We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, comfortable and affordable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matterhorn Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Matterhorn Inn
230 Apple Ave, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Newly Renovated Rooms
Ranked #10 of 46 hotels in Sedona
De Pere, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quaint, comfortable and affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed here after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. Very accurate! Very nice place. Great location to explore Sedona on foot or by car. Maybe next time by bike? Comfortable room, wonderful views of the surrounding countryside out all of the windows and when you walk out the door. Helpful, friendly staff. I would recommend the Matterhorn to anyone who wants to stay in a great inn.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear CaptKurt795,
Thank you for your review. We are glad you found our inn to be a nice place with a great location. It is true that we offer wonderful views from the rooms and surrounding grounds. We are pleased to hear that you found our staff friendly, and we hope we gave you an enjoyable stay. Again, thank you for taking the time to review us. We anticipate your return!
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    213
    162
    30
    4
    2
See reviews for
69
197
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was our first stay at the Matterhorn Inn & we enjoyed it! We were only there for one night, so I can't speak to housekeeping, but the room was very nice when we arrived. We were upstairs and it was a nice view of the red rocks to the east. We slept with our balcony door open and did not hear any traffic noise. Overall the hotel was quiet and the remodel was done nicely. The mattress was a little stiff for us but not enough to not get a good night's sleep. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Rycroftmd,
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed the lovely view from your room. The town becomes quite peaceful by nightfall, so guests are not disturbed by noise if they decide to keep their patio door open—and the warmer months make the evening breeze just perfect. We have continually renovated our inn over the years, with more to come in the future. We find that many guests enjoy our bed type but we have taken your feedback into account. Again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you again.
Warm wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed here for just 1 night for a quick get away. The staff was very nice and very helpful. We got there a bit early so our room wasn't ready but no biggie because we were able to leave the car there and hit the shops. Everything was walking distance which is great since you can't find a parking spot in Sedona. The room was nice, cute and clean. We got a room on the first floor which provides you with a large patio overlooking the main drag. The view was awesome, too. The only negative I have is that the walls are very thin. I could hear the guy in the room next to us snoring and it kept me awake so I did not get a good night sleep. The next morning we could hear him in the bathroom. However, I would stay here again. It is a nice place at a great location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear aksharp1,
Thank you for your review. We are glad you found our staff to be helpful to you during your stay. We are also glad you were pleased with our location, since guests are able to walk to the shops until check-in. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your private deck and view of the red rocks. We are currently looking into options for sound-proofing capabilities, as we want our guests’ experiences to be as comfortable and relaxing as possible. We are happy to know that you would return, and we hope to see you again.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mills, IA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I wanted rooms for one night in Sedona. I would not normally post a review but I booked the Matterhorn Inn based on reviews and they truly deserve the payback. It was perfect. Absolutely Amazing view and the location could not be better. Shop a little, rest on the balcony, shop some more, walk to eat - we never moved the car! The room did not include a microwave, so my husband took his popcorn to the office. They offered to bring a microwave immediately - but since we only wanted 1 bag of popcorn, he asked them to pop it for him and they did!! Very clean, beautiful view, perfect location, and very friendly staff. We cannot say enough good things! We will be back soon!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms provide the most amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Sandra G,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your breathtaking view and our prime location in Uptown Sedona. It is true that guests who stay with us do not need to move their car—there are shops, eateries and galleries all within walking distance from our location. We were more than happy to oblige for your popcorn snack—guests may request a microwave for their room—and of course, we will also assist guests with requests such as yours. We are glad you found our staff to be friendly and we hope they made your trip a great one. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange county, Ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

It was an impromptu trip. We arrived in Sedona and wanted a room for one night. We wanted to stay in town and decided to check the hotel out because it was right in the heart of everything. Got a king room on the lower floor with a patio. Did not expect much view until we stood out in the patio. what a wonderful view of the red rocks!!! like the lower floor better since you have a patio and can walk out and see the shops.
The room is nice and clean with free WiFi. The staff is very helpful , and you can park tight out your door.

Room Tip: I like lower floor. You have a patio n more room to spread
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear tlq_11,
Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a wonderful stay during your last-minute trip to Sedona. The views are breathtaking from every room, and we are glad you enjoyed yours. Most of our ground floor rooms have patio access to the rooftop of the shops below. It is a great way for guests to admire the town and red rocks at a closer vantage point than in their rooms. We are glad you were satisfied with amenities such as our free Wi-Fi and free parking. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your return.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I was looking for a hotel for 1 night in Sedona, read about this place on TripAdvisor and decided to take a chance. SO glad I did. This place is a gem. Cleaner than any hotel I have stayed recently. Amazing view from the balcony, walking distance to all the shops and restaurants, ideal location. It's an older place that has been renovated and is just a quaint easy going spot. Compared to the other prices around, it was a deal. Teri at the front desk was very helpful. Stay at the Matterhorn!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms all have balconies that view the red rocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear 5o’clockYet?,
Thank you for writing a review of your stay. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your clean room, as well as the view from your private deck. We like to think of ourselves as a quaint lodging choice with a great location as well. We have continually renovated our inn over the years, and there is more to come in the future. We are delighted to know that our front desk staff was helpful to you during your stay. We hope to see you again for another relaxing stay.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

TheMatterhorn Inn is all about the location. It simply could not be better. Get a second story room and you can sit out on your balcony and watch the world go by. When you get hungry or you feel like shopping its all there a few steps from your room. The only cons I would mention are small niggling ones. There was just a hint of nastiness in our room. We had our balcony door open anyway so no problem unless you are hyper sensitive to smells. The other quibble is a smallish bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Rick M,
Thank you for your review. We are glad you liked our location in Uptown Sedona’s dining and shopping district. We agree that it cannot be beat! We hope you enjoyed the view from your private deck. A great view is a guarantee from all of our rooms. Our bathrooms may not be the largest, but they provide guests with everything they need, including a vanity area separate from the bathroom. It is unfortunate to hear about the aroma in your room. We encourage guests to contact the front desk during their stay so we can remediate concerns such as this. We hope you may return again so we can offer you a great night’s stay in a comfortable room. Again, thank you for writing a review and we appreciate your feedback.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Matterhorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matterhorn Inn

Also Known As:
Matterhorn Hotel
Matterhorn Hotel Sedona
Matterhorn Motel Sedona
Address: 230 Apple Ave, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Sedona
#15 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated in the center of Sedona's famous uptown district, the Matterhorn Inn offers breathtaking views of the towering red rock pinnacles right from your private patio or balcony. Experience the trip of a lifetime with spacious and cozy accommodations and gracious amenities, all with a picturesque landscape that offers an unparalleled backdrop to your getaway. A number of attractions and activities are merely minutes away, literally just steps away from shops, restaurants and art galleries. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matterhorn Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Matterhorn Inn to your Saves list