We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Racheros” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Jose Restaurant

Cafe Jose Restaurant
2370 West Highway 89A, (in Safeway Plaza), Sedona, AZ 86336
+1 928-282-0299
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 139 Restaurants in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $14
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Family Fare, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Despite the name, Cafe Jose serves good old-fashioned home style cooking. It is a classic American diner which also happens to serve good Mexican food. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served all day. Cafe Jose is a favorite spot for local residents. It has won the local award for the past several years for "Best Home Cooking," "Best Breakfast," "Best Family Dining." "Friendliest Wait Staff," and "Best Overall Bargain." The food is not fancy, but it is tasty and served with a smile. The portions are large, but meals are priced to fit anyone's budget.
Napa, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Racheros”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Cafe Jose is a jem in the middle of Sedona. Yummy waffles and rancheros. Friendly helpful staff. The local's spot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    189
    62
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalispell, Montana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Repeat customer.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

On our second visit to Sedona we retuned to this restaurant where we had eaten breakfast and dinner. Service was still excellent, food generous and tasty. Reasonably priced. We will eat there again on our next visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pretty Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

My party and I had to check this place out because its owned by the same couple who owns Golden Goose. The service was just as excellent and friendly. It had a great menu, great portions, and great atmosphere. Our waitress was very knowledgeable about the gluten free options as well so that was a big plus. And the food was pretty good too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“This place has improved!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I went here just to see if the food had improved since my last visit over a year ago, and it actually had improved as did the service. For awhile there, the mexican food was not so good and the place was sort of dirty. It has changed for the best and the food is much better too! Was pleasantly surprised! Many of the locals do go here. You do not get the 'chips' that other places give you but you have to order them separately. Still a good place to eat.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa
1 review
“Disappointing Mexican restaurant experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We are from Wisconsin and have had better Mexican cuisine & ambiance 3000 miles north. There are 2 varieties of ($7) margaritas, no chips and salsa and entrees without beans & rice. Food mediocre at best, which is amazing because how can you get Mexican combos wrong. Not sure where positive reviews are coming from, little redeeming value as a Mexican restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramblinrose52, Owner at Cafe Jose Restaurant, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
We are bewildered by this review and wonder if the correct restaurant was reviewed since there are quite a few Mexican restaurants in Sedona. There are quite a few discrepancies from the complaints stated in the review: 1) we serve 3 types of margaritas -- regular (gold), mango and strawberry; 2) All our Mexican meals are provided chips and salsa free of charge, and 3) All our Mexican meals are served with Spanish rice and refried beans unless they are intentionally ordered ala carte.

We are a home-style diner that also serves Mexican food. We are primarily known for our great breakfasts (served all day) and our home-style cooking. We've won Sedona's "Best American Food," "Best Home Cooking" and "Best Breakfast" continuously for many years. With all the Mexican restaurants in this area, we feel there are many with better Mexican fare than ours because they specialize in that cuisine. However, our Mexican food is authentic and certainly not deserving of a "terrible" rating by any means.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Jose Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Jose Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Jose Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.