We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Junipine Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Junipine Resort to your Saves list
Junipine Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   8351 N. Highway 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“PERFECT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The resort was wonderful. The staff was so friendly and welcoming. We got upgraded to the most beautiful condo #7 with a hot tub right off the master suite. We ate breakfast in the cafe- which was exellent- the french toast was great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    96
    25
    13
    6
See reviews for
113
151
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Elmhurst, Illinois, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband's first words were "you did good" when we walked in the place. We had a huge cabin with a spectacular view of the creek that our daughter loved exploring. What a great off the beaten place this is! It's a nice little distance from the congestion of Sedona, but delightfully so. Stop in town at Safeway for your wine or food if you're cooking. Otherwise, the resort restaurant is very good. Our cabin was newly decorated and had everything you could ask for. The resort had free movies for the DVD player, an Ipod player was in the kitchen, and room service. Everything about this place is awesome!

Room Tip: We loved the creek view in #10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Initially we were going to stay in Flagstaff while doing a three day tour of the Grand Canyon and Meteor Crater, but the hotel reviews weren't great. So looking further afield we found Sedona which looked like a destination in its own right - so glad we did!

The Junipine looked one of the best when comparing location, ratings and price. On arrival the staff were friendly and we were given unit 16. Initial reactions were mixed... spacious and cozy, but quite dated. The bathroom in particular is old with a clunky bath/shower that is almost impossible to get right and washing/dryers stacked floor to ceiling with a large sign "owner use only" written on it.

Maybe thats a clue - it would appear the units are privately owned and rented through the resort. So maybe its lucky dip what unit you get. Anyway once the initial, lets say.. slight disappointment wore off you quickly see all there is to like about the resort instead. The setting is great with the faint noise of water running down the creek and views of the woods or creek.If you like quiet and peaceful this place is for you!

Worth noting that Sedona itself is about 10-15 mins away by car and that the drive down 89A from Flagstaff has some very tight and narrow bends which will get your attention - particularly in the dark or after a 5 hour drive!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments regarding creekhouse #16. We'll be sure to relay your review to the owner, and go through it point by point. That unit was extensively renovated a few years ago, and we'll take a long look at the shower fixtures to be sure they are operating correctly.

It's great to know that you enjoyed our location, and were able to spend a cozy evening with us. Maybe we can double the length of your next visit ;)

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The setting is incredibly beautiful. The staff does a great job. The unit we had, #20, could not have been more comfortable.

The ammenities were exactly as described. I can't believe some of the negative comments I read.

Anyone will be hard pressed to find a place as wonderful as Junipine.

It's a beautiful drive into Sedona with many places of interest along the way.

I believe Junipine will exceed most people's expectations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thanks so much for telling us about your stay. Indeed, creekhouse #20 is beautiful, and I'm glad you were able to enjoy not only the house, but the grounds/location as well.

If you would like that creekhouse again in the future, just give us a call or when reserving on our website, just indicate your preference in the comments section.

Chris Bosselmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

These are nice condos. The unit we stayed in (#5) was clean, but old. Like 1970's old. It was great to have a fire place, as we had 8 inches of snow. The bed was very comfortable. A very nice surprise was the good quality of the food in the onsite restaurant. Delicious dinner and outstanding breakfast at good prices. Helpful staff, but make no mistake this is not a resort. Not a spa. Not fancy at all. Good, solid, value and nothing more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
I passed your comments on the the Cafe, and they were very much appreciated. That was a snowy weekend, yet it only took three days to melt completely away.

Creek house #5 was renovated in 2009, and the theme the owner chose was exactly as you described - a more rustic feel with a few modern accents like granite counter tops and a spacious loft floorplan. We have 41 creek houses in our rental pool, and each one is individually decorated. Just let us know what you are looking for in terms of location, view, decor, etc and we'll match you up accordingly.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a little hidden gem in the canyon between Sedona and Flagstaff. The drive in and out is lovely - dont go on ice! We stayed right as the snow was falling and it was breathtaking. The property is big enough to offer seclusion from other guests. My husband and son made a snowman and enjoyed a snowball fight! The firewood was dry and every day we had new wood ready to burn in our fireplace The creek is lovely and they say you can swim in it in the summer. Our unit was the birdhouse unit and was a 2 bedroom. It had enough room for two families easily! 5 beds! The kitchen is large and the accomadations make it so you could stay for weeks. We will be back with my grandchildren! Flagstaff, Grand Canyon, Sedona, Scottsdale, Camp Verde, Painted desert, Petrified forest are all within a day trip distance or less! A special thanks to the lady at the front desk (June? Rose?) - the morning of March 12th who spent 30 minutes with us explaining the best route to the grand canyon from the resort. Two advanced trails are accessible from the resort and the popular slide rock park is right down the road. Familes - dont miss this one!

Room Tip: Request a room with a creek view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
It's great to hear about your stay, thank you. It sounds like creekhouse #19 worked great for you, and yes, it would fit up to 8 if you opt to open up the second bedroom/bath next time. Rose has been with us for over 10 years, and I'm glad you had time to walk through a great sightseeing plan. There isn't a trail or monument she hasn't been to in the area.

We hope to see you back with your full family soon.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed for four nights in a creekview room with outdoor hot tub. The room was tastefully decorated. The bedroom had a very comfy bed with huge bathroom & a fireplace. There was also a clean kitchen and large living room w/ fireplace. My biggest problem was that I had not realized how far the resort is from town - it's a very winding road [about 15 - 20 min drive into town] that you have to take to get into the town center with restaurants etc. I took a star away because we found out a day before arriving that the restaurant would be closed nearly the entire time of our trip. Since we planned to eat out a lot, I wish we had elected to stay closer to town but this place is really great for families/those who plan to cook their own meals. The only room issue we had was the hot tub on our deck was luke warm - they sent a repair person right away. He did fix the problem but it took a full day to get warm.

Also, they don't come and clean the room, change towels, make beds or anything during your stay - that's fine but we didn't know this until we got there & we had to call for fresh towels and more soup/shampoo etc.

Beautiful property overall in a lovely, secluded location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
LMCC8 -

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I truly apologize for the surprise regarding the Cafe's hours. They are closed on Sunday afternoons, and all day Monday. I can understand how our proximity to town (8 miles) felt like more than that if you were dining out quite a bit.

Housekeeping service is available every day, and I'm sorry that was not clarified at check-in. We have a complimentary list of items, including firewood, that we will re-stock any day. Full linen service/cleaning is available daily for a $25 fee. However, our creek houses are well stocked, and most guests find they don't need much more than a small daily resupply.

It was great to hear that you enjoyed the creek house, and the amenities, and I hope you will be able to return soon.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Junipine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junipine Resort

Address: 8351 N. Highway 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#15 Family Hotel in Sedona
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Junipine Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Junipine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Junipine Resort Sedona
Junipine Hotel Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Junipine Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.