We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sedona Summit...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sedona Summit Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sedona Summit Resort to your Saves list
Sedona Summit Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4055 Navoti Drive, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
NC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Sedona Summit...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had a 2 BR lock-off and in spite of writing AND calling the resort a week or so prior to our visit we did not get the newest units...so disappointing. We were there for check-in by 1:00 but it was not early enough to get our wishes. BUT, Luis, at the front desk ,did his best to get us a unit that was comfortable and satisfactory. It was in Building 1...granite counter tops in the kitchen with flat screen TVs. All else needed up-dating but all was in working order and clean. Our view on the lower level had a partial red rock view. We were close to the front desk and overlooked a pool which was hardly ever occupied. Everything you need was supplied and the front desk was friendly and helpful. No hassling about a timeshare presentation after our initial NO!
Would we stay here again? For sure! The area is spectacular with restaurants and shopping options just a short drive from the resort. The Summit was very quiet and away from any crowds and noise. The Grand Canyon is about 2 hours away. We did the Pink Jeep tour ($125 for 3 hours from 4 to 7PM) and it was great.
No restaurant on site but there are some good ones down the road...
Out of supplies???????. Just give the front desk a call and it will be delivered.

Room Tip: Upper level...newer units...ASK and check in early, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Sedona Summit Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing your kind comments, we are very pleased to read that you were satisfied with the standard of accommodation and the level of comfort and care we offer. We are, however; disappointed to hear that we could not meet your request for a newly remolded unit. While we do accept requests to be assigned a refurbished or “updated” unit, we cannot guarantee that they will be fulfilled at check in due to availability being limited with both existing members owning there and the number of members who want to stay in them. We are pleased that this appears not to have marred your stay. We’re looking forward to offering you a great quality stay again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    422
    123
    58
    36
See reviews for
301
518
20
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
La Verne, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed here the week of the Sept. monsoons! Beautiful view from the balcony (after the rain).Very clean condo and everything we needed was there. Well situated-----we had a great time. We found an "endless spa" on the property--very private with a great view!

Room Tip: We found the top floor to be quieter and much better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Sedona Summit Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
We are happy to read that your stay here at Sedona Summit Resort was a relaxing and enjoyable one - thank you for your great feedback. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

A great condo complex in Red Rock country with everything you ll need for a great vacation. All units have full kitchens, firepaces, washer and dryers...some have balconies with views...be sure you ask for one with a view as there are only about 60 out of some 400 units. There are 3 sections....standard, Mesa, and Sunset..so be sure to be specific when you rent.There are lots of pools...some family, some just adult. Grills are also available for guest s use..Conceigre service available and very helpful, but do yourself a favor and opt out of the time share meetings....long, boring, and in my opinion too expensive.

Room Tip: If you want a red rock view be sure to ask for one and book in Mesa or Sunset sections of complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Sedona Summit Resort, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
We are happy to read that your stay here at Sedona Summit Resort was a relaxing and enjoyable one - thank you for your great feedback. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The Summit was a great place to stay for our week-long get-away. Clean, spacious and quiet. in-room washer and dryer. Hide-a-bed was comfy. The heating/cooling system wasn't noisy like some hotels and worked well. The pool and hot tub were close by and clean. Parking was right outside the door. The view of the mountains from the room was spectacular. The only issue we had was that when housekeeping came mid-week, they changed the sheets but left no top sheet. Kind of a strange thing to leave out. Keep in mind that Sedona is a "dark" city, meaning the lighting at night is minimal at best. Kind of dangerous in places, like the stairs and walkways.
Part of Diamond Resorts/timeshare, so you could be in for a "speel".

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Sedona Summit Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write such a thorough review of your stay and are very pleased to read that you had a pleasant experience here. We would like to sincerely apologize for any housekeeping shortcomings you appear to have encountered during your stay. This omission will be addressed with our housekeeping staff to improve upon our consistency in these areas. You are correct! At Sedona Summit, we are a Dark-Sky Community resort, and as such, we know just how important it is to have well lit areas around our property for safety and recreation. To demonstrate support of the community, we work with manufacturers, planners, legislators, and citizens to provide energy-efficient options that direct the light where you want it to go, not uselessly up into the sky.
We assure you our resort uses the maxim luminosity allowed for outdoor lights under the city’s stringent lighting ordinance from the International Dark-Sky Association (IDA) and that your safety, while here, is our top priority. As a vacation ownership property, solicitation of a sales presentation is part of the check in process. Unless you are staying on a promotional trip guests are required to attend. We hope to see you again the next time that you are in the Sedona area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The view from the resort is really nice and the rooms are also nice and clean. But when we checked-in, I found that the toilet seat was dirty. We had to wait for the maintenance staff to a arrive in the morning, as there was no other vacancy.

I did not like the fact that there were no restaurants at the property. At least a breakfast place would have been nice and convenient.
Also being in Sedona you want access to spa and massage services, but there is no facility for that in the resort.

The resort is useful only for the stay but for any other facilities you have to look outside.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Sedona Summit Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
We are sorry to read that you found that our resort lacks some of the facilities, we apologise for any dissatisfaction this may have caused you. We do however hope that you may decide to pay us another visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I visited her in August in a one bedroom mesa suite. We stayed in building 24 which had a wonderful view of the Sedona Mountains. A building that I requested prior to my arrival. Initially they put me in building 23 which I had a terrible balcony view of the back of some other building. I went to the front desk and complained about the awful view and they sent me over to building 24. Which I adored. I really enjoyed my stay here. I loved the fireplace, it was an nice touch and brunt a little romance into the room.The service was nice and when we told the front desk that it was our anniversary they give us a gift bag. They have a movie screen at the main pool which is a nice touch if you want take a dive and watch a movie. There is access to a computer and internet service in the main lobby which I used to print out my boarding passes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed in a 2 bedroom unit for 7 nights through our timeshare. Check-in was quick and easy. We arrived at 3pm on a Saturday and was immediately given what I had requested earlier over the phone - a quiet, upstairs unit. We weren't harassed by the Concierge as some other reviewers mentioned. We requested the VIP card that gave us discounts at the local grocery store, Bashes, and to restaurants and attractions The unit was remodeled so it was very nice. Unfortunately, the units are very dark due to the architectural design. I'm assuming to keep the heat out. The furniture in the living area was extremely uncomfortable. We have yet to find comfortable seating in any timeshare that we've visited. Fortunately the bed was comfortable as well as the patio chairs. We had stunning views from both patios since we had a 2 bedroom unit. On the downside, we weren't able to get hot water in either bathroom or kitchen. It was only lukewarm. After three phone calls to the front desk and finally a visit from my husband on our second day did we get a maintenance person. We were told that the hot water unit was in another bldg so it would be awhile before we could get water hot enough for a shower or bath. So, we skipped our shower again since we had an appointment in Flagstaff. Upon our return, we were finally able to bathe!
We were there after monsoon season but during a horrific several days of torrential downpour. Upon waking up on our third day, we were greeted by water dripping from a hole the size of a half dollar in the ceiling of our bedroom. We requested a move since the bed in the second room was only a Queen. We are tall and need a King bed to sleep comfortably. We were able to were move to another upstairs 2 bedroom unit. We weren't assisted in anyway. We had to pack and move our things to bldg 27 in heavy rain. Fortunately, we were able to walk down 2 flights of stairs and back up another set of two flights of stairs. We are very glad that we didn't get a first floor unit. Many of them looked like they had no view but of a dirt hillside or a public walkway. I was able to capture some gorgeous pictures of hot air balloons in front of the red rock formations around 6-6:15 am on a clear morning. I suggest you go to the parking lot next to bldg 27 for some great hot air photos if you're a morning person.
We don't feel the customer service is what it should be. The employees didn't go out of their way for us. If you want information from the Concierge that is not on their list of preferred vendors, you won't get any. I couldn't find a phone book in either room so had to call the front desk for a few local numbers. They sounded put out for the request. We refused to pay for spotty wifi service so I needed a phone book. The cell service is terrible in the rooms. We had to go out on the patio or parking lot for a decent cell connection.
The gym is very small and has no stationary bikes.
We think its odd that there is no beverage or food service on site. It would have have been more convenient if they had a small restaurant/bar on site. The Sedona Summit is at the edge of town on the West side so a car is necessary.
I scheduled to take a class on how to paint a silk scarf. Since it was raining and there was nothing else to do, I figured why not. I pre-registered along with two other women. When we showed up, the employees in the Activity Center were surprised to see us. They weren't prepared for us so we had to wait until they set up the supplies. The prices of the scarves to be painted varied from $20.-$35. We weren't explained the price differences until we were done painting a scarf. Upon completion we requested if we could be driven back to our units by an employee in a cart since the rain had increased tremendously and thunder and lightening had started. We were told its against policy to have guests ride in the employee golf carts. After many requests, they relented but no one ever arrived to pick us!
Be prepared to hear the constant backup beeping sound from the many employee golf carts on the property. We slept with earplugs so we could get sleep in if we chose to sleep in.
We would not return to the Sedona Summit. It's too large a complex, customer service wasn't a priority and the distance from restaurants and shopping is too far. We doubt if we will ever return to Sedona period. We're glad we visited but don't have a need to return.

Room Tip: Go to the parking lot near bldg 27 on a clear, calm day to get photos of the hot air balloons ascend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Sedona Summit Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
We regret to read that it appears that some of your negative experience cast a shadow over your stay and we are sorry that you did not have a fully enjoyable visit. We pride ourselves on excellent customer service and we assure you that our team is always ready to provide our quests with everything they require, however sometimes we are simply not able to do so due to the health and safety regulations. We are sorry if the service you received was not as you may have expected and we apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We assure you that these aspects of the team performance will be addressed. We hope that you may decide to give Sedona another chance in the future and wish you all the best on your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sedona Summit Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Summit Resort

Address: 4055 Navoti Drive, Sedona, AZ 86336
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#20 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sedona Summit Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sedona Summit Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sedona Summit Hotel Sedona
Summit Sedona
Sunterra Resort Sedona Summit
Summit Resort Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sedona Summit Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.