We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sedona Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sedona Motel
Save Saved
You added Sedona Motel to your Saves list
218 Highway 179, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 45 hotels in Sedona
Sequim, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A pleasant motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We checked in early and were warmly greeted and given an introductions to the area. The motel was centrally located for restaurants and sight seeing in the Sedona/Verde Valley area. The room was clean and a pleasant covered patio at the end of the motel was a great place to have morning coffee or an evening cocktail. A little road noise but considering location, easy in finding and ample parking it is hardly worth mentioning. For the area the price was acceptable. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    168
    90
    13
    2
    5
See reviews for
49
142
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellsworth, Maine
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I arrived at the Sedona Motel with a migraine. The owners were very helpful. I went right to bed and was able to get the room dark, cool, and quiet. The room was comfortable and affordable for the location. Thanks to the owners' suggestions, I was able to go hiking in the morning, and the checkout time was late enough so that I could shower afterward. Without a doubt, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

With a little thoughtfulness and effort, this could be, well, I guess it would still be a low end motel. The owner, Bill, ,was a nice enough guy, but put us in a room next to a room that was undergoing renovation. We were assured that noise would not be a problem, and that the crew would not be starting work until after 9 the next morning. He was a little off there. The tile guy showed up around 6:30am, backed his pickup right up to our door and opened up the tailgate. There was a noisy faucet under our window, the worker kept running buckets of water and and carting them to the room next door. The other workers showed up around 8am. When we complained about the noise, Bill apparently thought complaints about noise were amusing and laughed in our faces. He did however, move us to a quieter room. This place does have a good location going for it, but that's about it. There are a lot of other places to stay in Sedona, I would suggest trying one of them.

Room Tip: Try another hotel! If you feel compelled to stay here, be sure to ask about construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sedonamotel, Owner at Sedona Motel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
We would like to thank our guests for their understanding and support during the recent renovations and through Bill's injury (he's healing nicely)!

In addition, we are pleased to announce that the renovations are over! (Please check out the new pictures.) Unfortunately the construction ran about six weeks longer than we expected. New carpet, new, furniture, new fixtures, fresh paint - it all takes awhile. Guests have been very pleased with the results.

We apologize that the guest mistook Bill's jovial nature for anything less than concern. As stated, the guest was immediately moved to a different room. There did not seem to be any further distress for the rest of his stay. Sedona is so breathtakingly beautiful and lovely that most people allow their troubles to fade away.

As always, we strive to offer quality accommodations (hence the renovations) at a reasonable price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here based on reviews. Don't stay anywhere else. Clean rooms right in the middle of town within walking distance to the best shopping and restaurants. Price is perfect. Bill and his wife were so helpful on what to do. Because of them we changed our route and ended up being able to "see" the Grand Canyon during the monsoon season. Stayed Friday night, went to canyon Saturday. Came back and stayed again Monday night. You can't go wrong here!!!! We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here based on other reviews. Very glad we did as superb views of sedona hills, location good for restaurants and shops, all within walking distance. Clean, comfortable rooms and professional friendly service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We were visiting Grand Canyon and decided to add Sedona to our trip. We selected this motel based on location and price. What a gem! Our King bed room was spacious, very clean and quiet. The views are spectacular and it is in walking distance to the best of Sedona. The owner Bill was friendly and helpful and the cleaning staff were great! Our spacious room had all the amenities and an updated bathroom. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Outstanding value!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We happened upon Sedona Motel on our honeymoon road trip and were very pleased with the friendly manager, location and reasonably priced quiet room.
Clean and tidy with a decent sized queen bed, fast free Wifi connection, large TV, fridge/freezer, microwave, coffee machine, bath/shower and hairdryer. Sweet little covered patio area to relax in at the end of the terrace too. Best view of 'Snoopy Rock' in town!
We extended our stay in Sedona by an extra night due to the sheer beauty of the area and the relaxed vibe.
The manager had excellent local knowledge and we can attribute our lovely visit to his enthusiastic advice! Whoever said the manager was creepy may just be a miserable soul unused to encountering joy in others...
Check out Sound Bites for live music, tasty food and good wine. We went to an organic Italian restaurant the next night and it was meh. Who puts sweetened walnuts in a pear & walnut salad?

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sedona Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Motel

Address: 218 Highway 179, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sedona
#9 Family Hotel in Sedona
#9 Business Hotel in Sedona
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sedona Motel is a small family owned and operated property located in the heart of Sedona. We are dedicated to providing each guest information on the remarkable natural beauty of the Sedona area. We are walking distance to restaurants and shopping areas and have great views of the red rocks from our covered patio. Each room has a microwave, refrigerator and coffeemaker. As members of the Green Hotels Association since 2005 we are helping to preserve the natural beauty of Sedona. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sedona Hotel Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sedona Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.