We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matterhorn Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Matterhorn Inn
Save Saved
You added Matterhorn Inn to your Saves list
230 Apple Ave, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Red Rock Views
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
Sumter, South Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

my wife,baby and i along with our dog stayed here for one night. the hotel was very clean for being a pet friendly hotel.the price was not bad, our view was amazing and the location was great right along the main road close to shops and great dining, they had a very friendly staff, we would stay here again if ever gotten the chance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Shane M,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you found your room accommodations to be adequate for your needs. Our staff works diligently to provide our guests with sparkling clean rooms, and gracious guest service. We offer a limited number of pet friendly rooms, and we take special care to keep them just as lovely as the rest. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    174
    33
    4
    3
See reviews for
76
207
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We were very unimpressed with our stay. When we had originally reserved our room, we had reserved one that was animal friendly and a king sized bed. We were told check in time was at 3:00. Upon arrival to the hotel, we were told they had overbooked the room and the only room available for us was one with two double sized beds. They also said the room wasn't ready and we couldn't check in till 3:40. When we asked if they could give us a better deal for not giving us what we originally reserved, they told us no and that all we could do is cancel our current reservation. Needless to say, we will not be staying here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Owner at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest; I can understand your frustration and disappointment in your stay with us. Likewise, we are disappointed in our service for you and your guest. As you might remember, our manager called your cell phone at 8:00 a.m. on the morning of your intended arrival to relate the unexpected room overbooking; that is, the guest from the prior night in the king pet room wanted to stayed over unexpectedly. At this early time, the manager gave you the option to cancel due to the bed size; thus, upon your arrival we wrongly assumed that the bed situation was adequate for you, your guest, and your pet. Also, as usual, we took the time to carefully clean and inspect the pet room; hence, you experienced a delay at check-in. We made a mistake, and we apologize for any inconvenience the bed size and delayed check-in might have caused. We do hope that your time in Sedona was otherwise enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowe, Vermont
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Just got back from a 4 night stay here. Everything others have said, very pleasant. Very clean, great local. Sat's very busy on strip but clears out at night. Quiet relaxing. So much to do, so close to everything. Very nice stay, enjoyed very much

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony for the great views, worth the bit extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear tam48,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us. It is wonderful that we were able to exceed your expectations with our superb location and friendly staff. We strive to provide our guests with clean, comfortable and welcoming accommodations to create a memorable stay. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The Matterhorn Inn can save you my friend, in this land of $300 plus a night rooms. Their location is in the heart of a retail area with restaurants and shops for convenient walk to everything if you like. Your car is next to you, and always ample parking when we were there. Every room has a million dollar view through wide sliding glass doors onto your private balcony. That same room is very large, clean, furniture is in great shape, and well-appointed with flat screen TV, reading lamps, upholstered/cushy chair, desk, refrigerator etc.

But, I was floored by the details, these guys have it down, and could teach Hilton and the W a thing or two. In fact I will mention them both. One, we all know that an average room is two people, some rooms even have multiple beds, but still even knowing this every hotel in America only has one luggage rack to fight over - well the Matterhorn has two, rocket scientist by comparison I tell you. Two, you know how every hotel in America likes to say they are worried about the environment so please don’t ask us to give you clean towels in the morning, but then put a 4 inch thick comforter on every bed forcing you to turn the air conditioning down to 60 degrees - well once again our guys placed a thin blanket and sheet on the bed, then another thin blanket and sheet on top of that, and let you decide on level of comfort. Don’t even get me started on windshield washing kit available at the lobby….

Room Tip: Single loaded corridor (backside outside walkway) so all rooms face the mountain view. All have balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear HelloJoeOne,

Wow! Thank you very much! It was our pleasure to provide you with such comfortable and practical accommodations along with top notch service. We truly keep our guests in mind with our room amenities and our seasonal bedding adjustments. We thank you again for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fogelsville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were tired and had no reservations so we turned into the 1st place we saw. This is a lovely, family owned Inn. Every room had a great view. The staff was very helpful. Everything was in walking distance. It is possible that places on the east side of the road have a better view but we loved the Matterhorn Inn.

Room Tip: Every room overlooks the main drag and has a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Buck S,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased that you were comfortable and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly do have excellent views! The Matterhorn Inn has been in Sedona for many years, so long that the shops that are across the street now did not exist! We had the complete canyon view in the early years until more development inhabited the east side of the street. We hope you will return in the future to enjoy our accommodations once more.

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This hotel is very cute and unique. The toilet/shower area is very small but clean. The living area is spacious with beautiful views from the large sliding glass door. We stayed at the end of Oct, it was chilly but the heater was too noisy to leave on. The comforter was very warm so we were comfortable all night. Bed & pillows were comfy. We were on the first floor and there was noise from the people upstairs. The location is great - just walk out the door and you can walk to restaurants and stores. It's pet friendly and the room rates are great. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear BarbandRay L,

Thank you for providing valuable feedback in your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us overall, with our central location and room views. We are sorry to hear the heating unit was noisy for you, but we are pleased that the bedding was adequate for warmth. Our limited pet friendly rooms are located on the first floor. We hope you will consider another stay with us.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildenhall, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

A rushed booking as the Grand Canyon was closed!!! Stunning views of Camel rock and Snoopy rock from the bedroom windows.Helpful staff. Nice pool and great hot pool. A very short walk from bars and restaurants. Sedona was wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Boarders1954,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our convenient location in Uptown, excellent views from your room, along with our hot tub and heated pool. We hope you will come and stay with us again in the future on your way to see the Grand Canyon.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Matterhorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matterhorn Inn

Address: 230 Apple Ave, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#23 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated in the center of Sedona's famous uptown district, the Matterhorn Inn offers breathtaking views of the towering red rock pinnacles right from your private patio or balcony. Experience the trip of a lifetime with spacious and cozy accommodations and gracious amenities, all with a picturesque landscape that offers an unparalleled backdrop to your getaway. A number of attractions and activities are merely minutes away, literally just steps away from shops, restaurants and art galleries. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Hotel Sedona
Matterhorn Motel Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matterhorn Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.