We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sedona Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sedona Motel
Save
You added Sedona Motel to your Saves list
218 Highway 179, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Miami
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

You don't have to be rich to enjoy a good night's rest in a quiet, clean room in Sedona proper. Staying at the Sedona Motel proved it. It wasn't fancy, but for $110/night, we had a good sized room with a refrigerator, microwave oven, flat screen TV, free wifi, a coffee pot and coffee. The front desk clerk (who also lives on the property) was knowledgeable, friendly and informative. A hot shower after a long hike, and we were in heaven. We will be back, and we will stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    95
    14
    2
    5
See reviews for
52
154
32
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lacombe, LA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We were only in Sedona for one night, but this motel is a great place to stay. The front desk manager was so helpful in explaining where to go, what to do, where to eat. There were no frills, but would definitely stay here again. The views from the room are gorgeous.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

The Sedona Motel fit just what I needed. A one-night stay to check out the Sedona area for a possible future visit. The Sedona Motel is clean and Richard at the front desk is inviting and personable. What a great view of the Red Rocks when you step out your door. Cannot believe the great nightly motel rate based on this places location and cleanliness. I did hear some traffic noise as others have commented, but was too worn out from walking the town and trails to really care! And any traffic volume really slows down as the evening progresses. It's nice to be able to park at the door to your room instead of having to walk and take an elevator at other resorts.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This is a great budget-friendly motel just a few blocks away from the annoying touristy bustle of the main drag in Sedona. It has GREAT views from all the rooms, overlooking the red rocks. There is a small lovely patio area where you can watch the sunrises/sunsets with your coffee or wine.
The wifi is great (fast, strong connection), the rooms and bathrooms are spacious and very clean. The motel faces the street, but Sedona completely shuts down by 11pm and so it's pretty quiet.

This motel was the opposite of impersonal chain hotels. The proprietor was so friendly and welcoming and even lent my husband and I the use of his own personal hiking guide books and his national park pass. He was full of great hiking information and restaurant suggestions. I will definitely stay here should I find myself in Sedona again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Old fashioned 70s motor hotel two block walk from downtown Sedona. 5 star value in an older 2 star place. If you are looking for a plush resort with amenities--not your place. If you are looking for an outstanding value where you drive up to your room--you got it. The gentleman who took the reservation and checked me in gave me just great recommendations on the places to see the stunning sunsets/sunrises and where to take my daughter to relax in a park.

Two block walk to the middle of the little downtown and 5 min drive to places to eat away form town or go to a grocery.

Can be a tad noisy--would definitely go back.

Room Tip: All about the same. Not fancy but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I came to Sedona to do some hiking and wasn't interested in the fancy resorts...I was just looking for a simple place to stay. This motel definitely fit the bill. The decor is older but the place is very clean and the beds are comfortable. Bill, the owner, is one of the nicest guys you'll meet. He knows the town in and out and gives great recommendations. If you're looking for a simple, inexpensive place to stay, this is it.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, OHIO
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This was our second stay at the Sedona Motel and we were again very pleased. Don't be misled by the highway motel look, this is a very nice, affordable, clean place. Rooms are nicely decorated, beds were comfy with nice linens, included a microwave, refrigerator. TV was small but we didn't spend much time watching it anyway! Bill at the front desk was extremely helpful with dining choices, and super friendly. Great location, gorgeous views! Must dine at the Elote Cafe, which was only a couple minute drive away. Also very close to shopping and hiking, etc. Fantastic. Nice patio also fabulous views. No pool available but not needed to have fun in beautiful Sedona!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sedona Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Motel

Address: 218 Highway 179, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sedona
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#9 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sedona Motel is a small family owned and operated property located in the heart of Sedona. We are dedicated to providing each guest information on the remarkable natural beauty of the Sedona area. We are walking distance to restaurants and shopping areas and have great views of the red rocks from our covered patio. Each room has a microwave, refrigerator and coffeemaker. As members of the Green Hotels Association since 2005 we are helping to preserve the natural beauty of Sedona. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sedona Hotel Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sedona Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.