We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, great staff, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Matterhorn Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Matterhorn Inn
230 Apple Ave, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sweet Summer Specials
Ranked #15 of 46 hotels in Sedona
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great views, great staff, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Young lady at the front was extremely helpful and friendly, providing us suggestions on places to walk and watch the sunset from. It's an older building, but room size with a king sized bed was great. Only cons is the thin walls - you can hear people and television between walls and ceiling. But everyone quieted down by 9:30 so was no issue. Would stay again!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear writeTrev,
Thank you for your review! We are glad our friendly staff was helpful and able to give you great suggestions on places to go while visiting. As we are a more historic inn, we are aware of the importance of updates and renovations to keep our guests satisfied during their stay. We are currently looking into sound-proofing options and other room enhancements. We appreciate your constructive feedback and hope to see you again.
Well wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    220
    169
    32
    4
    3
See reviews for
72
203
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Friendswood, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed one night on our way back from Grand Canyon. This hotel is right on the strip with the shops and restaurants. Moderately priced and clean. The view is remarkable. We stayed on the first floor, but I think next time we will stay on the 2nd. When you check in they give you a discount card to use at the restaurants and shops. From this hotel you can walk to all the shops. Everyone is so friendly.

Room Tip: Stay on the last room on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear theBambi,
Thank you for your review! We are glad you stayed with us after your trip to the Grand Canyon. Our location is perfect for guests who want to dine and shop in the heart of Uptown Sedona. We are glad you found your room to be clean—we take pride in keeping our inn well-maintained. We are always more than happy to offer guests recommendations on dining and traveling excursions, some of which we offer discounts when available. We appreciate your valuable feedback and hope to see you again on a future Sedona visit.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The view is absolutely wonderful. We had a second floor room and it offered a view of uptown shops and galleries with the creek and red rocks beyond. The rooms are comfortable, neat, and well-kept. Bed was a little firmer than I like, but that might be my personal preference rather than an actual fault. We were perfectly content to spend out evening on our room's balcony. We will definitely be coming back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second story. We came in November and the weather was perfect, and I believe t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear SomeCupcakes,
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We agree that the views from our rooms are wonderful! We always make sure our guests enjoy a comfortable, clean room whenever they stay with us. We have found over the years that the firmness of our beds is quite appeasing to our guests, and our biggest wish is to make all our guests feel as comfortable as possible. We hope to see you on a return visit so you can enjoy another evening out on your private deck. Thank you for your review!
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We spent only one night in this very nice, comfortable motel in the heart of Sedona. And as others have said, it's not fancy and may be a just a bit on the shabby side, but not really.... We had a week at the time share at the Hyatt starting the next day and only needed one night here. It was so nice and comfortable I would not hesitate to come here again. The room was quite large and our two double beds were very comfortable. The balcony was huge and I wish I'd had more time to enjoy watching the people out on the street.
There was also a small mini-fridge available that I didn't know about from reviews or the website that was very nice to have. The hotel employees were extremely helpful with suggestions for walking, food, and activities. Excellent, low-cost motel in prime location!!

Room Tip: We were on the end with a huge balcony overlooking Sedona uptown. Very quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear carol55Mobile_AL,
Thank you for your review! We are happy you had an enjoyable stay and that your room was comfortable. We are glad you found the room size to be large and accommodating. All of our rooms have wonderful red rock views, and we are glad when guests take full advantage of their private deck. It is wonderful to hear that the mini-fridge in your room was a pleasant surprise for you. Our front desk staff is always more than happy to give recommendations on eateries, shopping and activities. We are glad our service surpassed your expectations. We encourage you to check our website periodically for packages and specials to guarantee you a great room rate. We appreciate your positive feedback and hope to see you again!
Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Nice, clean, little motel in great location. Room was very comfortable and clean with a good bed. Beautiful view from room with a deck. Lots of shops and eateries close by. The Shops at Pinion Pines, Hyatt timeshare property, is only a few blocks away with a Starbucks and a Wildflower restaurant which was perfect for breakfast and coffee. We enjoyed our stay.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear lesiel,
Thank you for your review! We are glad you had an enjoyable stay in your clean, comfortable room. We are also glad you enjoyed the view of the beautiful red rocks from your room. We are within close range of plenty of eateries and shopping plazas, such as the Piñon Pointe Shoppes which include eateries for breakfast and coffee. We anticipate your return visit to the Matterhorn Inn!
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St George
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Hotel is right in the middle of uptown Sedona and a great locations for shopping and eating out. The views are great from the second floor with your own balcony to sit and watch the sunset on the red rocks. Lovely big bright rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Sue J,
Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are pleased you found our big, bright rooms to be accommodating and that you enjoyed the view from your private deck. Our inn is just steps away from the dining and shopping district for Sedona’s visitors. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Well wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, NY
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Make no mistake about it. The Matterhorn is a motel...no lobby just rooms with outside entrance and a balcony that fronts 89A with red rock views past that. I had envisioned sipping wine on my private quiet balcony watching sunsets/ red rocks, not really practical with Main Street right there.. The room was a tad bit small the bathroom small as well.. We paid $135 nite which for the area was a good price....One small note...out of 4 hotel stays this was the only one with a tip envelope for housekeeping ( we always leave $3 to $5 daily)

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear JoyceinNY,
Thank you for your review! We are glad you were able to sip wine and enjoy the view from your private deck—we can always guarantee a great view from every room. We like to think that our rooms are the perfect size for our guests to relax and enjoy themselves while they are staying in Sedona. We have worked hard over the years to renovate and upgrade our rooms with décor and amenities, including free Wi-Fi and mini-fridges in all of our rooms. We hope to give all of our guests a great value with our amazing red rock views and stellar location, right in the heart of Uptown Sedona’s dining and shopping district. We hope to see you again for another pleasant stay!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Matterhorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matterhorn Inn

Address: 230 Apple Ave, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#15 Business Hotel in Sedona
#22 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated in the center of Sedona's famous uptown district, the Matterhorn Inn offers breathtaking views of the towering red rock pinnacles right from your private patio or balcony. Experience the trip of a lifetime with spacious and cozy accommodations and gracious amenities, all with a picturesque landscape that offers an unparalleled backdrop to your getaway. A number of attractions and activities are merely minutes away, literally just steps away from shops, restaurants and art galleries. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Hotel Sedona
Matterhorn Motel Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matterhorn Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Matterhorn Inn to your Saves list