We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a hike” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doe Mountain Trail

Doe Mountain Trail
Boynton Pass Road, Sedona, AZ
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 153 Activities in Sedona
Type: Hiking Trails, Sports
Attraction details
Aurora, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“It's a hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is not a long hike but a treacherous one. Not hard just have to be careful. The views are so wonderful. Great place on top to stop and just relax and get some peace.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    63
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent, recommended by local people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

A local forest guide recommended Doe mountain as one of his favorites.he said that as long as you are reasonably healthy, it would be a good hike, not necessarily easy but doable. The trails are switchbacks and the higher I got, the more scared I got. I admit that I'm not good with heights, but thought I could do this. I quit about 3/4 of the way up..honestly I was very scared. Another lady ahead of us also quit and turned around. But many people passed me and seemed to have no problem. So I would suggest this one as long as you have no height issues. If you do, avoid it as I doubt you will make it.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Amazing view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The hike didn't take very long to the top, but it was a pretty straight up hike mostly in the shade. The views from the top are worth it, absolutely amazing!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We hiked with 2 10 year olds and 1 13 year old and the enjoyed every minute of it. Not that hard of a climb.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Somewhat boring - but quick and easy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My husband and I hiked Doe mountain early one morning. I felt that the hike was boring and the trail wasn't all that well marked.

However, if you're looking for a quick, easy, relaxing hike with beautiful views, Doe Mountain would be a good option. People of all ages and abilities can do this hike-- we saw children as well as older folks.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doe Mountain Trail also viewed

 

Been to Doe Mountain Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doe Mountain Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.