We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay in Sedona” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Orchards Inn of Sedona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Orchards Inn of Sedona to your Saves list
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   254 Highway 89 A, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dinner and a View
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay in Sedona”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2008

We discovered the Orchards Inn of Sedona from the TripAdvisor forums. I am obsessive about choosing the right hotel - so I checked it out pretty thoroughly. I searched other sites for reviews and actually checked out the hotel on Google Earth to see how the view might look (the location on Google Earth is wrong, puts the hotel to the west of the Y when it's actually to the east). Then, to be sure we were really happy with our stay, I emailed the hotel and mentioned a few concerns I'd seen on these boards....they addressed the concerns by basically saying, it's not a brand new hotel, but it's in good shape, the views are amazing, and it is really how it appears online. They reassured me that all would be well....and they were right!! We easily found the parking lot and never had a problem getting a space. We arrived right at check-in time and had courteous, helpful welcome and the same great service at checkout. Our room was just as I had reserved on the top floor (3rd) with one of the best views of MY LIFE, a nice gas fireplace, a large balcony, comfy beds, well-working clean bathroom, etc. It was DELUXE. We woke up to watch the sunrise and I wished we could have stayed another night.

The hotel staff provided me a 10% discount on the Pink Jeep Tour when I mentioned that we had one booked. We took the Broken Arrow Tour. I have been fortunate to travel to many places, but at one point on the tour I said outloud..."this is the best place I've ever been". FYI, the Pink Jeep Tour place is a block or so down a shop-filled street. We spent the afternoon in the shops - quite a range from beautiful artwork to 'dirt' t-shirts and all sorts of Sedona souveniers.

We had a truly wonderful dinner at the Cowboy Club and the price was actually very reasonable - we had the sampler appetizer with buffalo (YUM!), rattlesnake (ok), and cactus fries (pretty good) and 3 different appetizers that were all fantastic. My son raved about the brie pork chops. Portions were great. The waitress was so friendly and everyone in the place seemed to be enjoying themselves. We walked in on a Fri night at about 7pm and had just a 15 minute wait. We filled it by looking at all the handprints/photos from famous western movie stars.

Love Sedona. We'll be back...and I'd stay at the Orchards Inn, eat at the Cowboy Club and take as many jeep tours and hikes as time would allow.

  • Liked — The view, nice & quiet, safe, great location
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    326
    75
    33
    16
See reviews for
227
411
44
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2008

We stayed in a room on the second floor for 4 nights. (Be prepared to carry your bags yourself up the stairs. We arrived at 8 p.m. after the reception office had closed.)

The king-sized bed was super comfortable, the pillows were high quality, and we especially appreciated the gas fireplace and mini fridge. Because the hotel is literally built into the hillside, the view from the balcony out over the Oak Creek valley is fantastic. We were able to use the pool and hot tub on the warmer days.

In terms of the ability to walk to shopping and restaurants, the location of this hotel could not be better. I recommend the Cowboy Club across the street for its atmosphere, and the Wildflower Bread Company for affordable breakfasts and lunches.

I loved everything about this hotel - the location, the view, the comfortable bed, and other amenities. It was a great value for the price. I certainly recommend it and would return. No other hotel we stayed at on our Arizona-Nevada trip in that price range even came close.

Our favourite hike was the Bell Rock -Courthouse Butte trail. Don't miss it!

  • Liked — The location.
  • Disliked — The small, hidden parking lot.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2008

We almost missed The Orchards Inn - in fact we drove right past it the first time - because it is set back from the street behind the Orchards Bar & Grill. However it is well located in the middle of Sedona's main street on 89A near 179.
If you can, get a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor. We had a 1st floor room, and although the views were nice, we did not have a private balcony, but instead a walkway that connected all first floor rooms.
The hotel itself is fairly average, but you can't beat the price or location. It is within walking distance from Tlaquepaque (about 10 minutes) for restaurants & shopping. Or just step outside the hotel and you are on the main street of Sedona with plenty of shops, restaurants, etc...
From the walkway outside our room we had a gorgeous red rock view, and could see Oak Creek below.

The only minor negative points:
There is only a small parking lot, which fills up quickly.
The hotel staff leaves at 8pm, so you have to contact a larger hotel next door if you need assistance after that time, or if you check in late.

  • Liked — Great value for money, and great location.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2007

The Orchards Inn of Sedona is a great little hotel. It is old fashioned, but clean and comfortable. Our room had all the modern conveniences--king size bed, micro, frig and coffee maker. The bed and pillows were exceptionally comfortable. The view from our 1st floor room was outstanding.

  • Liked — The view!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2007

As long as you get a room on floor two / three you will have a wonderful view. Some 1st floor rooms have obstructed views and all on level 1 have less privacy as people walk by your patio / balcony area.
The location is right in the middle of everything, so that will not be a problem. As for the complaints about parking, it is tight, but the hotel was sold out when we visited and we still found room. If the lot was full there are alternatives nearby.
Now for the bad. The rooms are modest and dated. This place is not fancy, and not tops when it comes to service. So if you value location and views at a good price and caan deal w/ less service and dated / modest accomodations....this is your place.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Dated
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
el centro, ca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2007

I wrote this review for a web site that begins with hotels, but they wouldn't list it! Seems like their reviews might be edited but who knows. I called them on it and they said go to tripadvisor so here I am. On the positive side, the view is very nice. The location is right on 89A so if you like staying near a busy highway, this is your place. Unfortunately, the beds were awful and the A/C left the room slightly less humid than an equatorial rain forest. An update of the rooms is sorely needed. The stay was decent, but so was my stay at Holiday Inn Express. Recommend staying somewhere else or skipping the excessively kitschy Sedona altogether.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

First of all, I don't want to say you shouldn't stay here. The price is very affordable and the views are great if you can keep your curtains open. However, if you decide to stay here, please request a 2nd or 3rd story room. We were stuck on the ground floor near the pool and so the redrock views were irrelevent. With everyone constantly walking by to go to the pool or their room, we had NO privacy adn had to keep our door and curtains closed at all times. This fact ruined the stay at the hotel.
Other than that, the room was mostly clean. The refrigerator didn't work very well, but was tolerable. Definitly take time to walk down to the L'Auberge property by the creek. Very nice in the morning.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Parking, no privacy
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Orchards Inn of Sedona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchards Inn of Sedona

Address: 254 Highway 89 A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Sedona
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Orchards Inn of Sedona 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named the #1 Hotel in Arizona by Expedia Select for 2011, Orchards Inn has earned a loyal following of return guests who love the hotel's central location in Uptown Sedona, spacious accommodations, affordable rates, breakfast packages available, friendly service, and above all else, MAGNIFICENT VIEWS! We know our brand new room design will quickly become one more reason to welcome you back. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Orchards Inn of Sedona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orchards Inn Of Sedona Hotel Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orchards Inn of Sedona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.