We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I different place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Forest Houses Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forest Houses Resort
9275 N. Hwy. 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 46 hotels in Sedona
South Branch, Michigan
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“I different place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Cabins are fine, kept very neat and clean. Driving across-thru the creek to enter is cute. Parking is very tight. All the firewood you need.
No tv, no wifi, no cell recption. Both good and bad. Nice to get away from our overconnected world, but when in an area you don't know, you can't get to TripAdvisor, or anywhere else to help you plan your day or check out a place to eat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    13
    0
    4
    9
See reviews for
18
35
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We loved our stay at Forest Houses. Sycamore House had plenty of room and was spotless. We could explore Sedona & Oak Creek Canyon all day & return to cook out, watch the creek, play games & sleep soundly. Hard to find if you must arrive after dark.

Room Tip: book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We spent a week in the chalet house and were blown away by the experience. The creek, the little path into the woods, the grounds themselves are soothing to walk and wade in. The houses are all built so as to cause the minimum disturbance possible toward the natural environs, thereby preserving the eco-friendly character of the place. Nothing here is cookie cutter, each house is unique and clearly built with care and thoughtfulness. My family plans to come back here very soon!

Room Tip: The houses are built in such a way that no matter where they are located on the grounds (even if it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed in the Bridge House with our two dogs, Buddy and Mac. The staff was great, and Bob was especially helpful. I am a very heavy sleeper, and my husband locked himself out at 1:00 in the morning after trying to get one of our dogs, who is a particular pottier, to relieve himself. It was snowing, and Bob got up and dressed to get my husband an extra key. Bob was gracious and very easy to get along with. There was a stockpile of wood ready for the fireplace, and the cabin was warm and cozy. There are two types of travelers, those who bring all the necessities, and those who want room service. This isn't a place for room service, but if you are looking for solitude and a chance to unplug and reconnect with family - I would highly recommend the Forest Houses. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I’m not sure why this place doesn’t have more reviews but my guess is that persons staying here don’t want to let folks in on their little secret. This is a really nice place!

If you’re tied to your cell phone, have to have Internet capability 24/7 and TV then look elsewhere. If not and you value a clean, comfortable cabin in a serene setting then look no further.

It is very clear that the owner takes great pride in this property.

This is not roughing it. Our cabin (Bridge House) was well equipped with all the necessary cookware, Bar-B-Que grill, and cooking utensils. Outside there’s a table, chairs and chaise lounge on the front porch overlooking beautiful Oak Creek just a few feet away.
Our bathroom was a little small but we adapted.

The property is located about 7 miles north of Sedona on Highway 89A.

We stayed with our pet.

I’d definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The “resort” was a little smaller than I anticipated. It’s a wooded area. However, the houses are fairly close to each other and the road/driveway is narrow. I guess maybe I just expected more privacy/seclusion. We barely ran into any other guests at all and it was quiet. The guy at check-in (Tom) was friendly and loaned me a flashlight when I mentioned I didn’t bring one. We stayed in the cozy Tree House for 2 nights. The furniture was different than what was pictured on the website. Instead of a small wood frame sofa and chair there were two huge chairs. Slightly less spacious than it appeared in the picture (due to the huge chairs) but still fine for two people. The furnishings/décor was somewhat random and mismatched but the place was exceptionally clean and all kitchen items were in good condition and well organized. The back balcony needed some maintenance as the unfinished plywood floor needed fixing/replacement. Unfortunately, there wasn’t a binder in the cabin with any instructions but I washed, dried and put away the dishes which (I found out later at check-out) was expected. However, the check-out person mentioned that they rewash everything anyway after each guest. The bathroom was older but the tub tile was handmade and really cool. Not to mention, the bathroom was very clean. I didn’t use the woodstove but there was free wood nearby.

We could see and hear the cars on the highway from The Tree House which was kind of a bummer. You could almost see the creek from the house’s balcony but there appeared to be a tree/weed in the way.(We also had a view of the garden plot for a neighboring cabin (Rock House) but it seemed like it was weeds. There were areas around the property that were nicely planted/landscaped, however. There also appeared to be a nice green lawn for lawn games. We walked over to the creek and took a dip which was nice. There were lots of games and puzzles in the office that you could borrow. There was a restaurant binder in the office but we found it was a bit overstuffed and outdated.

Note the website gives a 21 day cancellation policy but the confirmation letter says 30 days.

Overall, this was a reasonably priced, basic but very clean cabin in quiet surroundings. This review is based on one 2-night stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stay here twice a year to rejuvenate, relax, and get in touch with nature. This resort is a treasure. No cell phone reception, no smart meters, no WiFi, no electronic smog. The pine trees are real and not camouflaged cell towers.
We love the creek, love the cabins (we've stayed in many different ones over the years), love the meadow and hiking trails, love Bob (the owner) and the entire staff. Of course, being just a few miles from Sedona is just the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Forest Houses Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Houses Resort

Also Known As:
Forest Houses Hotel Sedona
Forest Houses Hotel
Forest Hotel Sedona
Forest Resort Sedona
Address: 9275 N. Hwy. 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#25 Family Hotel in Sedona
#34 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest Houses Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Forest Houses Resort to your Saves list