We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Orchards Inn of Sedona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Orchards Inn of Sedona to your Saves list
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   254 Highway 89 A, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dinner and a View
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great Views, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Orchards Inn on the 20 and 21 July 2013. We had a room on the second floor which I strongly recommend, it has great views and is a good distance from the car park so you don't get noise from the car park. Orchards Inn is more like a motel than a hotel and is quite expensive, but worth every penny for the view. The room has a large balcony with great views of the red rock.

The hotel is centrally located in town, making it easy to get to all the shops. The hotel is also closely located to L'Amberge restaurant (see my review) which is a fantastic place to eat. While the restaurant is very close, they can send a car to pick you up and take you back to Orchards, which is handy when it rains (and boy can it rain!).

One of the drawbacks of the room is that it doesn't have a room safe, which is a bit of a pain. Also, the parking is first come first served however, there is additional parking a very short distance away. Also there are no lifts, so can be a little difficult to haul heavy luggage up to the second floor. However, the second floor is only one level above the car park, so not too bad.

As pointed out by Mikiai57, the breakfast we paid for (buffet) was actually a very poor Continental breakfast - coffee, juice, cereal and a pastry. We were offered 20% discount on the full breakfast plus £4.00 off the cost of the meal. Not really good enough, I would have preferred a refund on what we paid for the breakfast. The breakfast is also not provided in the hotel but in a restaurant a short walk down the road. It wasn't a big deal, but a minor irritation that was not necessary.

Would I stay here again, yes I would, but I would insist on not paying for the breakfast.

Room Tip: (1) Get a room on the second floor. (2) Don't pay for the breakfast if you can get away with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    326
    75
    33
    16
See reviews for
227
411
44
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I couldn't agree more with Tide Traveler 98 ... this hotel has a lot of potential, but at this point you simply do NOT get what you paid for. We were on the first floor ... the room was very large - 2 queen beds plus pull out sofa (a red rocks deluxe I believe it was called), gas fireplace (not working), dog patio/grass.

Negatives first:
Sedona had apparently had a bit of rain prior to our arrival as there were sandbags piled outside of our door. (An odd welcome. Perhaps put us on a higher floor? Just a suggestion.) The view that we were paying extra for wasn't worth it. (Again, a higher floor and it would've likely been fantastic.) The pool was cloudy, as in couldn't see the bottom cloudy. Wi-fi was out for the duration of our trip. There were no lights on the stairs down to the pool or terrace; we had to use the flashlight app on our phones!

Positives: Great location; in the center of town but you didn't walk directly out onto the main drag, pretty comfy bed

and the odd:
We were told no pets upon check in (no big deal, the dog stayed home), but there was doggie grass right outside with a sign asking us to clean up after the pooch. Wouldn't it make more sense to allow dogs on the first floor and no dogs "upstairs"? There was a block of about four rooms with a gate off the back patio(s) that lead down to a path. Just not sure why the gate was necessary and found it strange that you have to walk past other rooms to get to the gate. (Our neighbor said, "It's not really a gate." Which explains to me why it opened outward, but whatever)

So, yes, I'm a bit down on this place. They totally oversold it on the phone, the pics make it look significantly nicer than it is, and in general they weren't that friendly/helpful. I'd give them a 2 if not for the location / setting.

Room Tip: If you can, choose a higher floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Orchards Inn has all the ingredients of a great place to stay... But those ingredients just aren't coming together. The cons, sadly, outweigh the pros. This is too bad because the hotel is in a PERFECT spot for visitors to enjoy Sedona. Another reviewer referred to new owners. If they care about keeping this as a good place to stay, they need to take action.

The Pros:
* Fantastic views, particularly from the 3rd floor
* Within walking distance to restaurants & shops
* Automatic gas log fireplace
* Good coffee in the room
* Nice lighting in the room
* Comfortable bed
* Spacious balconies

The Cons:
* We had a leaking A/C vent in the ceiling above the sinks. Clearly, it had been leaking for a long time because the floor was soaked - and soft - underneath. We were nervous to step on it.
* ALL exterior lights were out. It's pitch black at night. This nearly led to a misstep and a fall down the stairs while trying to navigate two suitcases when we arrived.
* Outdated bathroom
* No good breakfast options on-site
* You just don't feel like you got what you payed for.

Every one of those cons could be eliminated with a few simple steps. We had a clean room, and we enjoyed the view. We just felt like the details had been ignored - and we're concerned about long-term maintenance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado City, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We just loved our stay at the Orchards Inn of Sedona. Great for the family! The view from our room was breathtaking and the location was perfect for all of our day trips. We were walking distance to all the shops and the service we received was exceptional. Thank you to Margarita for her wonderful ideas and knowledge of Sedona and really enjoyed my morning cofee and talks with Shaun. Great Service! Highly recommend and will stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Our family stayed here the 2nd week of July & loved its central location. You can walk to shops, restaurants, & Pink Jeep tours! Our room had a fridge & microwave which is very nice because you don't get that too often. The room was very spacious and clean. HOWEVER we were there 3 days and never received housekeeping service. I had to call the front desk & ask for more clean towels & coffee. We only had the "No disturb" sign on for about 2 hours a day. I don't know why they kept skipping our room. The free breakfast was just a few pastries, cereal, coffee & juice. We stayed in room 402 (it's on the 1st floor) and could hear almost every move that the people upstairs made and WE COULD HEAR THEIR ALARM CLOCK go off every morning. Very thin walls & ceilings! Our room was by the parking lot so it was very noisy.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms are noisy BUT also I don't think they have an elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our stay started out fine and we were satisfied with our room - as the other reviews state: great view and location and the rooms are clean. But we purchased our vacation package with a Buffet Breakfast (confirmed in an email by the reservations manager!). But halfway through our 6 night stay, we were informed that the Buffet Breakfast was no longer available. Instead we were offered a so-called continental breakfast which consisted of coffee, sweet sugar-laden cereals, and a sweet, sticky danish - no healthy options. When we complained to the manager of the hotel, he offered us a 20% discount on the breakfast menu. HUH? How do you go from a full buffet breakfast to a 20% discount?!? The excuse given was there were new owners. I can understand if new guests/reservations are comped a continental breakfast, but this was clearly violating the contract the hotel had with us. Why shouldn't our contract have been grandfathered? The manager was no help at all; he only provided excuses about the new ownership. That should not have had any bearing on our situation. Poor management or lack of imagination?Judge for yourself. And beware, next time you may find some other amenity suddenly taken away!!! Not fair.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel in Sedona!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleshoward, General Manager at The Orchards Inn of Sedona, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
I was very sorry to hear that you were dissapointed with you stay with us and the breakfast. When we spoke in the lobby, I explained that the breakfast had changed to a Continental Breakfast and you could get your 20% off voucher to order off the breakfast menu, I also said that I would comp your breakfast off the menu at Canyon Breeze but you walked out ot the lobby upset. We all strive to give the best customer service possible, and I apologize that your experience was less than expected..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The perfect balance of value, scenery, and quiet in Sedona! A close walk to Uptown Sedona restaurants and shops with an unbeatable east view of the red rocks! The staff was friendly and courteous. The room was immaculate. Cant Wait to come back!

Room Tip: The Deluxe Room is definitely worth a little extra! You get the 3rd floor with a King Bed, A Firepla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Orchards Inn of Sedona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchards Inn of Sedona

Address: 254 Highway 89 A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Sedona
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Orchards Inn of Sedona 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named the #1 Hotel in Arizona by Expedia Select for 2011, Orchards Inn has earned a loyal following of return guests who love the hotel's central location in Uptown Sedona, spacious accommodations, affordable rates, breakfast packages available, friendly service, and above all else, MAGNIFICENT VIEWS! We know our brand new room design will quickly become one more reason to welcome you back. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Orchards Inn of Sedona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orchards Inn Of Sedona Hotel Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orchards Inn of Sedona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.