We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed Dec 2-9, 2012. would go back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sedona Pines Resort

Save Saved
You added Sedona Pines Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sedona Pines Resort
6701 West Hwy 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 46 hotels in Sedona
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Stayed Dec 2-9, 2012. would go back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed at the resort this past week (Dec 2-9, 2012-room 313) and I agree with a lot of people. The cottages are small but very well equipped. The bedroom is small with a full wall of cabinetry to help out. Bathroom not so big either. Lots of windows though so if you want to sleep in bring a sleep mask. :) Full fridge with ice already made so that was very nice. Living room and bedroom both had tv’s . Two doors to get out to deck was awesome. the deck had a table and two chairs and a built in seat the length of the deck. Barbecue’s were briquette though so never used. There is only one parking stall per unit. Garbage pick up was daily for 10 am. They provided recycling bags as well for paper products. I believe the resort was 5-7 miles from Sedona so a car is definitely needed. It was hard to find coming from Phoenix at night and we missed the turnoff and went in to Sedona and had to turn around. Apparently the navigator wasn’t paying enough attention, or so I was told. Ha ha

The adult hot tub was big and fantastic! I think you could get 30 people standing in it maybe. Loved the fact that they stayed open until midnight. There is one unfortunate thing as our room was right next to the hottub and we TOTALLY could hear the conversations. The wall around the pool seemed to amplify the sounds instead of being a buffer. We just turned up our tv to compensate. At night it was hard to hear the fabulous creek that they have running through the property too because of the hot tub generators. They do provide plastic glasses for the pool area to use.
The laundry was okay. Washing machines worked great but had to try two dryers and neither one worked. As the other dryers were being used we just hung our stuff up in the room. They do provide a laundry basket which is at the top shelf in the bedroom. That was very nice.

Ate at the Bistro one night and the tenderloin was to die for!! Salmon good as well. The veggies left something to desire. the presentation was there though. It seemed like the veggies had been on the plate a while or something. There is new ownership as of last week at the Bistro so maybe there will be some changes that they will make. They were friendly owners. Food came very, very quick. Price was a bit expensive BUT the tenderloin was to die for!!!!! They are not open all the time and close at 8:15. They do hand out two free Margarita drink tickets and they were good although a mix only.
We had no internet problems at all. On cel or Blackberry playbook. We did use their internet in the main office as well and it was fast.
There is RV parking spots available.
We did not do any of their courses that they offer each day but there was a lot of activities to try.
Sunday night was a jewellery show. Decent prices.
We did not go to the Monday morning information session as we arrived so late Sunday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    142
    41
    22
    28
See reviews for
86
164
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SALEM
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at Sedone Pines Resort in November. The weather was cool but very sunny as expected for Arizona! The resort is wtihin 2 miles of Sedona and a very nice little resort. The "cottages" are a type of modular home and very small (399 square feet) but super comfortable for two people. The furnishing and decor are very nice and the kitchen is very well equipped with the exception of a real oven. They do have a microwave/convection oven which I really didn't like using for baking of any kind but it was certainly adquate for our needs during our stay. We didn't eat at the restaurant except for the welcome breakfast (food was good and inforamtion was helpful.) The front desk staff was helpful and when we needed maintenance they were right on it.

If a timeshare presentation is offered, DO NOT TAKE IT! The free gift isn't worth the agonizing 90+ minutes with the pushy sales people.

The two pools and spa are nice but we only used the spa once since the weather was a little chilly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

As others have said, the "cottage" as small. They are very well-equipped and clean. But not great for a very long stay or for more than two people in the one bedroom. The bedroom is especially small with virtually no room for more than one suitcase. There are lots of built-in cabinets and drawers but the closet is very small, thus it would be difficult for a stay of longer than a week or so. It sort of is like the space one would find in an Embassy Suites, but with a fully equipped kitchen area and a much smaller bedroom. The deck and grill is a nice feature. Major drawback is that although all the units are said to have wifi - the signal is very weak and goes in and out a lot. Cellular service is non-existent, even though it is only 5 miles out of town. In case this is needed, one should also note that the Starbucks in Sedona must be the only one in the US without wifi! Rated rooms as poor only because so small. As a Hilton Grand Vacation Club member using RCI I'm very disappointed that we only seem to be able to access moderate properties out of season, nothing more luxurious. Seems like it is manipulated.
As noted, it is not hard to get into Sedona but one does need a car. It gets very dark once the sun goes down. Staff was very friendly. Only went to restaurant for last breakfast before left. It was excellent - should have probably tried it for dinner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at Sedona Pines for three nights and enjoyed everything about the property and the locale. The unit we stayed in was very convenient for the pool and adult hot tub. The unit itself was excellent. Everything was clean and in good repair. The staff was friendly and helpful. We would recommend this to anyone going to Sedona and would stay here again if we were visiting Arizona again.

Room Tip: I had read other reviews that suggested getting a unit in the 100s or 200s - no idea why.. I stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a unique property! The cottage is small but fully functional, with a completely stocked kitchen and wonderful privacy of having your own cottage. The staff are friendly, and the property is about 12 years old, I think, and is immaculately maintained. The beds are super comfy, and everything was very clean. The property is secluded so is very quiet.

The bistro has really good food but it is a little pricey.

The property is about a 5-10 minute drive into the main town area of Sedona, which isn't a problem. It's close enough to get everywhere and far enough away that you feel secluded.

I would definitely recommend Sedona Pines Resort.

Room Tip: Request a cottage at the end of the road, so you only have a neighbor on one side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I had the pleasure of being a guest at the Sedona Pines, located a short drive from the beautiful town of Sedona. This property is serene and quiet. Yes, it is located off a major road, but the multiple mini waterfalls that dot the property provide a reprieve from the traffic. Stay at a cabin far from the road, if possible. The only negative comment I can make is that this resort is difficult to spot from the highway at night, as the road sign leading to it is small and easy to miss. However, once you arrive, you will not be disappointed.
The front staff is wonderfully accommodating as is the rest of the staff on the property. Laundry is free! Cookies are on offer weekend nights. A nice touch! Wifi is best at the pool and in the front desk lobby.
Our cabin was immaculate and contained all a couple would need for a week away from home. The pullout bed works, but is a tight fit in the living area. Therefore, we concluded the one bedroom units are best for a couple, no more. It was wonderful to have a self contained cottage with a spacious deck and incredible views. No shared walls made for a quiet experience.
The Bistro is very nice. A blended margarita (with or without alcohol) is free for guests who dine there. We found the prices moderate and the food plentiful and tasty.
This place is terrific!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, CA
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Pro
+ Good location - easy access to Sedona, Cottonwood, Jerome, Grand Canyon, and other areas in Northern Arizona
+ Clean and safe
+ Very friendly staff
+ Separate parking area provided next to each unit
+ All units are separate and have their own deck
+ Fully equipped kitchens - Safeway is nearby and you can definitely prepare breakfasts in your unit to save time and money.
+ Concierge is very helpful for booking trips and tours before or after arrival
+ Fitness center, laundry, pool, hot tubs, and play areas are available, but we did not use any of them.

Con
- Units are relatively small. I jokingly called the unit we were in our FEMA trailer. Living/dining area are fine, but bedroom and bathroom are small. There is approximately 18 inches of space between each side and the foot of the queen sized bed and the walls/cabinets. Two people have to negotiate with each other to access the bedroom and bathroom. I cannot imagine what the situation would be like with four people.
- The on-site restaurant/bar is only open until 8pm, and is completely closed on Monday.

Activities Worth Doing
+ Hot air balloon ride
+ Verde Canyon train (VIP class)
+ Wine tasting at local wineries on Page Springs Road and tasting rooms in Cottonwood and Jerome
+ Out of Africa wild animal park
+ Drive to the South Rim of the Grand Canyon. The resort has written driving/tour directions that are mostly correct. They'll be 100% correct if they incorporate the changes I provided to them.

Activities Not Worth Doing
- Prescott - Nothing there but boutiques, antique stores, and consignment shops. Whisky Row is built up to be much more than what it actually is. The very long drive was not worth it.
- Uptown Sedona - Very touristy. There are a couple of good restaurants though.
- Timeshare presentation - Notice that the only bad reviews for Sedona Pines are from people that attended the "RCI update" (aka time share presentation). We avoided it. It's not worth giving up the greater part of a day of your vacation to get free or discounted trips, and these things are never only 90 minutes in length.

Room Tip: We were in 122 on the edge of the property and away from play areas, etc. This worked out well for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sedona Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Pines Resort

Address: 6701 West Hwy 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Sedona Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sedona Pines Hotel Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sedona Pines Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.