We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Junipine Resort

Save Saved
You added Junipine Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Junipine Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   8351 N. Highway 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 46 hotels in Sedona
Chandler, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Spent one night in unit 24. Rustic decor felt very warm and welcoming. Loved sitting on the deck listening to Oak creek flowing by. Perfect for group of six. We had eight and used the sofa sleeper. It was very, very flimsy & uncomfortable - not recommended. Kitchen well stocked with dishware and utensils. Bathrooms are updated & clean. Our kids loved exploring up and down the creek. We also loved that we could check out DVDs and board games at the front desk. No a/c. We used fan ceiling & floor fans which was fine for me. Some in the group felt a bit uncomfortable during the night. Overall - great experience! Will return!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Trish D:

Our maintenance crew was able to shore up the joints on that hide-a-bed. Thank you for letting us know. We love #24! It’s cool, cozy, well-appointed, has a great deck, and an excellent location. I look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    219
    89
    22
    13
    5
See reviews for
101
145
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chino Hills, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

These cabins were absolutely beautiful. Our cabin was spacious, nice and easily slept six people (we had an 8 person cabin so it should). It is an ideal place to have a couple of families lodge together to have that group experience. The staff was wonderful and knowledgeable of both Sedona and the Grand Canyon. The location was perfect...about five or so minutes past the sliding rock and about ten minutes past the Downtown area. Everything was wonderful except one small detail: THERE IS NO AIR CONDITIONER IN THE CABIN. This is not as big of a deal as if you were staying in Phoenix; however, the cabin does get warm despite their numerous ceiling fans and box fans that they provided. The cabin is cooler than a lot of Sedona because it is buried in the trees by the creek, but it still prevented me from giving it five stars. I would also encourage people with young children to check out the photos and plan the bed situation prior to arriving. The loft area is connected by a very steep ladder without rails which could have been dangerous if the kids got up in the middle of the night. We had the extra room so we just had the kids share a bedroom downstairs to avoid a possible disaster. There also are multiple fire places. Even though they were both clean, it did have a smoky smell on the inside probably due to air coming down the chimney. Either way, beautiful grounds in a beautiful place...for the price though, air conditioning would have been nice.

Room Tip: Ask for one that is closer to the creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
I hope that you were not surprised about the creekhouse features, as we do specify on our website that we do not feature A/C. Regarding floorplans, please call us ahead of time at 800-742-7463 with any questions. We feature several floorplans which can include spiral staircases to alleviate any concerns about loft access. Thank you for acknowledging our staff. We are fortunate to have a very tenured crew who love to help with trail, tour, gallery, park, and restaurant information.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Beautiful setting with condos set into a private setting. Nice walking areas close to creek. Would rate it a 5star but the food at the restaurant was just average. Fireplace in the bedroom was a nice touch.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the creek nice if staying longer but the convenience of the rooms closer to the high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Ahhhh, we came up just a bit short of 5-Star. Next time! We love the setting and the fireplaces too. Your comments are on their way to the owners of the Café, as we are always looking for ways to improve food/service levels. Thank you very much for visiting Junipine.

Chris Bosselmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel was quiet and peaceful, in a very beautiful setting. The nature all around is gorgeous, and even though the hotel has about 50 condos, it feels smaller and more secluded. We were in unit 16. Even though it wasn't by the creek, the patio had privacy and faced beautiful trees. We spent two nights in June, and on the second night we kept the patio door slightly ajar, to keep the room from feeling stuffy, which helped a lot. The unit was beautiful. I wasn't thrilled about the mattress - it think it was a pillowtop mattress, not sure - but I have back problems. The wi-fi in the room was spotty for sure. The restaurant was very convenient for breakfast. Overall, quiet and beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Phoenixphlower:

Thanks so much for your comments. We have a lot of requests for the house you stayed in because of the privacy, and the décor. The mattress is a Serta pillow-top, which we feature in most of our creekhouses. They are of excellent quality, but I’m sorry this one was not to your liking. E-mail me personally before your next visit and I’ll address your needs and tailor them to a specific creekhouse.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We only got to spend one night at the Junipine, but at least we finally got to stay there! Whenever we venture up to Sedona from the Valley, we try to enjoy lunch at their restaurant, and after walking around the property one time, we decided to put it on our radar for a future trip. Fortunately, some friends of ours came to visit us from Seattle, and we decided to splurge on a room at the Junipine since there were 2 couples paying for it. (The rate of $280 did seem a little high, but you only live once!) The 2 bedroom/2 bath condo was perfect, we were in unit #34. The only downfall during this time of year is the fact that the units do not have A/C, which I did read on their website before we drove up. But since it was June, it did get a little uncomfortable. We slept downstairs, and with the ceiling fans running on high, we were fine. But our friends, who elected to sleep upstairs, said they were pretty hot until about 3 AM. So, my advice would be to visit the Junipine in Spring, Fall & Winter. Without A/C, it really got a little too warm for my comfort level. But with the expansive fireplace, I would love to come back in the Winter! All in all, I definitely recommend the Junipine, but maybe ask for a unit closer to the creek!

We did eat breakfast at the Junipine Cafe, which was also really good.

Room Tip: Ask for a creek side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hello:

It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that you enjoyed #34. June is the warmest month of the year for us because the monsoon rains have not arrived yet. We recommend opening your house at night, and closing it in the morning. The ambient temperature will stay between 74 and 82 degrees. Come back and see us this winter, and I will be sure to have that fireplace set and stocked with wood.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

These condos are well appointed and comfortable. For a large family, I would prefer this over a hotel any day. Yes... there is no A/C. But it honestly wasn't too bad (traveled in June). There is no pool, but there is a swimming hole that you can hike or drive to. It is very cool - both figuratively and literally. The water is cold and the setting is cool.

Junipine is about 6 miles from town, so if you want to spend a lot of time in Sedona, it's not the most convenient location

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Bob H:

Traverse City is one of my favorite places in the US. Thank you for making the trip out west, and we hope to see you again soon.

Chris Bosselmann
General Manager
Junipine Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, California, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The Junipine Resort is perfect for those who visit Sedona for its natural beauty. You are a good 15 minutes from town, secluded in a canyon with the Oak Creek running through it. You are not close to restaurants, bars, movie theaters, or any other urban amenity, which is a good thing in Sedona. The Junipine is a gorgeous and very comfortable place to stay without the typical high-priced resort accoutrements of tennis courts, swimming pools, etc.... The only reason for the 4-star & not 5-star review is that their on-site restaurant/cafe is sorely lacking, and their wi-fi is spotty. I stayed in Cabin 25, and the only place we could get wi-fi was standing in the doorway, not ideal if you want/need wi-fi. Still, I'll come back because it's natural beauty and serenity that I seek when I visit Sedona.

Room Tip: If you care about having wi-fi, be sure to request a room that REALLY has it, not just theoretically...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear 2toughteacher:

It’s great to hear that you enjoyed our location/grounds and that you felt like Junipine was a good value. Your comments regarding the Café have been directed to the Café owners as that is an indendently owned and operated business. Regardless, there’s no acceptable reason for sorely lacking service. The wi-fi can be spotty, as our location prevents us from featuring the service we are all used to in more densely populated areas. We have a seating area in the main lobby and we have a reliable signal there in case you have to get to an e-mail or a document. Thank you for staying with us, and I’m glad to hear that we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Junipine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junipine Resort

Also Known As:
Junipine Hotel
Junipine Resort Sedona
Junipine Hotel Sedona
Address: 8351 N. Highway 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#11 Family Hotel in Sedona
#13 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Junipine Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Junipine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Junipine Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.