We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall great resort in Sedona” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sedona Summit Resort

Save Saved
You added Sedona Summit Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sedona Summit Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4055 Navoti Drive, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 46 hotels in Sedona
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Overall great resort in Sedona”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Sedona Summit is owned and operated by Diamond Resorts International, a timeshare company. If you are not an owner with DRI be aware that they will try to book you on a sales tour after your check-in. Politely decline if you are not interested. Usually the value of the gifts they give you for attending the sales presentation do not cover the lost vacation time.
That being said, the resort is well maintained and clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. However - unlike other Diamond Resorts there is a confusing number of different unit types available here. The cheapest are the not yet updated 1 bdr., followed by the Mesa units and the Sunset units, which are the most expensive units. The names are misleading, it does not mean you get a view of the Mesa or the Sunset. To get a unit with a view I recommend to call the resort and get some advise there.
We had a Sunset unit which was very clean and had nice decors and furniture, incl. marble countertops, a spa tub and a walk-in shower. Unlike at other Diamond Resorts there were plenty of furnishings such as decorative chests and wall art in the unit which made the unit appear much homier. For us the only negative was that we had one of the most expensive units but did not get a view with it. The lobby and activity area looks a little bit rundown but they will be renovated in early 2013.

Room Tip: Call the resort for help, some units are cheaper AND have a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    349
    370
    109
    54
    33
See reviews for
275
445
18
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adrian, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We were at the Sedona Summit Resort in Oct. This is our second stay. It is an awesome resort. Located on the west edge of Sedona the location is perfect. Great rooms, pools, and atmosphere. Being away from town you are away for the traffic. Every morning the view of the Red Rocks and hot air ballons is fantastic. We will stay there again.

Room Tip: There really isn't a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
65619
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We have stayed twice at Sedona Summit and when I visit again, {and I will] that is where I will stay. Our rooms were perfect, very spacious and perfect kitchen. The 2 bedroom is set up with 2 master suites, both beautiful. It is so relaxing and the setting outstanding, unobstructed views of red rocks.. Check-in was a breeze.We have visited gorgeous Sedona many times but once we found this resort we now stay in a place as beautiful as its surroundings!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at the Sedona Summit in October with an second couple and it certainly exceeded our expectations. The location was fabulous and the accommodations first rate. We asked for a second floor unit for privacy reasons and were glad we did as our deck had an unobstructed view of the Sedona "rocks". This was a timeshare unit but we resisted the sales pitch without any problems. I did wish the resort had a restaurant or cafe but the local restaurants were very good.. I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this resort situated on the west side of Sedona, about 10 mns from uptown Sedona. It's on a quiet area but close to restaurants, grocery stores and services.
The resort is a timeshare property, so expect a little sales pitch after registration. We had a 2 bedrooms suite. Very comfy and well equipped. There ample space for 5 adults but there are no room service. Parking is free, no wifi but free internet access at reception area.

Room Tip: Our room is on upper floor of unit 31, with views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Be careful when renting a condo on VRBO for the Sedona Summit Resort. These are timeshare properties. I rented from an "owner" who said I would be getting a condo with a king bed and a great view of the red rocks. Altho I have no doubt she requested these things, we did not get either. The complex is very nice and clean and the condos are pretty, but very few have views of the red rocks. Location is west of town, but not a problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed in a beautiful 2 bedroom, 2nd floor. 2 doors leading to a large balcony overlooking BBQs and carpark. The rooms were really well appointed with marble and wood. The bedrooms were on opposite sides of the condo and private, the rooms each had a bathroom, with a large bubble tub and flat screen TV.

Had dishes and crockery in the condo, all you need to bring are dryer sheets and coffee filters, although the dishwashing detergent (for the dishwasher) they leave for you sucks, so maybe that too. The gas BBQ pits are great for cooking, property is close to 2 organic grocers. We ate like kings! Maid service once a week.

The pools were nice, including the one with the infinity jaccuzzi. If you cant find a sunny chair, move on to the next pool.

The location is great about 10 mins drive out of downtown. You would need a car to get around...property is right next to trailheads for hiking and running, there is a tennis facility across the main street. Resort offers a golf coupon for a course in town that is a great deal ($80 for clubs, fees, shoes, cart). The vortex tour offered was worth the $20 each and was guided by an expert anthropologist. Snake lady on Wednesday in club house was a fun 30 mins. Typical timeshare "welcome" when we arrived, tell them no enough and they will back off (the usual).

Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sedona Summit Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Summit Resort

Address: 4055 Navoti Drive, Sedona, AZ 86336
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#21 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sedona Summit Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sedona Summit Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sedona Summit Hotel Sedona
Summit Sedona
Sunterra Resort Sedona Summit
Summit Resort Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sedona Summit Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.