We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forest Houses Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forest Houses Resort
Save Saved
You added Forest Houses Resort to your Saves list
9275 N. Hwy. 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
Atascadero, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We have been going to the Forest Houses for 28 years and love it. After staying in the Creek House for most of those years, Bob (the owner) convinced us that once we stayed in Marys House we wouldn't want to go back to the Creek House. I wasn't sure as I love hearing the creek, but he was right! Marys House sits higher and is very private. I could still hear and see the creek, and because this house was actually designed and built by Bobs parents, it has a lot of personal items, such as pictures, furniture, and awards/trophies. The Creek House is great, especially if you have young people, but my husband and I will continue to go and stay in Marys House. Bob and his staff are wonderful - the houses are always clean. For two weeks we disconnect from the world and reconnect with each other-there is no phones, cell service, wifi, television (we watch movies and listen to music on our laptop). Hopefully we will be going for many years to come.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    13
    0
    4
    8
See reviews for
18
35
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The spot is lovely, but there are MANY other places to stay along Oak Creek with a much more "customer service driven" ownership. They could not have been more unkind. Best of luck to anyone who stays there.

Room Tip: No fitness center or restaurant, other than long hikes and kitchens in each cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I am hesitant to share this information, for this location has been added to our short list of properties to visit again. Each of the houses is very different and the descriptions are quite accurate, so read them carefully. We stayed in Tree House, a small unit for two, with a balcony overlooking Oak Creek at about 50 yeards. The house was very clean and comfortable. There was a small convenience store nearly across the road. There was plenty of fire wood, and the promise of no tv, no cell reception, was true. Sedona is only ten minutes south. You enter the propoerty by driving through the water of Oak Creek - a unique experience. We found the staff very responsive. Actually, we could not think of anything that should be changed. So, if you read this and are enticed, please leave us room to return.

Room Tip: Tree House was wonderful. It fit two perfectly. We were also interested in the house called The Vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My husband and I wanted to get out of the heat of Phoenix, and the Forest Houses was the place to be. We stayed in the Bridge house right on the creek and it was so nice and cool and we could hear the creek all day and all night long. We brought our two dogs with us and we all enjoyed walking the trails. The huge patio was great to sit out on, having a cocktail or coffee and looking at the creek. The no TV thing was weird at first but we entertained ourselves by playing games on my iphone and just chatting. The houses have every possible amenity you could want or ask for. They even had a king size "sleep number" bed....couldn't believe it, it was so comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Elsinore, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I LOVE this place.
I HATE to tell anyone about it!

This place has no telephone service.
It has no cell phone service.
No internet service.
No golf courses.
No tennis courts.
No massage parlor.
No "E" tickets.
No restaurant.
No fast food vendors.

ETC.

What it does have, and I hate to tell you this, it has PEACE and QUIET!!!

The host and hostess for this place has provided comfortable beds.
They provided dishes and pots and pans.
They provided towels.
And some trails to tread.

What a lovely concept, peace and quiet.
And an escape from the heat in the valley.
And no noise.
Just the sound of a babbling brook,
and the breeze in the trees,
and peace,
and quiet.

Bob and Tom and their entourage helped create this little piece of heaven.

And I do not want all you people going there.
I want to keep it nice and quiet, so that when I go, it will be peaceful and quiet.

Room Tip: The further up the hill you are, the less noise you will have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Branch, Michigan
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Cabins are fine, kept very neat and clean. Driving across-thru the creek to enter is cute. Parking is very tight. All the firewood you need.
No tv, no wifi, no cell recption. Both good and bad. Nice to get away from our overconnected world, but when in an area you don't know, you can't get to TripAdvisor, or anywhere else to help you plan your day or check out a place to eat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We loved our stay at Forest Houses. Sycamore House had plenty of room and was spotless. We could explore Sedona & Oak Creek Canyon all day & return to cook out, watch the creek, play games & sleep soundly. Hard to find if you must arrive after dark.

Room Tip: book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forest Houses Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Houses Resort

Address: 9275 N. Hwy. 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#25 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#25 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Forest Houses Hotel Sedona
Forest Hotel Sedona
Forest Resort Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest Houses Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.