We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sedona Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sedona Motel
Save Saved
You added Sedona Motel to your Saves list
218 Highway 179, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
Mesa, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary this past weekend. Bill was wonderful! We had a great time. The location of the motel is probably the best. Spectacular views!! We will tell our friends about this place and we plan to return!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    91
    13
    2
    5
See reviews for
49
145
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I have to admit, I was very impressed and very pleased with our stay here. So much so, when we return to Sedona we will stay here again! Thank you TA reviews for this great, budget friendly motel suggestion. When you are from NY, you have a certain image that comes to mind when you say “motel” so even though the positive reviews enticed us enough to consider it, I still went with low expectations. Well our expectations were surpassed and exceeded-SCORE!!

We had read that you can only check in at 3pm, so we made sure to be there by 2:30-2:45 and sure enough the office was closed, but we knew to wait. The owner, Bill, arrived just before 3, so we only waited a mere 5 mins or so for his arrival. He is a very warm, welcoming nice man, with a calming voice which just oozed a Sedona vibe. When we had booked our room (about a month prior by phone) he advised us that he only had two double beds, but that was OK with us. So when we checked in, he offered us a King bed room for our 2nd night (he offered, we didn’t even ask) but we declined and just kept with our double bed room for simplicity for our 3 night stay. He happily volunteered to show us a map and circled key interest points to us, such a nice personal check in process.

We were in room 28 and wow, pretty impressive, again, for a Motel. Super Clean! Equipped with Mini Fridge, Microwave, Iron with Iron board, Blow dryer, heated lamp in bathroom and excellent shower pressure! I have quite a bit of hair, so shower pressure is always important to me. Toilet flushes very quietly. Free wi-fi, cable TV channels and you’re in the center of the town. We live in a city so we didn’t notice any noise from the road at all! It really was quiet though. The only time we heard any noise was when a neighboring unit was using their shower (Hearing the plumbing) but that’s about all. No complaints at all with our stay! Even the bed was comfortable!!

We didn’t get to enjoy the patio at the end of the motel very much but we did sit outside our room on the bench provided and watch the sunrise behind Snoopy Rock. It was very quiet and peaceful. We were able to walk up to Pink Jeep Tours and into Uptown Sedona which is an easy 10 min walk. What a true a value to have stayed here! I wish all motels were as great as this, it sure would save me a ton of money in our travels :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OC CALIFORNIA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Yes, I would stay here again! Heres the thing, average rooms but right in the heart of Sedona. Next door to Tlackapaque (ok who can spell that?) And yes, the owner was simply put, a really cool guy. He suggested a few places to eat, and really helpful about everything in general. You can step outside your room and see beautiful views, and there is a patio at the end with breathtaking views. Room had a fridge and microwave. Good shower, average motel bed. Sedona is pricey so for $100 a night we were quite happy.

Room Tip: If i stayed there again I would ask if the end room was available. Closest to the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed 3 nights at the Sedona Motel in Sedona, Arizona. I selected the motel based on previous trip advisor recommendations and rankings - and we were not disappointed!
Don was managing the motel when we stayed in mid-October and I have the highest praise for him. He was friendly, really helpful regarding restaurants and he certainly made us feel very welcome. He loaned us a book on Sedona mountain biking trails and he was very accommodating regarding our mountain bikes.
We were fortunate to be accommodated in the end room (#33) which abutted the verandah. The verandah affords magnificent views of the red rock of Sedona and we enjoyed relaxing and soaking in the view. The room was relatively inexpensive, very clean and spacious, had a small fridge, TV and a good-sized, clean bathroom. The bed was excellent and the pillows were great and the ceiling fan added to our comfort. Ice was freely available at reception. As a previous reviewer mentioned, even though the motel is situated close to the 'Y' intersection of the highways, there was very little road noise inside the room - in fact we didn't notice it at all at night. Being situated near the 'Y' affords easy access to walking and mountain-biking trails and shops via car or bike, with some trailheads close enough to walk to.
If we ever return to Sedona, the Sedona Motel will be our first choice. I highly recommend it for great value and a friendly reception.

Room Tip: #33 - closest to the verandah
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Can't believe I failed to review this place before. We stayed here in April with our grandkids for 2 days before going to the Grand Canyon. We had the 2 room cottage to the rear of the property. It was perfect as everyone had some private space (we're talking teenagers, here} We walked to restaurants, Talapaque (sp) and a wonderful emporium of all things spiritual/zen where the girls had a psychic reading of their Aura. Very Sedona - ey.

My husband and I have stayed in the motel room and thoroughly enjoyed sunset on the patio with the lucious redrock views. Being on the highway was of no issue at all. The owner was most informative and friendly. Personally, I prefer to travel more rather than pay more and travel less. This place was perfect. We will be back.

Room Tip: cottage was great with grandkids. The end motel room is adjacent to the lovely patio. Good for just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAKESIDE
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We are so glad we kept things simple this trip and choosing the Sedona Motel was a great choice. Walking distance from many great things to see. They have a patio with plenty of seating and a great view, great shower with plenty of hot water & pressure, comfortable bed and a ceiling fan. The front desk staff was friendly and pointed out some features in the area that put a big smile on our faces. The price is right and if you don't require a lot of "stuff", you'll be comfortable here and save money to boot.

Room Tip: From room #23 you can see Snoopy Rock!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Perfect location - right in the center of town. Every room has a great view as well. Appreciated the motel owner's suggestions on what to visit during our short stay. Very clean, comfortable rooms. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sedona Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Motel

Address: 218 Highway 179, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sedona
#9 Family Hotel in Sedona
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sedona Motel is a small family owned and operated property located in the heart of Sedona. We are dedicated to providing each guest information on the remarkable natural beauty of the Sedona area. We are walking distance to restaurants and shopping areas and have great views of the red rocks from our covered patio. Each room has a microwave, refrigerator and coffeemaker. As members of the Green Hotels Association since 2005 we are helping to preserve the natural beauty of Sedona. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sedona Hotel Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sedona Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.