We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Hike in the Red Rocks!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Mountain Trail

Bear Mountain Trail
FR 152C, Sedona, AZ
928-203-2900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 119 things to do in Sedona
Attraction details
Cottonwood, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Another Great Hike in the Red Rocks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Easy hike in the red rock canyon near the Red Rock-Secret Mountain Wilderness. My last hike in the Bear Mountain Trail, I saw a comical Geico-like gecko, about 8" tall. Sad that I didn't bring my camera.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    15
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Favorite trail in Sedona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

You need to be in good shape to make it to the top. It is a pretty difficult trail due to its quick elevation gain. We hiked it up and back in about 4 hours, including a quick lunch break and some walking around at the summit. You can see the San Francisco Peaks from the summit- very cool!! If you can't make it to the summit, don't worry....the trail is very pretty and worth a partial short hike up.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The climb is worth it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is a manageable walk for the moderately fit as long as you can climb a fairly steep incline and scramble up some moderate rock formations. We didn't make it the whole way as we didn't bring sufficient water, even though it was winter we needed at least another litre to the 600mls if we were to climb the whole return walk. However the view from about half way was spectacular and we could make out the bear face on the mountain. A Red Rock pass is required to park your car.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A Workout w/ Great Views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

If you want great views and w/ less effort head back across the street to Doe Mountain. If you want something strenuous this is a good choice. We turned around at the first summit (there is a false and then a true summit which is 35 feet higher but quite a bit further) due to time and snow (we went on 31 DEC 2012 after it had snowed overnight and throughout the morning). We used trekking poles on this hike and I'd recommend them. We took a light pack w/ a liter of water for two of us and some energy bars and almonds which were adequate. It took us an hour or so to reach the first summit w/ minimal stops on the way up. Once we decided not to attempt to go all the way we took our time coming down and took lots of pictures. Overall spent 3-3.5 hrs. Great hike and you should go if you are able.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murrieta
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“What a trail and great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We didn't go all the way up, but did accend 1000 ft up from the trail head. It got quite difficult towards the top. Quite a few people (younger than us) did go to the top. It is a strenuous hike but worth it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear Mountain Trail also viewed

 

Been to Bear Mountain Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Mountain Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.