We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place! Steer clear of the Time Share Buzzards!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sedona Pines Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sedona Pines Resort to your Saves list
Sedona Pines Resort
6701 West Hwy 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Beautiful place! Steer clear of the Time Share Buzzards!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Lovely private units with your own deck, full kitchen (except oven), BBQ,DVD players and parking spot. Free washer/dryer center with a beautiful hot tub area outside to relax in. Free 18 hole miniature golf course and gym. Not far from many wonderful restaurants,great sightseeing and a big Safeway Supermarket for groceries and liquor.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    150
    45
    24
    29
See reviews for
91
179
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This resort was the first and best choice what sma timeshare offered us and I absolutely loved the place, I had a great time with my family and the children enjoyed and had a great time. The staff at this resort is extremely friendly and showed us the place around, since we were here by SMA timeshare we got some freebies (complimentary jeep tour + gifts) which made our day. Sedona pines resort is for everyone who love landscapes and trust me the surroundings are just mind-blowing we could not stop looking at the places when we were on hiking. The staff here guided us to most beautiful places around in a very short time else we would have missed many places. This place is a must visit and I am definitely going back soon. Thank you to all the staff here and SMA Timeshare.

Room Tip: Cottages are a good value for money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, CO
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We enjoy our stay here as we have the past two years for the week after Christmas. These patio homes give you privacy and very relaxing on your private deck.. The fountains and stream behind the unit makes it more tranquil. The restaurant on site was good but a little expensive. The resort is out of town a little ways so cannot walk to town. The units are compact but very practical. Activities on site include tennis courts, swimming pool and hot tubs (2), basketball and mini golf. We will be going back again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthem, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

If you are interested in purchasing here, be sure to see Richard Komissar. He was not "pushy" or forceful, or rude. He was very kind, informative, and pleasant, a real break from the usual resort sales people. We met with him right before New Years. We needed information about all the changes in the RCI program. He helped us a lot, and opened our eyes to cruises. We enjoyed talking with him. He did present the sales pitch to the units at the Sedona Pines Resort, and showed us around, we were not there to purchase. He did not try to "talk or shame us into purchasing. Very refreshing from an RCI member's point of view.
It was a nice resort. Quiet, and very sufficient for what we needed. We had a very nice time.
We definitely would return.
We had our son, and family with us, so we needed a two bedroom unit. It was nice being able to go to the second bedroom, which was seperated by a deck. We all had a nice time.

Room Tip: If you are needing a two bedroom because you have children, their second bedroom is not connected ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We selected this resort (we rent and do not own timeshares) for its proximity to family who live in Phoenix area and Flagstaff.

CASITA:
+Free standing manufactured 'cabins' seemed to give us a sense of personal space
+Our particular unit appeared to be one recently re-done as I noticed our windows had blinds (not draperies), the outside doors had built-in blinds (not draperies) and our kitchen countertops were Corian
+Free standing also seemed to reduce outside noise, but we were there during a quiet time so I don't know if this is true or just my imagination
+Compact; good use of space
+Very nice deck of our own with patio furniture
-BE AWARE SECOND BEDROOM IS NOT ATTACHED TO THE CASITA; IT IS ACROSS THE DECK WITH ITS OWN OUTSIDE ENTRANCE
-While the designers made very good use of the limited space in the casita it remains VERY small and I would not recommend this property for anyone who requres the use of a wheelchair, walker or is a very large person

KITCHEN:
+Well stocked with pots/pans/utensils/etc. I like to cook rather than dine out; found everything I needed to prepare meals
+Corian countertops
-The microwave is also a convection oven unit; there is no traditional oven -- only this unit. Took a bit of getting used to
-Very narrow (if the dishwasher or fridge is open, you can't get through to the bedroom)
+/-Dining area small but adequate when we had another couple join us for dinner

MASTER BEDROOM:
+Lots of little drawers and cupboards for storage
-Bedroom so small you can't keep your suitcase next to the bed; not enough room
-Lots of little drawers, etc meant I was constantly trying to remember where I put stuff
-The bed itself is close to the fridge/dishwasher -- noisy

MASTER BATHROOM:
+Whirlpool tub and shower (combo unit; not separate shower)
+Energy and water efficient
+Lots and lots of clean towels
-Very small

SECOND BEDROOM:
+Actually is larger than the master bedroom; came with table and two chairs, own coffee maker and bathroom
-Is not attached to the main casita (however, this did give our guests a little more privacy, I think than if it had been attached; but if you have young children this would be a big disadvantage)

WIFI:
+I have a very old laptop, nonetheless the WiFi worked fine for me. No problems.

PROPERTY ITSELF:
+Well maintained; we always saw folks out and about cleaning the little yards around the units
+We did not use the main pool only the adult spa, but it was very clean
+Exercise room wasn't huge, but adequate and very clean
+Free mini-golf on property
+Located away from the town of Sedona so it's relatively a quiet location
-Far enough away from Sedona that you must drive everywhere
+Barbeque grill for each casita (they're charcoal and you must provide your own) however, each morning someone came by and cleaned out the ashes for us
+Trash pick up is great; just put your bag on the deck and someone whisks it away each morning
+/- Restaurant on the property which looked good but pricey
++Very friendly and helpful staff

Overall, this was not the most luxurious timeshare we've ever rented but it was adequate. For our purposes, it was conveniently located for family to visit us. We prefer to be in a more 'out of the way' location and not in the thick of things, so this was a bonus to us as well.

If you want to go on a vacation where you lounge-about indoors in luxury, this isn't the place. The casitas are cozy, quaint and VERY small -- but we like being outdoors anyway so it was fine for us.

Room Tip: The way we rented we were not given a choice as to unit. However, others have commented that those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Yes, the units are small but sufficient in our opinion. You don't go to Sedona to spend all your time in your resort, after all. But furnishings, appliances and rooms were nice and useful -- even the queen bed in the relatively small bedroom. The restaurant (not owned or run by the resort) was slightly expensive (as most restaurants in Sedona) but we enjoyed our one meal and the Margaritas there. The pool was either closed and/or the weather was too cold to bother. Free use of laundry facilities, free wi-fi -- very rare and appreciated. Resort is outside of city limits, so further than other resorts to shopping, restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOUNT HOREB
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

These separate units are perfect for a couple. They are very compact "homes" that have everything you need for a week's stay. Fully furnished kitchen, bed, bath, & living room. Lots of storage space for as small as it is. Really nice decor and well kept up. Comfortable bed. Shower was good enough, and the jacuzzi tub was very welcome after all the walking/hiking we did.

We stayed as an exchange through RCI in a 1 bdrm unit - #100 in mid-Dec. Although it says you can have 4 stay in a 1 bdrm, I wouldn't. The pullout sofa would require moving the rest of the furniture in the living room to open & you'd barely be able to get to the door then or move around the rest of the room. Would definitely have to close & reopen it every day.

Nice deck, table & chairs for each unit and a charcoal grill (we didn't use it) to share between units. Property was landscaped nicely and there were constantly staff around cleaning or doing landscaping work. The pool area looked nice, and the free mini-golf, but it was too cold to use while we were there.

Sedona Pines was just a short distance from town and close to scenic drives & hiking (Red Rock Loop and Red Rock State Park), although all of Sedona was scenic driving to us. It did have a restaurant (the Bistro), but we were only there twice. Once was for our free margaritas in the bar (very tiny, but good) and the second was for the free breakfast / info about area activities. The scrambled eggs were sitting in water in the server - not good. The french toast casserole was a better option, but still not terrific food. Staff in the bistro were very friendly and helpful.

I would definitely stay at Sedona Pines again if I go back to the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sedona Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Pines Resort

Address: 6701 West Hwy 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#23 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Sedona Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sedona Pines Hotel Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sedona Pines Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.