We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Junipine Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Junipine Resort to your Saves list
Junipine Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   8351 N. Highway 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
“A real treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The setting is incredibly beautiful. The staff does a great job. The unit we had, #20, could not have been more comfortable.

The ammenities were exactly as described. I can't believe some of the negative comments I read.

Anyone will be hard pressed to find a place as wonderful as Junipine.

It's a beautiful drive into Sedona with many places of interest along the way.

I believe Junipine will exceed most people's expectations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thanks so much for telling us about your stay. Indeed, creekhouse #20 is beautiful, and I'm glad you were able to enjoy not only the house, but the grounds/location as well.

If you would like that creekhouse again in the future, just give us a call or when reserving on our website, just indicate your preference in the comments section.

Chris Bosselmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    96
    25
    13
    6
See reviews for
113
151
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

These are nice condos. The unit we stayed in (#5) was clean, but old. Like 1970's old. It was great to have a fire place, as we had 8 inches of snow. The bed was very comfortable. A very nice surprise was the good quality of the food in the onsite restaurant. Delicious dinner and outstanding breakfast at good prices. Helpful staff, but make no mistake this is not a resort. Not a spa. Not fancy at all. Good, solid, value and nothing more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
I passed your comments on the the Cafe, and they were very much appreciated. That was a snowy weekend, yet it only took three days to melt completely away.

Creek house #5 was renovated in 2009, and the theme the owner chose was exactly as you described - a more rustic feel with a few modern accents like granite counter tops and a spacious loft floorplan. We have 41 creek houses in our rental pool, and each one is individually decorated. Just let us know what you are looking for in terms of location, view, decor, etc and we'll match you up accordingly.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a little hidden gem in the canyon between Sedona and Flagstaff. The drive in and out is lovely - dont go on ice! We stayed right as the snow was falling and it was breathtaking. The property is big enough to offer seclusion from other guests. My husband and son made a snowman and enjoyed a snowball fight! The firewood was dry and every day we had new wood ready to burn in our fireplace The creek is lovely and they say you can swim in it in the summer. Our unit was the birdhouse unit and was a 2 bedroom. It had enough room for two families easily! 5 beds! The kitchen is large and the accomadations make it so you could stay for weeks. We will be back with my grandchildren! Flagstaff, Grand Canyon, Sedona, Scottsdale, Camp Verde, Painted desert, Petrified forest are all within a day trip distance or less! A special thanks to the lady at the front desk (June? Rose?) - the morning of March 12th who spent 30 minutes with us explaining the best route to the grand canyon from the resort. Two advanced trails are accessible from the resort and the popular slide rock park is right down the road. Familes - dont miss this one!

Room Tip: Request a room with a creek view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
It's great to hear about your stay, thank you. It sounds like creekhouse #19 worked great for you, and yes, it would fit up to 8 if you opt to open up the second bedroom/bath next time. Rose has been with us for over 10 years, and I'm glad you had time to walk through a great sightseeing plan. There isn't a trail or monument she hasn't been to in the area.

We hope to see you back with your full family soon.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed for four nights in a creekview room with outdoor hot tub. The room was tastefully decorated. The bedroom had a very comfy bed with huge bathroom & a fireplace. There was also a clean kitchen and large living room w/ fireplace. My biggest problem was that I had not realized how far the resort is from town - it's a very winding road [about 15 - 20 min drive into town] that you have to take to get into the town center with restaurants etc. I took a star away because we found out a day before arriving that the restaurant would be closed nearly the entire time of our trip. Since we planned to eat out a lot, I wish we had elected to stay closer to town but this place is really great for families/those who plan to cook their own meals. The only room issue we had was the hot tub on our deck was luke warm - they sent a repair person right away. He did fix the problem but it took a full day to get warm.

Also, they don't come and clean the room, change towels, make beds or anything during your stay - that's fine but we didn't know this until we got there & we had to call for fresh towels and more soup/shampoo etc.

Beautiful property overall in a lovely, secluded location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
LMCC8 -

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I truly apologize for the surprise regarding the Cafe's hours. They are closed on Sunday afternoons, and all day Monday. I can understand how our proximity to town (8 miles) felt like more than that if you were dining out quite a bit.

Housekeeping service is available every day, and I'm sorry that was not clarified at check-in. We have a complimentary list of items, including firewood, that we will re-stock any day. Full linen service/cleaning is available daily for a $25 fee. However, our creek houses are well stocked, and most guests find they don't need much more than a small daily resupply.

It was great to hear that you enjoyed the creek house, and the amenities, and I hope you will be able to return soon.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed for just one night in a creek side room with a hot tub on the deck. I can't wait to come back for a much longer stay. The view from the huge deck and sound of the creek below was fantastic. The room (really a condo) was exactly what we had hoped for. Big fireplace, huge bathroom, and an extremely comfortable bed/bedroom - all somewhat rustic but very well maintained. Having the kitchen was perfect as I love to cook and a charcoal grill outside was a serious bonus. Being able to spend the evening making dinner and relaxing in the hot tub outside watching the stars over the silhouette of the mountains was one of the most romantic nights ever. We couldn't of asked for a better place to stay - just will need to be longer next time!

Room Tip: Creekside room with a hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
I think you did a great job of summarizing what a lot of guests look for when they come to Junipine. Thank you for staying with us, and I'm glad you had a great time.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis MN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed at the Junipine resort for three nights. Our unit was beautiful. There was no evidence of the complaints about the facliity being "dated". We had a creekside unit which also had views of the cliffs. We were busy hiking and sightseeing so did not spend as much time there as I would have liked.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
I hope you can stay longer next time. We'll be sure to have everything in place so that if you do choose to take a down day, you will be glad you did.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

A good 20 minutes north of Sedona, maybe 1/3 of the way to Flagstaff, this place is away from the crowds of town. It's not convenient if you want to be able to bop back into your room while you're out and about, but the drive into and out of town is AMAZING and somehow amazingly different every time you go. The setting of the resort is beautiful, among the mountains and the pines. Off season it's pretty empty, so no worries about noise from the neighboring units.

There's precious little to do on site. No safe place to run or hike, at all --just one meager walking path of less than a mile, so you have to get in your car and go somewhere when you want to actually do anything. But that wasn't an issue for us, for the most part. However, if you're a runner, beware: you very literally can NOT find a place to run there. You have to drive at least 20 minutes to find any place safe.

Fireplaces are great and wood (one fire's worth per day) is free, and there is a TV with DVD player in each unit (but bring your own DVDs, as the selection available at the front desk is meager).

The restaurant is always empty in the off season (which made us too wary to go there, frankly).

The laundry (two washers and dryers near the main office) is small, and was absolutely filthy. The washers work OK, but the filth on and in them made washing clothes there a desperation-only thing.

The woman at the front desk during the days was not a "people person." Maybe she was trying to be nice, but she wasn't succeeding at all. Did not make us feel welcome when we came, not while we were there, not as we checked out. Example: we had a package delivered to us there. I called to see why it hadn't been delivered to us, and she said they never received it. I told her the tracking number, told her exactly, to the minute, when the post said it had been delivered. She said that she didn't see it lying in front of her so they must never have got it. After 5 minutes of her refusing to check on it, I insisted that she go and look. Turns out that it was in the mailbox, and that nobody had bothered to check the mail that day. That kind of "I'm not here to help" attitude pretty much says it all. Since she's pretty much the only person you interact with, it makes the stay much less pleasant.

It's great to have a place with a full living room, full kitchen, bedroom, etc. when you're staying a week. You can make your own food when you want, instead of having to eat every meal at a restaurant. You can spend time there without feeling like you're in some cramped little hotel room, sitting on the bed watching television. Our unit had no bathtub (shower only), which, in retrospect, was a negative for us.

No Pool, No fitness center. It's not that kind of place.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for an "updated" room. And if you have specific needs (e.g., bathtub), d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I really appreciate you mentioning some of the attributes and characteristics of Junipine. On the other hand, I was very disappointed to learn that we fell short in guest service during your stay. There is no excuse for not knowing and locating your package in a timely manner and there is definitely no excuse for not making you feel welcome. It looks as if we also failed to mention to you the two spectacular hiking trails that are accessible directly behind the hotel. Please accept my personal apologies for our shortfalls in guest service. Your comments will be shared with our team. I did want you to know that most of our houses have bathtubs as well as showers. On a future occasion, let us know you want a bathtub and we will make sure you are assigned one of those houses that have one. I also promise you we will address the issue with the washers immediately.

In regards to Junipine Café, we are in fact much slower in the off season when the visitor traffic through the canyon slows down considerably. However, we strive to keep the Café open during slow periods as much as we can as an amenity and service for our guests and I’m confident that given the opportunity, you would have enjoyed your dining experience. Thanks again for your feedback and constructive comments. We hope you will include another visit to Junipine when your travel plans bring you back to Sedona.

Chris Bosselmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Junipine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junipine Resort

Address: 8351 N. Highway 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#16 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Junipine Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Junipine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Junipine Resort Sedona
Junipine Hotel Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Junipine Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.