We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sedona Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sedona Motel
Save
You added Sedona Motel to your Saves list
218 Highway 179, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
CA
1 review
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

Perfect location, THE best owner, comfortable rooms, beautiful views, and affordable! I highly recommend The Sedona Motel!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    92
    13
    2
    5
See reviews for
50
148
31
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Windsor, CT
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

After reading all of the reviews on here for the Sedona Motel, and several others in Sedona, we decided to stay here based upon price, location, and the great reviews. I am so happy we ended up at Sedona Motel for the 2 nights we stayed in Sedona. The owner, Bill, and his wife, were so accommodating and had tons of suggestions from sightseeing to restaurants, and provided a lot of general information and history about the area. Our room was pretty basic, but definitely enough to keep us happy. It was very clean, the king bed was comfortable, and it was nice to have a fridge in the room to keep our beverages cold.

It is in a busy area - very close to 'the Y', so there is some occasional noise, but I enjoyed being within walking distance or a short drive to almost everything. We did hear a bit of noise from Ken's, which is across the street, but only because we slept one night with the windows open.

All in all, it was a great stay and we will most definitely stay here the next time we visit Sedona.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

All's been said- excellent location, very friendly and helpful proprietors - everything we needed - spotlessly clean. And very reasonable for Sedona.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

Not wanting to pay a fortune for a room in which we would spend little time, but wanting a clean bed and bath, Sedona Motel met our expectations for comfort and cleanliness. The only criticism is the carpet was a bit worn and the TV did not have closed-caption ability which is not a big deal for two nights.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

Ive been waiting to put this review until I uploaded the pictures but it seems like thats not going to happen any time soon. When we pulled up to the hotel, it looked like one of those in a horror film where everyone gets killed. Unlike those hotels, this one was pretty nice for a budget hotel. The rooms were clean and spacious. A/C was quiet and cool. The bathroom was clean and had a heater for those chilly nights.
My only complaint was the bed. Dont get me wrong, I can sleep on the ground in a sleeping bag, but I could not get comfortable in this bed. I was super tired from driving all day and then going on some hikes, so for me not to knock out says something.
Its in the middle of town close to resturants. Quiet at night.
The guy at the front gave me no advice, said "here are yours keys, sign here and your off"

Overall a good hotel for the price. I would maybe stay here again, unless I get a time share rental.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

My husband and I just loved staying at the Sedona Motel! We stayed two very comfortable, quiet and convenient nights. The downtown location of TSH is awesome--you can walk across the street and have one of the best pizzas in the world on the deck at the Hideaway overlooking Oak Creek. And Bill at the hotel office event gets you a discount for your meal! If you like to walk to stores and restaurants you can go everywhere downtown without having to go too far. Bill is a very gracious host who offers all kinds of local advice and ideas of things to do. The motel is VERY well made and maintained. We didn't hear street noise at all due to its brick construction and well-planned site. And no refrigeration noise inside the room because of specially built no-sound refrigerators. This place is a classic!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne,England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

Following favourable reviews on Trip Advisor we stayed here from June 17-June 19.

We can only agree with the vast majority of views posted. We were on vacation from the UK and found it convenient,great value for money and Bill the owner was very helpful indeed. As many people have said Sedona can be very expensive and we found this accommodation great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sedona Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Motel

Address: 218 Highway 179, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sedona
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#9 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sedona Motel is a small family owned and operated property located in the heart of Sedona. We are dedicated to providing each guest information on the remarkable natural beauty of the Sedona area. We are walking distance to restaurants and shopping areas and have great views of the red rocks from our covered patio. Each room has a microwave, refrigerator and coffeemaker. As members of the Green Hotels Association since 2005 we are helping to preserve the natural beauty of Sedona. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sedona Hotel Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sedona Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.