We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Canyons

Seven Canyons
755 Golf Club Way, Sedona, AZ 86336
866-367-8844
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 59 attractions in Sedona
Type: Golf Courses
Attraction Details
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

If you can hit the ball straight Seven Canyons will be among the most rewarding rounds of your life. If not, the course is pretty unforgiving. The beauty of the course is great consolation, though.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    20
    12
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durango
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Challenging course with fabulous views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Be sure to bring your camera when you play this course. Not only is it fun but there is a picture op on almost every course. The course has a problem with havilenas digging so there are some bare spots. Not much different than elk problems in Colorado. The small cafe has been moved to the bag drop area which is much more convient. Also nice patio for breakfast and lunch. The club does give discounts if you are staying in Seven Canyons or other hotels. We will be back on our next trip.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Jaw dropping scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This golf course is a nice challenging design by Tom Weiskopf. The views were spectacular with gorgeous rock formations on every hole. Good value as well.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Ky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Extremely diasappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Just wanted to let everyone know, who is in the middle income range and had enjoyed having the opportunity to play a reasonably nice golf course with spectacular views, that it's no longer possible at Seven Canyons Golf Resort. In previous years (since their bankrupcy) it was possible to play 18 holes with a cart anytime after 2:00pm for $50.00. Since they're now under "new management" the afternoon rate is $95.00. For those of us who are not on the PGA tour and simply enjoy playing the game to best of our ability while thouroughly enjoying breath taking views, it truly is disappointing. There's a vast difference between my wife and I paying $100.00 versus $200.00, especially during these trying economic times when disposable income is continuing to dwindle. I'm hopeful they'll reconsider in the near future, but until that happens our best hope is enjoying the memories of playing in times past.

As for the actual course and it's personnel, the friendliest person by far was the young man loading our clubs on the cart. The young lady at the pro shop was stand-offish and you couldn't find any other personnel with a search warrant. It was pretty easy to stand on more than one tee box and wonder which direction you were going as there were no course management books available. Since the javalenas have free range on the course they wreak havoc on the fairways and enjoy using the sandtraps for their personal litterbox, which again raises the question of workers (or lack thereof) attempting to stay on top of those problems. But in all fairness the views make most of these hurdles easier to live with. I would play there again if they made there rates more appealing for playing during their less than attractive times. I would think that having folks willing to pay $100.00 a couple vs. others not willing to pay the $200.00 couples rate would be a no-brainer. I know of three other couples who also refuse to play there since the rate hike.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very Sad.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

What once was a world class track has fallen into ratted tee boxes and fairways and very poorly conditioned traps and greens due to the ongoing bankruptcy of it's owner/ management group. The views are spectacular, but the golfing experience was third class. Perfect example of a great course that suffered from the real estate crash. Very tragic.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seven Canyons also viewed

 

Been to Seven Canyons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Canyons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Seven Canyons to your Saves list