We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Junipine Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Junipine Resort to your Saves list
Junipine Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   8351 N. Highway 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed here for three nights in June 2013 and were very satisfied with our choice of a Garden View Room. The layout of the accommodation was perfect for our group of 3 - (2+1). The bedrooms (each with a very generous bathroom) were on different levels and the kitchen/living area on the ground floor was huge. The surrounding expansive gardens and forest were beautiful providing a very private and peaceful setting for each of the condos. The guest laundry and restaurant on site were a real plus. The Resort is located a few minutes drive to Slide Rock Park which provides a beautiful picnic area and for swimming in the clear waters of the Oak Creek. The busy tourist town of Sedona is a 10 minute drive from the tranquillity of the Resort. The shared cost of this high quality accommodation made it a very economical choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RAASMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
I’m glad to hear you found the location and accommodations to be not only excellent, but a solid value as well. Consider booking direct with us next time, just so we have every opportunity to make you aware of any packages/specials/promotions that are only available by phone or our website.

Thank you for staying with us,

Chris Bosselmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Spent one night in unit 24. Rustic decor felt very warm and welcoming. Loved sitting on the deck listening to Oak creek flowing by. Perfect for group of six. We had eight and used the sofa sleeper. It was very, very flimsy & uncomfortable - not recommended. Kitchen well stocked with dishware and utensils. Bathrooms are updated & clean. Our kids loved exploring up and down the creek. We also loved that we could check out DVDs and board games at the front desk. No a/c. We used fan ceiling & floor fans which was fine for me. Some in the group felt a bit uncomfortable during the night. Overall - great experience! Will return!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Trish D:

Our maintenance crew was able to shore up the joints on that hide-a-bed. Thank you for letting us know. We love #24! It’s cool, cozy, well-appointed, has a great deck, and an excellent location. I look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

These cabins were absolutely beautiful. Our cabin was spacious, nice and easily slept six people (we had an 8 person cabin so it should). It is an ideal place to have a couple of families lodge together to have that group experience. The staff was wonderful and knowledgeable of both Sedona and the Grand Canyon. The location was perfect...about five or so minutes past the sliding rock and about ten minutes past the Downtown area. Everything was wonderful except one small detail: THERE IS NO AIR CONDITIONER IN THE CABIN. This is not as big of a deal as if you were staying in Phoenix; however, the cabin does get warm despite their numerous ceiling fans and box fans that they provided. The cabin is cooler than a lot of Sedona because it is buried in the trees by the creek, but it still prevented me from giving it five stars. I would also encourage people with young children to check out the photos and plan the bed situation prior to arriving. The loft area is connected by a very steep ladder without rails which could have been dangerous if the kids got up in the middle of the night. We had the extra room so we just had the kids share a bedroom downstairs to avoid a possible disaster. There also are multiple fire places. Even though they were both clean, it did have a smoky smell on the inside probably due to air coming down the chimney. Either way, beautiful grounds in a beautiful place...for the price though, air conditioning would have been nice.

Room Tip: Ask for one that is closer to the creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetodive355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
I hope that you were not surprised about the creekhouse features, as we do specify on our website that we do not feature A/C. Regarding floorplans, please call us ahead of time at 800-742-7463 with any questions. We feature several floorplans which can include spiral staircases to alleviate any concerns about loft access. Thank you for acknowledging our staff. We are fortunate to have a very tenured crew who love to help with trail, tour, gallery, park, and restaurant information.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Beautiful setting with condos set into a private setting. Nice walking areas close to creek. Would rate it a 5star but the food at the restaurant was just average. Fireplace in the bedroom was a nice touch.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the creek nice if staying longer but the convenience of the rooms closer to the high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bchahn1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Ahhhh, we came up just a bit short of 5-Star. Next time! We love the setting and the fireplaces too. Your comments are on their way to the owners of the Café, as we are always looking for ways to improve food/service levels. Thank you very much for visiting Junipine.

Chris Bosselmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel was quiet and peaceful, in a very beautiful setting. The nature all around is gorgeous, and even though the hotel has about 50 condos, it feels smaller and more secluded. We were in unit 16. Even though it wasn't by the creek, the patio had privacy and faced beautiful trees. We spent two nights in June, and on the second night we kept the patio door slightly ajar, to keep the room from feeling stuffy, which helped a lot. The unit was beautiful. I wasn't thrilled about the mattress - it think it was a pillowtop mattress, not sure - but I have back problems. The wi-fi in the room was spotty for sure. The restaurant was very convenient for breakfast. Overall, quiet and beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phoenixphlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Phoenixphlower:

Thanks so much for your comments. We have a lot of requests for the house you stayed in because of the privacy, and the décor. The mattress is a Serta pillow-top, which we feature in most of our creekhouses. They are of excellent quality, but I’m sorry this one was not to your liking. E-mail me personally before your next visit and I’ll address your needs and tailor them to a specific creekhouse.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We only got to spend one night at the Junipine, but at least we finally got to stay there! Whenever we venture up to Sedona from the Valley, we try to enjoy lunch at their restaurant, and after walking around the property one time, we decided to put it on our radar for a future trip. Fortunately, some friends of ours came to visit us from Seattle, and we decided to splurge on a room at the Junipine since there were 2 couples paying for it. (The rate of $280 did seem a little high, but you only live once!) The 2 bedroom/2 bath condo was perfect, we were in unit #34. The only downfall during this time of year is the fact that the units do not have A/C, which I did read on their website before we drove up. But since it was June, it did get a little uncomfortable. We slept downstairs, and with the ceiling fans running on high, we were fine. But our friends, who elected to sleep upstairs, said they were pretty hot until about 3 AM. So, my advice would be to visit the Junipine in Spring, Fall & Winter. Without A/C, it really got a little too warm for my comfort level. But with the expansive fireplace, I would love to come back in the Winter! All in all, I definitely recommend the Junipine, but maybe ask for a unit closer to the creek!

We did eat breakfast at the Junipine Cafe, which was also really good.

Room Tip: Ask for a creek side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N2FOTOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hello:

It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that you enjoyed #34. June is the warmest month of the year for us because the monsoon rains have not arrived yet. We recommend opening your house at night, and closing it in the morning. The ambient temperature will stay between 74 and 82 degrees. Come back and see us this winter, and I will be sure to have that fireplace set and stocked with wood.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

These condos are well appointed and comfortable. For a large family, I would prefer this over a hotel any day. Yes... there is no A/C. But it honestly wasn't too bad (traveled in June). There is no pool, but there is a swimming hole that you can hike or drive to. It is very cool - both figuratively and literally. The water is cold and the setting is cool.

Junipine is about 6 miles from town, so if you want to spend a lot of time in Sedona, it's not the most convenient location

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Bob H:

Traverse City is one of my favorite places in the US. Thank you for making the trip out west, and we hope to see you again soon.

Chris Bosselmann
General Manager
Junipine Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
6.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
7.4 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
7.7 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#2 of 47 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 stars 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 47 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 stars 605 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Inn Above Oak Creek
13.3 mi away
Las Posadas of Sedona
Las Posadas of Sedona
#9 of 47 in Sedona
4.5 of 5 stars 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Junipine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junipine Resort

Address: 8351 N. Highway 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#8 Family Hotel in Sedona
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Junipine Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 25 years, Junipine, a Sedona resort, has provided incredibly luxurious Sedona Villa style creekhouses. The 1,400 square foot creekhouses are the most spacious, comfortable, and affordable luxury accommodations in the Oak Creek Canyon area of Sedona. Located eight miles north of Sedona on the banks of beautiful Oak Creek, Junipine Resort offers individually decorated one and two bedroom creekhouses that accommodate up to six adults. Each Sedona Villa style creekhouse is situated in a very private, wooded environment. Select from a secluded forest view, or an expansive creek view; with a private hot tub on your back deck, if you so choose. All creekhouses at this Sedona resort include fully furnished kitchens, wood burning fireplaces, and large wrap around decks. These are our signature amenities that you will not find anywhere else in Sedona. Romantic getaways in Sedona, family vacation time, reunions and special events in Oak Creek Canyon are all possible at Junipine Resort... your creekside retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Junipine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Junipine Resort Sedona
Junipine Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing