We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good decision” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Matterhorn Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Matterhorn Inn
Save
You added Matterhorn Inn to your Saves list
230 Apple Ave, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Specials
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
San Diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good decision”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

I agree with the positive Tripadvisor reviews for the Matterhorn. The location is excellent, with great views. Rooms are clean, beds comfortable, staff is good and rates are very reasonable. The beautiful Sedona area is quite commercial, though what popular tourist destination isn't and there is ongoing road and highway construction. During our 3 day stay we experienced meals that ranged from mediocre at the Javelina Cantina to absolutely delicious lemon ricotta pancakes at The Wild Flower. We plan to return and will certainly stay at the Matterhorn.

  • Liked — Value and location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    186
    35
    4
    3
See reviews for
78
223
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2008

I would have to agree what a great location, right on Main Street where all the action is till about 8, then whole town closes shop! We stayed two nights in a large, king size room, it was the last room on top floor by the church. This place is spotless and very comfortable. Yeah the bathroom is small but remodeled and CLEAN! Like the other review who cares you are there to enjoy the Red Rocks, which we did! We took the Pink Jeep tour, fanastic!!! Matterhorn had a 10% discount coupon. Will was our driver, he was a trip!!! Very knowledgeable and eager to share it all! We enjoyed the Matterhorn so much we booked another night on the way back from the Grand Canyon! We had another room upstairs that was even bigger with a flat screen and sky light! The beds, linens, towels are great! Great value!!!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bakersfield, california
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2008

My husband decided on a little trip to Sedona after researching on trip advisor. What a find! We loved the Matterhorn Inn. THe staff was welcoming. Our room was clean and comfy. The bed a gem and all the linens were freshly laundered. A plus for me. The pool was sparkling and warm. Everything is a short walking distance. Be forewarned, EVERYTHING closes EARLY!! Do your shopping and strolling before 7pm!!
We most definitely will be back very soon!
PS. Must try the jeep excursion through Farrabee's Rentals. Helpful staff and what a great way to experience Sedona. Can't wait to come back.

  • Liked — overall cleanliness inside and out
  • Disliked — quite thin walls.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Az
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2008

What can I say.......This hotel is right where you want to be....you are footsteps from all the great shops and food. The hotel staff is very friendly and go the extra mile to help you. we had our A/C go out and within 30 minutes it was fixed and are willing to help 24/7...The only issue with this hotel is the small bathrooms but your not here to hang out in there. I recommend requesting a top floor for optimal views...Pool here was very clean and kept and a temperature relative to the air temperature. We will definately be staying here again

  • Liked — Everything......not one thing stands out that I dont like
  • Disliked — really nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2008

This hotel's best feature is it's location - right where you need to be!! The front desk staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were spacious and very clean. The decor is pleasant, everything worked and was in good order - there was nothing to complain about. One of the fairest prices we could find in Sedona. Less than five minute walk to the Pink Jeep Office, less to the Cowboy Club :-) and shops galore!! I would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a well situated base.

  • Liked — Excellent location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2008

Just back from my first weekend in Sedona & stay @ the Matterhorn Inn. Planned the weekend on short notice & took a chance on the Matterhorn, primarily because of reviews on TripAdvisor.com!

We had a 2 double bed room on the 2nd floor-yes, the rooms are small & the bathroom, especially the tub/toilet room (VERY tiny!). However, the beds are very comfy (better than the higher priced hotel we stayed at in Phoenix last night!) complete w/fitted bottom sheets! Towels very thick & plentiful. Free wi-fi worked fine. Fridge, for free, was a very nice touch & the cable tv lineup was much more extensive than what is typically found in a hotel. Staff were very helpful & responsive-couldn't ask for better. Word to the wise-if you book thru their website, there is no option to ask for a AAA discount, but staff applied it upon arrival when we asked about it. All their rooms face onto the main street in Uptown Sedona, but don't let that worry you-the sidewalks roll up very early & even on a Saturday night, there was no problem w/street noise keeping us awake. I would definately stay there again.

One thing in Sedona I would pass on is breakfast @ the Coffee Pot Restaurant, home of '101 omelets'. Definately doesn't live up to its billing-hash browns weren't cooked, bacon was over cooked, & the 'omelet' was more like a pile of scrambled eggs. The Hitching Post Restaurant just down the street from the Matterhown is a much better choice.

The Matterhorn will provide a coupon for 10% off on a Pink Jeep Tour, which we used. FYI-the 'Scenic Rim' tour is simply a drive up Schnebly Hill Dr to Merry-Go-Round Rock.

All in all, a very nice weekend & I look forward to another stay @ the Matterhorn Inn.

  • Liked — Beds & cable tv line-up
  • Disliked — Small bathroom & tub/toilet area
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthernMN
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2008

This was our most expensive night on our week long vacation in Arizona. I expected Sedona to be on the higher side, but I guess I expected more out of the motel for $144. I'm not sure how much the Best Western was across the street, but if you can get a cheaper deal, go for it. This motel was no better than any Best Western/Days Inn. As for the view, yes, it's beautiful right outside your patio door, but it's right outside EVERY door in the city!!
The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. There's a typical coffee pot set up in the dressing area.
The bathroom/dressing area was cramped, especially the toilet/bathtub room. It was a tight squeeze to close the door.
We were picked up by the hot air balloon company at 6:45, and the lobby doesn't open until 8:00, so we left our key cards outside the door. When we returned for our car, all was well, but it seemed a little scary leaving them there. Overall, it was a decent motel, but shop around if you want more luxury for the price.

  • Liked — Proximity to touristy shopping
  • Disliked — No morning snacks
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Matterhorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matterhorn Inn

Address: 230 Apple Ave, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#23 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated in the center of Sedona's famous uptown district, the Matterhorn Inn offers breathtaking views of the towering red rock pinnacles right from your private patio or balcony. Experience the trip of a lifetime with spacious and cozy accommodations and gracious amenities, all with a picturesque landscape that offers an unparalleled backdrop to your getaway. A number of attractions and activities are merely minutes away, literally just steps away from shops, restaurants and art galleries. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Hotel Sedona
Matterhorn Motel Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matterhorn Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.