We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great "Launch Pad" for Activities in the Area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sedona Pines Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sedona Pines Resort to your Saves list
Sedona Pines Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   6701 West Hwy 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Pleasanton, CA
Level Contributor
327 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great "Launch Pad" for Activities in the Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Pro
+ Good location - easy access to Sedona, Cottonwood, Jerome, Grand Canyon, and other areas in Northern Arizona
+ Clean and safe
+ Very friendly staff
+ Separate parking area provided next to each unit
+ All units are separate and have their own deck
+ Fully equipped kitchens - Safeway is nearby and you can definitely prepare breakfasts in your unit to save time and money.
+ Concierge is very helpful for booking trips and tours before or after arrival
+ Fitness center, laundry, pool, hot tubs, and play areas are available, but we did not use any of them.

Con
- Units are relatively small. I jokingly called the unit we were in our FEMA trailer. Living/dining area are fine, but bedroom and bathroom are small. There is approximately 18 inches of space between each side and the foot of the queen sized bed and the walls/cabinets. Two people have to negotiate with each other to access the bedroom and bathroom. I cannot imagine what the situation would be like with four people.
- The on-site restaurant/bar is only open until 8pm, and is completely closed on Monday.

Activities Worth Doing
+ Hot air balloon ride
+ Verde Canyon train (VIP class)
+ Wine tasting at local wineries on Page Springs Road and tasting rooms in Cottonwood and Jerome
+ Out of Africa wild animal park
+ Drive to the South Rim of the Grand Canyon. The resort has written driving/tour directions that are mostly correct. They'll be 100% correct if they incorporate the changes I provided to them.

Activities Not Worth Doing
- Prescott - Nothing there but boutiques, antique stores, and consignment shops. Whisky Row is built up to be much more than what it actually is. The very long drive was not worth it.
- Uptown Sedona - Very touristy. There are a couple of good restaurants though.
- Timeshare presentation - Notice that the only bad reviews for Sedona Pines are from people that attended the "RCI update" (aka time share presentation). We avoided it. It's not worth giving up the greater part of a day of your vacation to get free or discounted trips, and these things are never only 90 minutes in length.

Room Tip: We were in 122 on the edge of the property and away from play areas, etc. This worked out well for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    177
    52
    27
    31
See reviews for
112
205
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Powell River, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Sedona Pines was very enjoyable and the restaurant served beautifully presented and tasty meals. Sedona Pines in located about 10 minutes South of Sedona. It is very quiet and the many waterfall features close to the individual modules make it a very attractive setting. The kitchen is very well equipped. I especially enjoyed the practical flooring they chose for the units, very durable. We ate the the restaurant one evening and were more than delighted. I had the liver and onions and the presentation and the flavour was outstanding. they frequently have solo musicians entertain at the dinner meals.

Room Tip: Modules away from the highway will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

All the other reviews really hit it. This resort is just outside the main town of Sedona so you have some seclusion. Most of the staff is friendly and helpful. Lots of free amenities (pools, hot tubs, putt-putt, washers/dryers). Units are tiny but clean and fairly well maintained. Ours was starting to show some wear but we were told they are due for renovations next year. Grounds are very nice.

The resort offers several free events. If you go there do not miss seeing Jesse Kalu. He gives a free concert of hand made bamboo flutes and can make realistic wildlife sounds with them - it was amazing.

All in all - great stay, good location, nice staff. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to stay as far back as possible (Units starting with a 1 or 2) to avoid hearing the traffic from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro - CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Nice and quite.Very clean. Staff very professional and helpful. Worth the time. Perfect place to go for a weekend get away surrounded by the beautiful Sedona Mountains. 5 Minutes from Sedona down town and 15 minutes from Cotton wood. Very secure. Best Jacuzi's in Sedona Valley. Private and secure.

Room Tip: For extra parking - park by office because only one car allowed per a guest house
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Located just west of Sedona (maybe a mile past the lower red rock loop road) sits a cute little timeshare resort......

Things we liked:

1. Resort is easy to get to, even though its just a few minutes out of town.
2. Staff was super friendly; check in was a breeze.
3. No hardcore timeshare sales. If you wanted to do the presentation you could, but the concierge didn't make you sit there for an hour.
4. Units are totally private with their own bbq and outside patios.
5. Pool areas were easy to get to and nice (salt water pools are great!)
6. Units are well equipped just make sure that you figure out how to use the microwave/oven combo. I had never seen one of those before.
7. Our unit had upgraded, flat panel tvs (some of the tripadvisor pics show then rooms with older tube tvs).
8. The AC worked really well!
9. The multiple rivers/fountains added a nice ambiance to the resort.
10. Large laundry room with ten or more washers and same for dryers! Plus they are free!
11. Hot air balloons landing over your head in the morning ;-)

Things that weren't fantastic:

1. The rooms were efficient bordering on small. The toilet seat wouldn't go up fully because of the lower counter.

2. The queen bed was a bummer.

3. The bedroom had plenty of storage, but the room was small and getting around the bed was difficult.

Overall: my wife and I enjoyed this resort as an RCI exchange. The staff really paid attention to the details and the place was well maintained. Our unit worked out fine even if it was a tad on the "efficient" size. The flip side to that was we liked have our privacy; no shared walls was a plus.

Room Tip: For a last minute RCI exchange this worked out great. If you are looking for a place that is quiet a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
summit
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We accidently discovered the Pines last year after being sucked into a time share presentation from a booth in Sedona. The presentation took us to their sister property The Ridge, which was not impressive to us at all, very far away from Sedona with nothing special to offer. During last year’s presentation we made the mistake of overpaying for a trial “points package” from RCI, but our intention was to use these points to stay at The Pines for our next trip to Sedona.

Well…I can’t express how THRILLED we are with The Pines. It is far better than I expected. It is a cabins only hotel. The cabins are like little pre-fab houses and are beautiful, clean and comfortable. Every little detail has been well thought out including a full kitchen with convection over and every cooking tool possibly need, cleaning supplies, ample towel supply, two tvs and dvd players and even a fold up step stool for extra storage space. The pool is large and non-chlorine which is a pleasure and has a great Jacuzzi. There is also another great adult Jacuzzi available in a different location. The staff is very friendly.

When I read negative review, I can’t imagine what these people’s problems are…because Sedona Pines is fantastic. Why stay in an ordinary hotel when you can have your own private home.

Warning about The Ridge’s time share presentation: very tough, they don’t let up which is a real negative. Sit back, listen and just say NO. At the very end, an actual good deal will be thrown at you. If you do not own a time share already, this deal is actually pretty good…buying a points package from RCI using The Pines (NOT the Ridge) as your ownership. Do your homework online before going to the presentation and you will know what a good value is for purchasing a timeshare with the Points program to exchange.

And if you do own a time share elsewhere, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND using your points to stay at The Pines. It is a wonderful wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: we stayed in the middle section and found it very pleasant...close to everything (jacuzzi, pool, off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I booked Our stay at Sedona Pines through RCI as we had points which had to be used. We were extremely pleased. Our unit was immaculate and in excellent condition. We were accustomed to this type of accommodation as we have stayed in modular homes at Fort Wilderness in Disney World. My husband and I are average sized people so the fact that the kitchen and bedrooms were small did not upset is. We cooked many meals there as we were out all day and didn't want to go out to dinner late at night. We enjoyed having our own unit in this well-maintained resort and would go back in a heartbeat. Sedona has so many natural areas and we stayed away from most of the commercial attractions. The only exceptions were the Verde Valley Railroad and a TTSW tour to Grand Canyon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
3.2 mi away
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
4.1 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
3.1 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Southwest Inn at Sedona
Southwest Inn at Sedona
#20 of 48 in Sedona
4.5 of 5 stars 667 reviews
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Sedona
2.3 mi away
Sedona Summit Resort
Sedona Summit Resort
#28 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 stars 1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sedona Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Pines Resort

Address: 6701 West Hwy 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#26 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#28 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sedona Pines Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We take our reputation very seriously and strive to ensure our customers are satisfied. We evaluate and respond to every written complaint that we receive. Unfortunately, it is impossible to police the internet for every inaccurate, incomplete, or unfair comment about Sedona Pines. For example, the Better Business Bureau of Central, Northern, and Western Arizona (“BBB”) publishes an “F” rating for Sedona Pines. However, Sedona Pines is not a member of the BBB. The BBB bases its ratings on its own criteria, which may not include accurate information about the companies it is “rating.” Sedona Pines has tried to work with the BBB to ensure it has accurate information, but the BBB has resisted our efforts. Sedona Pines provided the following information to the BBB. We come in contact with 64,000 consumers per year and according to the BBB, Sedona Pines had 39 complaints over the past three years. This is an average of one complaint for every 4,923 consumer we come in contact with, or a .0002% complaint percentage. We do not understand how a 99+% consumer satisfaction rating can result in an “F” BBB rating. This satisfaction rating does not even take into account the merits of the 39 complaints, how, they were resolved, or whether the consumer was ultimately satisfied. There are other resorts with a much larger number of complaints with the BBB that receive an “A+” rating. Perhaps their rating has something to do with their membership in the BBB? Other branches of the Better Business Bureau have run onto trouble for their conduct. Please consider this information before drawing conclusions about Sedona Pines based on the BBB’s rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sedona Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sedona Pines Hotel Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sedona Pines Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.