We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matterhorn Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Matterhorn Inn
Save Saved
You added Matterhorn Inn to your Saves list
230 Apple Ave, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Red Rock Views
Ranked #16 of 45 hotels in Sedona
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I was very impressed by our stay in Sedona at the Matterhorn inn....after a long drive from los Angeles through a monsoon on the 10 freeway, the drive into Sedona and checking in was all problem free. The rooms are clean and modern and the bed.....sooo comfy....I usually don't sleep well in hotel beds but this was exceptional....we stayed at two more hotels in AZ....the one hotel in monument valley didn't come close and it was twice the price....I will definitely stay at the matterhorn again when I come back to Sedona....JJ

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Janny91214,

Thank you very much for your review! It is wonderful that we were successful in exceeding your expectations. We are thrilled you enjoyed the comfortable bed and linens and that you were able to sleep well while you were here. Our guest service staff does everything they can to make your stay easy and convenient, especially after a long drive or flight. We hope to have you as return guests in the future.

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    220
    171
    32
    4
    3
See reviews for
73
204
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We arrived in Sedona after a long drive through AZ, We fell in love with the landscape and decided to stop for the night, we ended up staying two nights.
The Matterhorn Inn was well priced, Very comfortable, with large bed and a balcony that overlooked the rocky mountains.
Free WI Fi, large pool which we didn't swim in as we were to busy sight seeing :(

Room Tip: Choose top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Holmay,

Thank you for choosing the Matterhorn Inn and reviewing your stay! We love it when our guests start out with just a one night stay and decide to add additional nights. We are so glad you were able to venture out and see the beautiful sights rather than stay indoors. Thank you for your positive feedback and we would be delighted to welcome you back as guests the next time you visit.


Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The view from the rooms and the location can't be beat. Snoopy rock is right in front of the balcony. The front office manager was very helpful. She gave us excellent recommendations on where to hike and dine. The room was basic but very clean. However, the AC in our unit was loud. It woke me up whenever it came on.That and the big bed pillows were not conducive for a good sleep. If those two things are fixed I think the Matterhorn is a very comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: higher floor is better for view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear codep,

Thank you for the helpful feedback on your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you were unable to sleep well during your stay. We had recently placed new pillows in the rooms and they can be firm at first. We do have spare pillows available at the front desk which are not as firm. We are glad that you found our room views and location to be favorable. Our A/C units work hard to cool the room by blowing a lot of air, particularly on the high fan speed with a low temperature. We have found that using a low fan speed and changing to a higher temperature will have the unit turn on less frequently and be less noticeable. Thank you again for your feedback, we hope you will consider a return visit.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Park, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This past Labor Day weekend, we checked in at the Matterhorn Inn. After looking at several places online and not finding a single availability, the Matterhorn Inn was all that was available. Needless to say we were very impressed.

Becky was friendly and went out of her way to fit us 4 Adults and 3 children in a single bedroom and didn't charge us extra. The room itself was clean, a little bit small, but had a large porch with a spectacular view of the red rocks and uptown Sedona. The location is perfect for walking to virtually all the stores and restaurants.

The bathroom didn't have a working lock which is a bit of an annoyance with small children running about, but that's our only complaint.

After checking out, we asked Becky if we could leave our car in the parking lot while we had lunch and walked around town for a few more hours. She's was very accommodating and said "yes" with a smile on her face.

Highly Recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Daniel A,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that we had exceeded your expectations by providing you with excellent guest service with a smile. As with most busy holiday weekends in Sedona, lodging can become scarce in this stunning, yet sought after location. Our rooms are best suited for no more than 4 people in one room. Thus, we do not always have that many people in just one room, but we were happy to help you in a bind. We thank you for your kind recommendations to friends and family. We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Location great in main street of Sedona, with brilliant views of the red rocks from the upstairs room balcony. Becky and Barry perfect hosts with local advice and time for their guests. Very comfortable room with attention to detail. Very impressed! Tariff up for long weekend - understandable.

Room Tip: Upstairs for great balcony views. Leave curtains open for a great morning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Bruce and Jan M,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us. We are so pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations. It was our pleasure to accommodate you with outstanding guest service, recommendations and a clean comfortable room with a lovely view. We hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next trip to Sedona.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caesarea, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Matterhorn is easy to find and parking is never an issue... It is well situated on the main street with plenty of activity and restaurants in the vicinity... I didn't find the street noises a problem and was enchanted by the sounds from the group of xylophones that are free to play by the passing families and even recorded a couple of impromptu compositions... There is an excellent Japanese restaurant a few blocks north on the 2nd road behind the hotel...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear debstravel2013,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are very pleased that you found our accommodations to be comfortable and welcoming. It is nice to know that you were able to bring home a unique souvenir of street side music from other visitors, such as yourself. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope you will return soon.

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Matterhorn very much. It really is a great value in Sedona.

Situated in a very convenient location, surrounded by shops. We never had a problem with the parking. You get beautiful views of the red rocks. I also didn't find the noise from the street to be any bothersome, but I do always travel with earplugs anyway. The beds and pillows are comfortable. Most importantly, everything is immaculately clean. The receptionist was very pleasant and had mostly good suggestions for dining and others.

There were some things that can be improved on, and I will respectfully list them below:

- As I mentioned, most dining and entertainment suggestions were excellent. However, we were also advised to try Rincon mexican restaurant in Tlaquepaque. I was shocked that made the suggestions list. That restaurant is one of the worst i've even seen. Stay away. I wish Matterhorn took it off the list.

- The tub spout in our room was "fixed" with the silver duck tape... I think it's time to just replace that one.

- I also wish they got rid of the fake plant pot in the otherwise very lovely room. That thing is nothing but a dust collector.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear DC_traveler_gal,

Thank you for your valuable feedback; it is much appreciated as it helps us to improve for our future guests. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us overall. From our convenient location, to our courteous and helpful staff, we strive to present each of our guests with a very memorable experience. However, it certainly was not our intention to provide you with a very poor memory of your bathtub faucet. Please accept our sincerest apology for the first impression of your room. We had undergone routine tub refinishing, and regrettably there was an oversight after the completion of maintenance. It is unusual for something like this to go unnoticed, as we take great pride and care to insure our rooms are spotless and in working order. We truly hope this will not deter you from staying with us in the future. We thank you again for your comments, and hope that you will consider giving us another opportunity to provide you with an exceptional stay.

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Matterhorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matterhorn Inn

Address: 230 Apple Ave, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#22 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated in the center of Sedona's famous uptown district, the Matterhorn Inn offers breathtaking views of the towering red rock pinnacles right from your private patio or balcony. Experience the trip of a lifetime with spacious and cozy accommodations and gracious amenities, all with a picturesque landscape that offers an unparalleled backdrop to your getaway. A number of attractions and activities are merely minutes away, literally just steps away from shops, restaurants and art galleries. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Hotel Sedona
Matterhorn Motel Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matterhorn Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.