We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So. Much. Fun.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barlow Jeep Rentals

Barlow Jeep Rentals
3009 W. Hwy 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
928-282-8700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 121 activities in Sedona
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Rent your own off-road ready Jeep Wrangler and drive the Sedona trails yourself! Much cheaper and more fun than taking a Jeep tour. Easy, moderate and adventurous trails available.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Victoria, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“So. Much. Fun.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We rented a Jeep for 24 hours. Thanks to the great suggestions of the Barlow team, we were able to get in three trails - Outlaw (with a walking hike to the Honanki ruins), Broken Arrow, and Schnebly Hill Road. Schnebly Hill at sunrise is amazing!! Definitely do the "optional" loop at the top. That's where the more adventurous part is. The detailed maps and driving instructions provided by Barlow made for a safe and fun experience. Pack a lunch. The Jeeps have ice chests. Would definitely do again.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    4
    1
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Time!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband, 2 kids (5 & 8) and I rented a jeep this past Thursday with another family of four and it was so much fun!! We were considering the pink jeep tour but we were so happy that we did not go that route. The ladies that helped us were great and my husband and our friend loved driving the trails themselves. The jeeps were new and we had a blast and we would recommend Barlow to everyone!!! It is a must do when in Sedona!!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Buckle Up... It's Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Renting a jeep from Barlow's was the best time I had in Sedona. Yes, many people recommended the "Pink Jeeps". I am 27 and my brother is 28. Who wants to have someone else drive? right... The Jeeps were in great condition. They built the jeeps for the Back Country in Sedona. I "off road" on a regular basis. The "off road'n" in Sedona is so much fun. When you first go into Barlows to pick up your jeep they go though a step by step explaining the trails and their difficulties. You decide what you want to do. I would def recommend Barlow's over "Pink Jeep". If you have a group/family of 3 or more do Barlows Jeep! Worth the money! DO FULL DAY. We rented from 1:30pm to 1:30pm the next day. We were able to see sunset and sunrise. You don't need experience to do this... it is very simple. The jeeps practically drive themselves. Great Scenic drives. You get to do the same rails "Pink Jeep" does.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The staff was great, the woman who signed us in, her name was Sue, was awesome. She went over the maps and explained the use of the jeep in detail. The jeeps are new and in great shape. If you are in Sedona spend the extra bucks and rent a jeep instead of a tour. The trails range from moderate to more extreme. The more extreme trails were a blast!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great way to see Sedona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We wanted to see the views of Sedona from the Jeep trails, but we didn't want a guided tour, so we rented for a full day (1pm to 1pm the next day) from Barlow. The Jeep was in excellent condition and was very comfortable. We didn't use the back seats, so I'm not sure about the comfort level there. We did Schnebly Hill, Dry Creek Basin, and Soldier's Pass. The person who rented us the Jeep told us that we could do all the trails with a 24 hour rental, but in order to do that you would need to start early in the morning and not do any hiking. I think you'd be exhausted, because riding the Jeep trails is not leisurely.

With all that said, we took our time on the three Jeep trails and did some hiking as well and it was spectacular and a ton of fun. When I go to Sedona again, I will rent from Barlow again and do some of the trails I missed. The maps are good and we never got lost. We'd never been Jeeping before, and some of the trails, quite honestly, looked impossible. But the Jeep did what it was supposed to do for us and never let us down.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barlow Jeep Rentals also viewed

 

Been to Barlow Jeep Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barlow Jeep Rentals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Barlow Jeep Rentals to your Saves list