We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite of our 4 day stay in Sedona!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doe Mountain Trail

Doe Mountain Trail
Boynton Pass Road, Sedona, AZ
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 119 things to do in Sedona
Attraction details
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“My favorite of our 4 day stay in Sedona!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We did all the "big and best" things in Sedona, and this is one of my favorites of the entire trip! Devil's Bridge was only a few minutes from here and was my other number one favorite!

It wasn't an incredibly strenous hike at all, although the elevation can get to you. It's a 500ft elevation change throughout the .5mi hike (one way). We took our sweet time taking photos, water breaks, and especially exploring the on top once we reached it, and it took us 1.5hours round trip. It could take someone as little as an hour if you're willing to hike at a quicker than average pace. I'm 23 and 14 weeks pregnant, and my mom is 60. We passed a couple that decided to turn around when they were so close to the top...DON'T GIVE UP! The view from the top is so much more than one could ever see from on the trail, so if you're going to hike this, you must go to the very top, IMO.

We bought a parking pass for $5 at the little kiosk there in the parking lot. It was 100% well worth it!! We went at 10am on a Wednesday morning and there were hardly any people on the trail. And although there were some shaded areas on the trail, we wore lots of sunscreen because the top is NOT shaded. One rockier spot toward the very top, but I can say overall it was an easy-moderate hike for us.

A MUST IN SEDONA!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    70
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Simple, but not easy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We did this hike same day, but after, the strenuous Bear Mtn. Doe was fairly simple, but still a hike. We saw people, who were clearly non-hikers, in tennis shoes, struggling a bit. It's do-able for all levels, but suggest hiking shoes.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Favorite trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My wife and I enjoy hiking, but many of the trails around Sedona involve some steep areas requiring a degree of climbing. This trail was a very manageable uphill hike with a just a few rocks to climb at the end to reach the top. There are great views in all directions as you walk around the plateau.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Must Hike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Not too difficult, not too long, but what an incredible view! Once you get to the top it's flat so you can walk around to get 360 degree views. Don't miss this one!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlevoix MI
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“One of my favorite short hikes in Sedona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This 1.1 mile hike on a switchback trail is steep but ends up on top of a mesa where one has expansive and beautiful view in 2 different directions. Once on top, be sure to follow the stacked cairns to the other side. We were there just before sunset and the lighting on the red rock hills in the distance was incredible. It took us about an hour to get to the top (we are in our 60's and took our time) and then spent about an hour on top enjoying the views.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doe Mountain Trail also viewed

 

Been to Doe Mountain Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doe Mountain Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.