We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take a walk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bell Rock

Bell Rock
6246 State Route 179, Sedona, AZ 86351
Improve this listing
Visit Bell Rock like an insider
Top Rated
$72*
and up
Scenic Sedona Tour
Ranked #9 of 119 things to do in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Vancouver
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Take a walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

It's an easy hike around bell rock. You can't climb very high. The views on the hike are pretty spectacular.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,061
    329
    45
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is a formation near the middle of the drive on Hwy 179 toward Oak Creek Village. It is easily accessible with a mild trail around it from either the north (marked courthouse trail) or the south trail. I climbed up about 1/3 of the way onto the rock in mild step ups, then it gets steep. The Bell rock is supposed to be a vortex area but all I got was a headache. This formation is the easiest to get to of all except the airport vortex rock which is half way up the road to the Sedona airport mesa. And BTW the view from the airport mesa overlooking Sedona is enchanting. It is 500 ft above the city and a wonderful place to go at sunset or sunrise. We stayed at Sky Ranch Lodge, the only hotel on the mesa and got to enjoy this overview daily.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD USA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Courthouse Butte Loop Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Wow! This 4 mile hike is easily done in 2 hours and you will spend the whole trip saying - WOW! It has some moderately challenging areas, but for the most part is level and easily trekked. The views of Courthouse Butte and Bell Rock are absolutely stunning. I would recommend this hike for all levels of hikers. Take hiking boots and plenty of water and you are set to go. Don't let the length of the walk stop you, there are plenty of places to rest and take in the sights. You could even take a lunch or snack to enjoy as we did - a meal with a view! You won't regret this hike!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Worth the walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

You'll need a red rock pass but after all, if you're in Sedona, that's what you're there to see so make the weekly investment for $15. It's a short easy hike, maybe 30 minutes to get up close to the rock. There is a bit of mud left over from the rain/snow....crazy winter weather....but just do it. Vortex is there!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
299 reviews 299 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Views & great hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was my favorite Sedona activity...with that said I didn't experience much in my limited time, but cannot wait to go back to hike Bell Rock again. The trail is well maintained & once you get up to the rock it can get a bit more strenuous- climbing the rock. It was doable, safe & fun though. The views were amazing!!!!
The parking lot was full when we were there on a Saturday.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bell Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bell Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.