We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like an... Upscale "Extended Stay"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sedona Summit Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sedona Summit Resort to your Saves list
Sedona Summit Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4055 Navoti Drive, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Like an... Upscale "Extended Stay"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We purchased a Groupon for our stay in Sedona since I received a gift certificate that hadn't been used in a nearly a year. Sedona Summit was conveniently offered on Groupon at the exact time that we planned to stay in Arizona.

First off, to all staying at Sedona Summit without any desire for a timeshare pitch: Skip the "welcome gift" and avoid the concierge desk. We checked in, did a bee-line to the door and avoided asking about our suspicious welcome gift... we never had a problem with getting a sales pitch. We were curious what it was, but thanks to previous reviews on Tripadvisor, we knew better than to ask. Thanks, guys!

The one-bedroom suite was well furnished, though there were a few worn pieces. There is a nice sized refrigerator, a flat top stove for two pots, furnished dishes/silverware, etc. This was well appreciated. Unfortunately, there was no bathtub in our suite. Also, there is no free wifi. I have issues with hotels not providing free internet-- the prices more than cover this small amenity. That would be like a hotel asking a fee for using water or cable. I can spend $40 at a Motel 6 with free wifi, but resorts and high end hotels like to charge for this amenity. Insanity. However, the wifi is available for $7 per 24 hours which is less than some much higher-end hotels dare to charge ($17/night at one that I've stayed in). Also, there is no daily housekeeping. This is not a deal-breaker, but it's always nice when you're on vacation and someone else makes your bed. It reminds you that you ARE on vacation! We did need maintenance once for TV and internet issues... the gentleman arrived within 10 minutes and was extremely friendly and helpful. The location is right outside of Sedona and is very close to several eateries and attractions. We definitely recommend Red Rock Cafe (short drive) for breakfast and Off Road Center (sedonaoffroadcenter.com) for a TomCar that you can rent to tour Sedona with, without a tour guide and group of strangers. I put the website down because there a few shops that have similar names, but require tour guides or are more expensive.

Through company trips, we have stayed at some very nice resorts to compare Sedona Summit to (we had recently left JW Marriot in Tucson earlier in the trip-- lovely!!!). Sedona Summit has great views of the red rocks, offers an apartment-like atmosphere, and is well kept. That being said, it wasn't the most impressive place I've stayed in. It reminded me of a classier extended-stay-- nicer than your typical hotel, but by no means leaves you feeling like you're staying at a resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    442
    132
    62
    37
See reviews for
319
546
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Many places boast of spa ameneties, but Sedona is all about magical views. The Sedona Summit is surrounded by views you can literally walk out your door and walk into the sunset! trails fromt he Mesa Suites and the Sunset suites can take you all way to one one the most famous vortex locations, Boynton Canyon, or is you want to hike and munch, to the stunning Enchantment resort. Now, it would take you all day to go that far, but what a day it would be!!!. A closer stroll---about 1 mile round trip, takes you to a scenic overlook that has panoramic views and legends that identify each peak and point of interest, including historic Jerome, Cottonwood, and Mingus Mountain.

It is restful to stay in luxurious rooms, walk out the door to hike or hot tub, then watch the snow filter down on the red rocks. Perfect winter wonderland vacation spot.

Room Tip: Ask for Mesa suite if possible. Older units, or 'Standard Unit" are spacious and have allt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed in Sedona Summit for Thanksgiving in 2011 and for Christmas in 2012. The resort is located outside the downtown, surrounded by the redrock formations. The location is very convenient for all the great places to eat in sedona and also some of the best hikes. The units are tastefully decorated, the grounds perfectly attended to, and the staff extremely helpful and friendly. A wonderful all arond spot to stay - we look forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the studio which is small but has all you need. The bed is a little hard, but overall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife and I rented a 1 bedroom with full kitchen in mid-December. We asked in advance for a "room with a view" as suggested by others on Tripadvisor. Well we got a room with a view of the highway, Other than that, the room was very nice. We did not get a jetted bathtub as others have mentioned. The unit was large and had 2 flat screens. The bed and pillows very comfortable. The resort had several heated pools and hot tubs which we did not use. The kitchen was nice also and had every utensil needed. It was a beautiful location and many units had great views of the red rocks.

There is no free wifi anywhere. There are 2 PCs with internet where you check-in, but they always seemed to be taken. You can pay for wifi at a cost of $7 a day, We passed.

One more thing...the concierge put the hard sell on me to attend the time share. I said NO multiple times but she kept insisting it was painless and would only take 90 minutes. Finally I just walked away. After a full day trip getting there last think I wanted to get harassed to attend a time share pitch. I had one other occasion to talk to the concierge desk when I asked the front desk for directions to a hike. On this instance the concierge was down right rude. She said a few words and just turned around and left. I stood there thinking she was gong to return, but she did not. Unless you want to attend the timeshare or buy one of the sightseeing tours they sell, they were worthless to me. I got much more help and free advise from the locals who were super friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Lovely place to stay a few days and relax, but if you wish to visit the Grand Canyon is, it is also an ideal place to stay, as this place is just 1 hour and 15 minutes away, this resort is truly accurate and very clean also offers wi fi and have facilities to wash and dry inside the unit, the view offered is truly beautiful, and the staff is friendly and very helpful, I recommend this place to stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise and a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had a great time at this resort. Close enough to West Sedona for shopping and resturants. View at hotel were fantasic. Close to Jerone and Cottonwood for shopping there. The pool and jacuzzi were well heated for a winter stay. Resort was clean, rooms spacious and staff friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed one week in an efficiency unit. It was super clean and the grounds were very well maintained. The units have everything you might need including shampoo, towels, extra blankets, blowdryer, ironing board, coffemaker, and a much appreciated little room safe for valuables. The efficiency units do not have a washer and dryer.

We avoided the restaurants in Sedona which we found to be expensive for what was being served and not all that good. Instead, we shopped for groceries at the 2 health food stores and made our meals in the unit's little kitchen. It was well stocked with everything you might need except for sharp knives. You can certainly make dinner for 2 very easily. There is even a dishwasher.

We toured gorgeous Sedona and Flagstaff, went to the Grand Canyon, hiked, saw Meteor Crater, the Petrified Forest and toured Taliesin West on our way back to Phoenix to catch our night flight home. A really great vacation. We were really tired when we got home though!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view from an upstairs balcony. They will try to accommodate but may not be su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sedona Summit Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Summit Resort

Address: 4055 Navoti Drive, Sedona, AZ 86336
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#21 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sedona Summit Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Orbitz so you can book your Sedona Summit Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sedona Summit Hotel Sedona
Summit Sedona
Sunterra Resort Sedona Summit
Summit Resort Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sedona Summit Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.