We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Right for Us, but not for everybody ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sedona Summit Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sedona Summit Resort to your Saves list
Sedona Summit Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4055 Navoti Drive, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Just Right for Us, but not for everybody ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

2 adults and 2 kids. We were looking for space as opposed to hotel amenities such as room service etc. the trade-off was ideal for us. we had a one bedroom plus a studio that was attached. the layout was perfect for us with an 11 and an 8 yr old. the adults enjoyed their privacy and the kids enjoyed having space to themselves, although they were no further away than a bedroom door. it is important to understand what this property is, and what it is not. it is like renting a condo as opposed to getting a room at a hotel resort. the property has three sections: original, intermediate and newer. Expedia apparently only books in the original portion of the property. that's where we were, and we were originally a bit disappointed that we were not in a newer section of the property, where apparently the units are a bit more updated and there is a better chance of getting a view.as it turned out, the type of unit did not matter very much. The unit we had which they call a two bedroom lock off, was perfectly fine. it did not have bells and whistles, but it also did not fill out dated or dingy. To the contrary everything was immaculate when we arrived, and the beds were comfortable, the linens soft, and the towels plentiful. there is no daily maid service. That's part of the trade-off between a condo unit vs a hotel. the pools, and there are 4, were clean and heated during our late March visit. request an upper floor room to avoid noise from people above. timeshare sales pitch efforts are intense, but if you are firm and you simply do not engage the sales staff (concierge), then it is not an issue. Again, condo versus hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    406
    118
    56
    35
See reviews for
291
495
20
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This resort was very nice! The location is great as it is close to uptown Sedona,hiking and many fine restaurants. The resort was clean,the staff was attentive and the pools were good. The best part would be the views! Absolutely the best location for views since we started going there. (This being the 3rd time) This resort is part of Diamond Resorts of which has time share type concept. Should you go there on one of their "promotional specials" beware of the commitment you make for 1 1/2 hour presentation you are obligated to attend. The presentation is longer than what they advertise and it's hard core sales! What they offer and what they promise often times are NOT exactly true. Be cautious and be well informed before you sign on the dotted line!!

Room Tip: Second or Third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This property is a time share property from Diamond Resorts. We booked a standard 1 bedroom thru hotels.com. Upon arriving we asked if we could get a unit by our children & they said they were limited to the rooms available to us because we didn't book directly thru them. We went thru an outside company because they were able to give us a room with a king bed. We ended up in a handicap equipped room that really needed some updating & was located in a lousy spot on the property, 142m. The top rack on the dishwasher was frozen closed (so how were the dishes being cleaned), one of the lamps on the nightstand could only be turned off at the light switch, the bed was worn out & the pillows were lumpy.  The first thing we discovered was a filthy toilet! So filthy I had to call house keeping to clean it before either of us would use it. They forgot to leave dish soap & dish washing pods, of course at the time we didn't realize the dishwasher was useless. Our daughter's 2 bedroom was the absolute opposite of ours. It was modern, clean & had a great view. Makes us wonder if the rooms they sell off to other companies are not as nice as the ones they keep for direct reservations. Or is the room we had an example of what the majority of the rooms look like. Either way we will never stay at another Diamond Resort!

Room Tip: Reserve directly thru the property & ask for a room with a view & one that has been remodele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Sedona Summit Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
We regret hearing of the accommodations in which you received. Receiving a room which has not been properly cleaned, inventoried and checked for maintenance problems is certainly not common. We always encourage our guests to notify the Front Desk or Housekeeping when there are any problems with the room they receive, and appreciate that you contacted Housekeeping so they could take corrective action. The Sedona Summit has also been undergoing several property improvements which do take some time to completed. These do include the replacement of some furnishings. We apologize that your room did not meet your expectations, but are confident that if you choose to stay with us again you will be very pleased with the accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bend, oregon
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

First the good. Clean, quiet, plenty of parking. The not so good. Uncomfortable chairs and a couch, small, uncomfortable bed. The bad, a jacuzzi tub which turned itself on every day around 4:00 for no apparent reason. Incredibly unreliable internet service. In this day and age, that's unacceptable. All in all average. We were lucky enough to avoid the time share sales pitch, otherwise I would give it a poor.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

we had a one bedroom suite. Plenty of room for us and very clean. We had a second floor unit that overlooked pool area but kitchen window had a great view. We used pool which was very clean and had comfy chairs. Location was the best! Close enough to town but far enough away from all of the commotion. Had plenty of activities for families too.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Sedona Summit Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are so glad to hear you had the opportunity to lounge in comfort by the pool, while enjoying the mountain scenery. Sedona Summit Resort has a prime location with accessibility to nearby activities and services, making vacation time hassle-free. Thank you again and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Lakes, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

The ammenities at this resort were top notch, and it is located just minutes from downtown. The sunset from the infinity whirlpool is certainly worth the view! The rooms were clean, the staff was pleasant and helpful. There is a community college right down the road with a neat little parking lot with pleanty of trails to explore. They have gas grills for use on premise, and you can borrow grilling tools from the concierge. My only complaint with this property was that during checkout there was a $90 fee for "services" which was not explained, and I felt like we were shafted, since we were not informed about these fees during check-in. I would stay again, and recommend, just make sure that ALL fees are discussed prior to check-in.

Room Tip: Our romos were poolside, which was nice. The grill station was across the parking lot, but not too f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Sedona Summit Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed all that our Sedona Summit Resort has to offer. From our convenient location and abundant amenities, to our enthusiastic team members, our resort is diligently working to provide guests with the experience that they have come to expect and deserve.
This being said, we apologize if our front desk team failed to explain our resort fee and that time of check-in. We certainly do not want our guests left feeling that we may have omitted any information. For further clarification, this resort fee allows guests Wi-fi usage and access to all resort amenities including fitness, outdoor grille areas, and recreation areas. Thank you for your feedback as we have made the front desk manager aware of your concerns for review and coaching purposes.
We look forward to welcoming you back for a relaxing getaway and hope this helps to clear any confusion you may have had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

This was our 3rd stay at the Summit. We've stayed at quite a few other Diamond Resorts but this one is by far our favorite! This trip we stayed in the Sunset Suite. It was smaller than the room we had last time but very cozy with faux fire place and jacuzzi tub (which was a bonus).
The staff was pleasant and the concierge Anna was oh so helpful! I would recommend anyone who wants a great view and close to town spot to stay here!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Sedona Summit Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
It is always wonderful to receive feedback from our guests that continue to visit us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our accommodations and amenities at Sedona Summit Resort. Our resort is located steps away from the Grand Canyon, offering breathtaking mountain scenery. Our team members work around the clock to make our guests’ stay memorable. We thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sedona Summit Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Summit Resort

Address: 4055 Navoti Drive, Sedona, AZ 86336
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#20 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sedona Summit Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sedona Summit Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sedona Summit Hotel Sedona
Summit Sedona
Sunterra Resort Sedona Summit
Summit Resort Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sedona Summit Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.