We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful trail on an early morning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huckaby Trail

Huckaby Trail
Sedona, AZ
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 120 things to do in Sedona
Activities: Mountain biking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An intermediate-level hiking and biking trail stretches 2.6 miles from Schenebly Hill Road down to Oak Creek.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful trail on an early morning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

While vacationing in Sedona our wonderful host gave us plenty of recommendations on where to go, what to do, and what to see. This trail was among those mentioned and I am glad it was. It is very accessible and easy to find from the road, once we were parked it was a short walk before we were on the trail itself. The Huckaby Trail had stunning view points near the top and as you delve deeper into the canyon your immersed in nature. At the very top you can see large and colorful canyons covered in trees and plant life. At the bottom there is a small river bustling through with small stepping stones for you to get across. Another wonderful thing about the Huckaby trail is it's simplicity. I am not an avid hiker, so I was pleased to know it was not a difficult trail to maneuver nor did I need any special gear. I can only attest for the Huckaby Trail and a few others in the area but if you are in the area take an hour or two out of your day and take in this outstanding trail and all it's beauty.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
93 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

didn't do the whole trail, I hiked from Migdley Bridge to the Oak Creek and back (about 1.5 miles round trip, not sure), very easy, did in 30 minutes, many beautiful views

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apalachin, New York
Top Contributor
332 reviews 332 reviews
152 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Good Trail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stop at the Migdley Bridge and there were several trailheads. The Huckaby goes under the bridge and then down into the canyon. We walked about a mile which was enjoyable with great views of the Oak Creek Canyon towards Sedona but had to turn back as we had other events on our schedule and did not have the time for the 4 plus mile hike. Never had an opportunity to get back but friends of ours did and stated the hike was a good one, much greener than many of the other Sedona Trails as you walk along the creek canyon. You must have a Red Rock pass to park at the Trailhead parking lot by the Bridge.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Canyon National Park, Arizona
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Hidden Jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We found this trail by accident, and glad we did. I love steel bridges and stop to take a picture of the bridge at the start of the trail. My friend and I decided to hike the trail. I took us down along the creek and under the bridge. The views were so nice! Quite an unexpected adventure for two nature loving wanderers.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville
Top Contributor
1,235 reviews 1,235 reviews
841 attraction reviews
Reviews in 335 cities Reviews in 335 cities
993 helpful votes 993 helpful votes
“Easy trail for most hikers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We hiked the Huckaby Trail ten years ago and again this week. (some of the hills have gotten higher over the past ten years). The view from the bridge is wonderful and the path is a solid material base. There is a railing and it wraps around the end of the bridge. The trail continues to wind down through the valley and the dominate sound of the rushing water is a comfortable companion. We took pictures along the way and just enjoyed the peacefulness of the day. Some loose rocks so be careful as sometimes the views can lead to missteps due to the distraction. Oak Creek is a beautiful place.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huckaby Trail also viewed

 

Been to Huckaby Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huckaby Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.