the usual nice toilet soaps and stuff in the bathroom. It was just right for recovery after our 5-day hike. Would go there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Remember the sun screen, sun glasses and hat if you are at the pool. There is not much between you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed at this resort many times. Not your typical hotel rooms but rather individual "manufactured" cottages surrounded by running streams and fountains. Located at the south end of Sedona but still easy access to all attractions. Concierge desk is very helpful and their restaurant serves a fine meal. Nice and quiet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sedona Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Pines Resort

Address: 6701 West Hwy 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#25 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sedona Pines Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We take our reputation very seriously and strive to ensure our customers are satisfied. We evaluate and respond to every written complaint that we receive. Unfortunately, it is impossible to police the internet for every inaccurate, incomplete, or unfair comment about Sedona Pines. For example, the Better Business Bureau of Central, Northern, and Western Arizona (“BBB”) publishes an “F” rating for Sedona Pines. However, Sedona Pines is not a member of the BBB. The BBB bases its ratings on its own criteria, which may not include accurate information about the companies it is “rating.” Sedona Pines has tried to work with the BBB to ensure it has accurate information, but the BBB has resisted our efforts. Sedona Pines provided the following information to the BBB. We come in contact with 64,000 consumers per year and according to the BBB, Sedona Pines had 39 complaints over the past three years. This is an average of one complaint for every 4,923 consumer we come in contact with, or a .0002% complaint percentage. We do not understand how a 99+% consumer satisfaction rating can result in an “F” BBB rating. This satisfaction rating does not even take into account the merits of the 39 complaints, how, they were resolved, or whether the consumer was ultimately satisfied. There are other resorts with a much larger number of complaints with the BBB that receive an “A+” rating. Perhaps their rating has something to do with their membership in the BBB? Other branches of the Better Business Bureau have run onto trouble for their conduct. Please consider this information before drawing conclusions about Sedona Pines based on the BBB’s rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sedona Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sedona Pines Hotel Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sedona Pines Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.