We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, clean, great if you want to be out of contact” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sedona Pines Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sedona Pines Resort to your Saves list
Sedona Pines Resort
6701 West Hwy 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Small, clean, great if you want to be out of contact”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

As others have said, the "cottage" as small. They are very well-equipped and clean. But not great for a very long stay or for more than two people in the one bedroom. The bedroom is especially small with virtually no room for more than one suitcase. There are lots of built-in cabinets and drawers but the closet is very small, thus it would be difficult for a stay of longer than a week or so. It sort of is like the space one would find in an Embassy Suites, but with a fully equipped kitchen area and a much smaller bedroom. The deck and grill is a nice feature. Major drawback is that although all the units are said to have wifi - the signal is very weak and goes in and out a lot. Cellular service is non-existent, even though it is only 5 miles out of town. In case this is needed, one should also note that the Starbucks in Sedona must be the only one in the US without wifi! Rated rooms as poor only because so small. As a Hilton Grand Vacation Club member using RCI I'm very disappointed that we only seem to be able to access moderate properties out of season, nothing more luxurious. Seems like it is manipulated.
As noted, it is not hard to get into Sedona but one does need a car. It gets very dark once the sun goes down. Staff was very friendly. Only went to restaurant for last breakfast before left. It was excellent - should have probably tried it for dinner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    154
    45
    24
    29
See reviews for
92
182
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caledon, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at Sedona Pines for three nights and enjoyed everything about the property and the locale. The unit we stayed in was very convenient for the pool and adult hot tub. The unit itself was excellent. Everything was clean and in good repair. The staff was friendly and helpful. We would recommend this to anyone going to Sedona and would stay here again if we were visiting Arizona again.

Room Tip: I had read other reviews that suggested getting a unit in the 100s or 200s - no idea why.. I stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a unique property! The cottage is small but fully functional, with a completely stocked kitchen and wonderful privacy of having your own cottage. The staff are friendly, and the property is about 12 years old, I think, and is immaculately maintained. The beds are super comfy, and everything was very clean. The property is secluded so is very quiet.

The bistro has really good food but it is a little pricey.

The property is about a 5-10 minute drive into the main town area of Sedona, which isn't a problem. It's close enough to get everywhere and far enough away that you feel secluded.

I would definitely recommend Sedona Pines Resort.

Room Tip: Request a cottage at the end of the road, so you only have a neighbor on one side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I had the pleasure of being a guest at the Sedona Pines, located a short drive from the beautiful town of Sedona. This property is serene and quiet. Yes, it is located off a major road, but the multiple mini waterfalls that dot the property provide a reprieve from the traffic. Stay at a cabin far from the road, if possible. The only negative comment I can make is that this resort is difficult to spot from the highway at night, as the road sign leading to it is small and easy to miss. However, once you arrive, you will not be disappointed.
The front staff is wonderfully accommodating as is the rest of the staff on the property. Laundry is free! Cookies are on offer weekend nights. A nice touch! Wifi is best at the pool and in the front desk lobby.
Our cabin was immaculate and contained all a couple would need for a week away from home. The pullout bed works, but is a tight fit in the living area. Therefore, we concluded the one bedroom units are best for a couple, no more. It was wonderful to have a self contained cottage with a spacious deck and incredible views. No shared walls made for a quiet experience.
The Bistro is very nice. A blended margarita (with or without alcohol) is free for guests who dine there. We found the prices moderate and the food plentiful and tasty.
This place is terrific!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, CA
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Pro
+ Good location - easy access to Sedona, Cottonwood, Jerome, Grand Canyon, and other areas in Northern Arizona
+ Clean and safe
+ Very friendly staff
+ Separate parking area provided next to each unit
+ All units are separate and have their own deck
+ Fully equipped kitchens - Safeway is nearby and you can definitely prepare breakfasts in your unit to save time and money.
+ Concierge is very helpful for booking trips and tours before or after arrival
+ Fitness center, laundry, pool, hot tubs, and play areas are available, but we did not use any of them.

Con
- Units are relatively small. I jokingly called the unit we were in our FEMA trailer. Living/dining area are fine, but bedroom and bathroom are small. There is approximately 18 inches of space between each side and the foot of the queen sized bed and the walls/cabinets. Two people have to negotiate with each other to access the bedroom and bathroom. I cannot imagine what the situation would be like with four people.
- The on-site restaurant/bar is only open until 8pm, and is completely closed on Monday.

Activities Worth Doing
+ Hot air balloon ride
+ Verde Canyon train (VIP class)
+ Wine tasting at local wineries on Page Springs Road and tasting rooms in Cottonwood and Jerome
+ Out of Africa wild animal park
+ Drive to the South Rim of the Grand Canyon. The resort has written driving/tour directions that are mostly correct. They'll be 100% correct if they incorporate the changes I provided to them.

Activities Not Worth Doing
- Prescott - Nothing there but boutiques, antique stores, and consignment shops. Whisky Row is built up to be much more than what it actually is. The very long drive was not worth it.
- Uptown Sedona - Very touristy. There are a couple of good restaurants though.
- Timeshare presentation - Notice that the only bad reviews for Sedona Pines are from people that attended the "RCI update" (aka time share presentation). We avoided it. It's not worth giving up the greater part of a day of your vacation to get free or discounted trips, and these things are never only 90 minutes in length.

Room Tip: We were in 122 on the edge of the property and away from play areas, etc. This worked out well for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Sedona Pines was very enjoyable and the restaurant served beautifully presented and tasty meals. Sedona Pines in located about 10 minutes South of Sedona. It is very quiet and the many waterfall features close to the individual modules make it a very attractive setting. The kitchen is very well equipped. I especially enjoyed the practical flooring they chose for the units, very durable. We ate the the restaurant one evening and were more than delighted. I had the liver and onions and the presentation and the flavour was outstanding. they frequently have solo musicians entertain at the dinner meals.

Room Tip: Modules away from the highway will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

All the other reviews really hit it. This resort is just outside the main town of Sedona so you have some seclusion. Most of the staff is friendly and helpful. Lots of free amenities (pools, hot tubs, putt-putt, washers/dryers). Units are tiny but clean and fairly well maintained. Ours was starting to show some wear but we were told they are due for renovations next year. Grounds are very nice.

The resort offers several free events. If you go there do not miss seeing Jesse Kalu. He gives a free concert of hand made bamboo flutes and can make realistic wildlife sounds with them - it was amazing.

All in all - great stay, good location, nice staff. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to stay as far back as possible (Units starting with a 1 or 2) to avoid hearing the traffic from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sedona Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Pines Resort

Address: 6701 West Hwy 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Sedona Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sedona Pines Hotel Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sedona Pines Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.