We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must stay here!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Matterhorn Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Matterhorn Inn
Save
You added Matterhorn Inn to your Saves list
230 Apple Ave, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“You must stay here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We loved this hotel, right in the middle of town. We stayed only one nite but we would definitely come back. We arrived late afternoon, just in time to enjoy a glass of wine on our private balcony and watch the mountains change colour with the setting sun. The rooms were very clean, spacious and well equipped. The bed was very comfortable and staff friendly. It was a perfect location to stroll the shops and restaurants. Lots of parking in the back too. We would encourage you to seriously consider this hotel if visiting Sedona!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear canuckcrazy,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are glad to know you had a lovely time enjoying a glass of wine on your private deck—and yes, the sunsets are quite beautiful here. It is great to hear that you found the room’s cleanliness and accommodations to be fitting to your needs. Our location in Uptown Sedona is perfect for guests to shop and dine without the need of a car. We do have ample parking available for guests, as parking can be hard to find in the Uptown area during the busy seasons. Thank you and we look forward to your return.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    196
    39
    4
    3
See reviews for
83
237
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carthage, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed for the second time at the Matterhorn. They were very helpful and we had wonderful stay. We enjoyed the pet friendly amenities and there was even a little treat bag for our dog. Our room had a spectacular view and was conveniently located to the the center of town. Thank you!

Room Tip: When staying at the Matterhorn we prefer to make our reservations by phone instead of online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear fiber9999,
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad you had such a lovely time during your Sedona visit. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the view from your room and our location in Uptown Sedona. We do our best to accommodate guests traveling with pets; we have select pet-friendly rooms and a great location for leisurely walks, and there is also a dog park just a short drive from our inn. We hope to see you in the future and again, thank you for your review.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Matterhorn Inn had a great price to offer considering I had no reservation and it was a Friday evening. The front desk lady was very accommodating and gave us a nice room with a great view. We are a family of 5 (with 2 kids) travelling in Sedona and it was a spur of the moment that we wanted to see Sedona. The hotel has a pool and a hot tub. Location is great and you will find tons of restaurants near and around the hotel. The hotel also offer restaurant discounts.

I highly recomment this hotel and will be back next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear lilitz91,
Thank you for writing a review of your stay. We are happy to have been able to accommodate you and your family for a last-minute stay in Sedona for the evening. We are glad you enjoyed the red rock landscape from your room—our views can’t be beat. We are always more than happy to offer tips and recommendations on places to dine, and we are glad to have been able to offer a good deal on some local eateries. Again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you again.
Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is an excellent hotel right in the centre of town. Yes it is quite old but this adds to its charm and character. The place is spotlessly clean and rooms are large and comfortable. Best of all you get a private balcony with amazing views of the red rock mountains. Wi fi is free, fast and reliable. There is ample car parking and a really nice swimming pool. Hotel suggested the Hideaway Restaurant nearby and supplied 20% discount card. This place is a hidden gem and we enjoyed excellent meals and service at a VERY reasonable price - far better than overpriced places on the high street. Would stay here again and highly recommend.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear florida999,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay. We agree that although our inn is one of the more historic lodging choices in Sedona, it adds to the charm and appeal of our family-owned and operated inn. And of course, we’ve kept up over the years with renovations and upgrades, with more to come in the future. Our staff and housekeeping will be happy to hear that you were so pleased with the cleanliness of your room—we all work to a high standard to accommodate our guests. We are glad you enjoyed the accommodations such as free Wi-Fi and free parking, and yes, we do have ample parking spots available for guests. We are glad you enjoyed the dinner recommendation for you and your guest. Again, we thank you for the recommendation and look forward to your next stay with us.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Great accommodations in a perfect location. Walking distance to shops and some restaurants. Clean rooms, easy parking, wonderful view of Sedona's red rocks from the room. Staff is friendly and helpful. Free Wi-Fi with pass word from desk was definitely high speed. Not a hotel with on site amenities like a Best Western or the like, but a more intimate, personal place. Standard room rates seem high for the hotels offerings, but with a mid week discount it was worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Glen P,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We agree that we try to offer a more intimate setting for guests, with great views and a stellar location. We do our best to offer amenities such as free Wi-Fi and mini-fridges in every room, as well as our solar-heated pool and whirlpool Jacuzzi. We always encourage guests to visit our website for seasonal specials, to guarantee you receive a great rate for your next stay with us. Again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you soon.
Well wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Easy walking distance to shops and food. King size beds very comfortable. Friendly staff very helpful in pointing out places of interest. Very clean, right down to the great smelling soaps. Great views of the RedRocks. Highly recommend.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Mordelite,
Thank you for your review. We are glad you found our beds to be comfortable for your stay. We are also glad you enjoyed your clean, comfortable room, and liked our toiletries—we get compliments on them quite a bit! As always, we hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to the Sedona area.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel is located in a great spot in Sedona. The rooms were relatively "low key" (average for a motel, but clean and nicely appointed). I will say we were in one room as a family of four, and we all much prefer a queen size bed to share, but the beds are double beds as stated on their site. That said, the beds were a bit small for us so the sleeping experience was not as comfortable as I'd have liked. The rooms had a nice balcony though and the A/C worked great. The pool was nice enough, and honestly, the room was really only where we were to sleep -- we were out almost all the time other than that. If you were looking for a romantic hotel to spend time in, I might suggest something else. Staff was very helpful -- in fact they were great. I'd stay here again, but maybe perhaps not with four people in one room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear DiSavitz,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad you found our location to be accommodating for you and your guests. Although we do not offer Queen size beds, we try our best to offer cozy accommodations in a wonderful location in Uptown Sedona. We also offer roll-away beds if needed. We are so glad to hear our staff was so helpful to you during your stay. We are happy to know you would stay with us again, and we hope to see you on your next Sedona visit.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Matterhorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matterhorn Inn

Address: 230 Apple Ave, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#24 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated in the center of Sedona's famous uptown district, the Matterhorn Inn offers breathtaking views of the towering red rock pinnacles right from your private patio or balcony. Experience the trip of a lifetime with spacious and cozy accommodations and gracious amenities, all with a picturesque landscape that offers an unparalleled backdrop to your getaway. A number of attractions and activities are merely minutes away, literally just steps away from shops, restaurants and art galleries. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Hotel Sedona
Matterhorn Motel Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matterhorn Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.