We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but exceptionally clean cabin on creek (review of resort and Tree House)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Forest Houses Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forest Houses Resort
9275 N. Hwy. 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 46 hotels in Sedona
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Basic but exceptionally clean cabin on creek (review of resort and Tree House)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The “resort” was a little smaller than I anticipated. It’s a wooded area. However, the houses are fairly close to each other and the road/driveway is narrow. I guess maybe I just expected more privacy/seclusion. We barely ran into any other guests at all and it was quiet. The guy at check-in (Tom) was friendly and loaned me a flashlight when I mentioned I didn’t bring one. We stayed in the cozy Tree House for 2 nights. The furniture was different than what was pictured on the website. Instead of a small wood frame sofa and chair there were two huge chairs. Slightly less spacious than it appeared in the picture (due to the huge chairs) but still fine for two people. The furnishings/décor was somewhat random and mismatched but the place was exceptionally clean and all kitchen items were in good condition and well organized. The back balcony needed some maintenance as the unfinished plywood floor needed fixing/replacement. Unfortunately, there wasn’t a binder in the cabin with any instructions but I washed, dried and put away the dishes which (I found out later at check-out) was expected. However, the check-out person mentioned that they rewash everything anyway after each guest. The bathroom was older but the tub tile was handmade and really cool. Not to mention, the bathroom was very clean. I didn’t use the woodstove but there was free wood nearby.

We could see and hear the cars on the highway from The Tree House which was kind of a bummer. You could almost see the creek from the house’s balcony but there appeared to be a tree/weed in the way.(We also had a view of the garden plot for a neighboring cabin (Rock House) but it seemed like it was weeds. There were areas around the property that were nicely planted/landscaped, however. There also appeared to be a nice green lawn for lawn games. We walked over to the creek and took a dip which was nice. There were lots of games and puzzles in the office that you could borrow. There was a restaurant binder in the office but we found it was a bit overstuffed and outdated.

Note the website gives a 21 day cancellation policy but the confirmation letter says 30 days.

Overall, this was a reasonably priced, basic but very clean cabin in quiet surroundings. This review is based on one 2-night stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    13
    0
    4
    9
See reviews for
18
35
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, NV
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stay here twice a year to rejuvenate, relax, and get in touch with nature. This resort is a treasure. No cell phone reception, no smart meters, no WiFi, no electronic smog. The pine trees are real and not camouflaged cell towers.
We love the creek, love the cabins (we've stayed in many different ones over the years), love the meadow and hiking trails, love Bob (the owner) and the entire staff. Of course, being just a few miles from Sedona is just the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Oak TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We so enjoyed our stay in the Creek house. It was beautiful and the porch was so relaxing. The house was great the resort was great and Bob was wonderful. We will be going back next year. We were there in March a few days after the snow and the waterfalls were a sight to see. I just love Sedona. One day I hope to bring my 2 daughters here for a girls weekend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

We came to Sedona for a romantic get-away. Lots of choices of where to stay. The place is quiet, simple, and clean. The area is beautiful and quiet. Most importantly, the hospitality is second to none anywhere in the world. We arrived late to find a note on the door welcoming us, the cabin had been warmed up, the lights were on, there was firewood ready for a fire, and the note said "sometime tomorrow just drop by the office and we'll finish the check-in process". The next morning we met Bob, who knew us by name, and was a friendly grandfatherly-like man; he treated us like we were family. It snowed while we were there, and there was Bob that morning in his back-hoe clearing our driveway. Our last day we wanted to get in a helicopter ride but thought we had to check out at 11. Bob said, "no problem, we don't need the cabin vacated till later today anyway" and he let us stay until 4! All the firewood, kindling, newspaper, charcoal, games, linens we could want. We stayed in the most rustic "Bridge" cabin, and it was perfect! No cell service, and this was a very pleasant inconvenience (forced me to focus on what was important and unplug). You can find luxury anywhere. But old-fashioned hospitality is a rare find. I can't imagine a more perfect place to stay and a more perfect setting.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We enjoyed our recent stay in the Tree House, a "studio" on stilts. The porch overlooked beautiful trees and flowers alongside Oak Creek, and, although you could hear traffic drive by on 89A, it was still very relaxing. The kitchen had every convenience, and the firewood station even had newspaper and kindling (although we could find no matches and were glad we happened to have some of our own). We loved the dog-friendliness of the property and hope to return with one or two of our own. About halfway between Sedona and Flagstaff, so more touristy sites were easily accessible but far enough away so that we got a sense of a true, rustic getaway. Look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We have been coming to Forrest Houses for over 10 years and absolutely look forward to our visits. We bring books, games and lots of food. there are great hiking trails nearby and great patios to enjoy a good book on. We always feel welcomed and Bob is very gracious. We have all of the modern convenience in a great setting. Our absolute favorite house is the cloud and we enjoy this every May. There is no AC, but this has never been an issue. The weather is always cool in the mornings and evenings.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Our 1st trip to Forest Houses, can't see how anyone would give them a bad review. We arrived a little early and the owner went out of his way to get our cabin ready for us. The grounds are very pretty, however from what I read I thought it was further up in the woods, other than hearing the road traffic this place was great. Our cabin was very clean, and all our needs were met. It was nice to get away from the tv and electronics. Games and books are provided to borrow. The price is also very resonable compared to the resorts in the area and we found plenty to do in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Forest Houses Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Houses Resort

Also Known As:
Forest Houses Hotel Sedona
Forest Houses Hotel
Forest Hotel Sedona
Forest Resort Sedona
Address: 9275 N. Hwy. 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#25 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest Houses Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Forest Houses Resort to your Saves list