We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Junipine Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Junipine Resort to your Saves list
Junipine Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   8351 N. Highway 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
NJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We really struggled with whether to stay in town or down the road at the Junipine. For my family, staying at the Junipine was a great decision. It was about 12 minutes from town, but felt good being out of touristy Sedona at night. My husband and son borrowed the fishing rods and fished in the Oak Creek every day, which was very nice. The unit (14) was nice, with new appliances, a comfortable king bed in the master bedroom, and two twin beds in a loft upstairs. The kitchen was outfitted with nice pots and pans. It was a little dark in the unit and it was inconvenient that the restaurant was closed on Monday and nothing was close when we wanted breakfast and dinner, but overall, the benefits of the nice big room with kitchen and "out of town" feeling made the Junipine a great choice for us.

Room Tip: I followed the advice on Tripadvisor and asked for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
It was great to get your note regarding Creekhouse #14. The large floorplan, the modern kitchen/bath and its proximity to the creek/cafe make it a very popular house. I'm glad to hear you were able to take advantage of our fishing gear and make an afternoon out of it.

Junipine Cafe is open Tuesday - Saturday from 8:00am - 8:00pm. It closes at 2:00pm on Sunday through Monday. If we have your e-mail on file we will let you know of any closures 5-7 days prior to your arrival.

Chris Bosselmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    96
    25
    13
    6
See reviews for
113
151
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed two nights in Condo 5 at Junipine. The condos are all individually owned, so the decor varies from unit to unit. This was my fourth stay there and I love the location right next to Oak Creek. There's nothing like behind under a canopy of trees, right next to the creek. The unit we stayed in is starting to get a little dated and needs to have the main bathroom re-modeled, otherwise the accomodations were clean and comfortable. Be advised that they only provide housekeeping when requested, and the services are very minimal. We were not told about this change when we originally checked in, which led to some confusion when we came back to our room in the evening and nothing had been cleaned, beds not made and towels not replaced. When we called the front desk to tell them our room didn't get serviced, the front desk person was a little glib and replied, "So". I think some of their front desk people need some basic customer service training or need to work fewer hours. All-in-all, a great stay though, and we plan on going back for a fifth stay!

Room Tip: Condo 4 is the best on the whole property. Most private and best views of Oak Creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
It was great to have you back, and I'm sorry that our houskeeping policy wasn't explained at check-in. A lack of communication on our part led to the only negative part of your stay - a non caring comment from one of our desk agents - and I am truly sorry for that. To clarify, our housekeeping team will restock towels, firewood, bath amenities, paper products etc on a daily basis at no charge. We do charge $25 for a full clean.

#5 is a great creekhouse for all of the reasons you mentioned. The huge deck isn't bad either ;)

Best to you, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Chris Bosselmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

A nice place. Cabins are individually owned, so some are more updated than others. I attended a wedding there. Very lovely setting. FYI- no cell service there invthe canyon. Our cabin was spacious for 8 adults - would be nice if there was a half bath for those staying in the loft. We were very grateful to have the firewood ready since the nights were a bit cooler. Staff was friendly and accomodating for us.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
First, thank you very much for staying with us at Junipine. It sounds like the loft unit (with two bedrooms on the ground floor and a loft above the kitchen) worked out great for your party. When making your reservation, just reqest 'loft' either on the phone or online and we'll do our best to make it happen.

Chris Bosselmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I adored this resort. It was peaceful and relaxing with spectacular views. The wrap-around porch was delightful and offered a perfect spot for drinking coffee and soaking up the dappled sunshine. The rooms were well appointed and spacious. The juniper wood that was provided for the fireplaces had a wonderful aromatic smell. The king-sized bed was comfortable and inviting. The location could not have been better. Just a short scenic drive into Sedona. Room service was quick, convenient and tasty. The restaurant on the property provided nice hearty breakfasts. We also took advantage of their free DVD library and watched a couple of movies we had never seen. All of the employees were absolutely fantastic and friendly. Overall a marvelous place with wonderful personnel. Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: We had Condo #4. That area was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, Front Office Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay in creekhouse #4. It's a beautiful creekhouse. I've passed your comments on to our staff, and we appreciate hearing that we did a great job for you.

Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed in #44 Creekside condo for 3 nights in late October. The condo was updated and spacious. We loved the two fireplaces, one in bedroom and one in living area. The resort supplies you with wood. The kitchen had granite counters and stainless appliances and they supply coffee. We had a large deck with a hot tub, patio table with chairs and chaises. We were happy we asked for a condo with a hot tub to pamper our muscles after hiking all day. Deck was very private. All we could see was beautiful woods. Loved the bathroom set up because it had a separate counter and sink outside of the bathroom for applying make-up and drying hair. There was a large closet that held our clothing, as well as our luggage. The bedroom bureau was very large. Our condo also had an upstairs with a separate bedroom and bath. Didn't see it since they keep it locked if you don't need it. I think it had a separate balcony upstairs. The master bed was very comfortable and the pillows were the most comfortable we have ever slept on. Can't wait to find out where they purchased them. We ate breakfast at the restaurant on our first day and it was very tasty. The selection is small but we had no trouble finding something that we enjoyed. Great staff. We had most of our discussions with Sandy, who was very warm and informative about hikes to take around Sedona. Cell phone connection is very sketchy in the canyon but once you drive closer to town, it's fine. The ride to town is about 9 miles, and a beautiful ride it is. I happened to love the ride, but if you want to be very close to town this resort may be too far. I loved being able to get away from the crowds at the end of the day. If you are thinking of exploring Flagstaff, then Junipine would be a perfect place since it is in Oak Creek Canyon on 89A which takes you to Flagstaff. It is a spectacular scenic drive. Looking forward to our next vacation in Sedona and would definitely return to Junipine.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Sandy is a gem! She has been with us since 2000, and we are so happy to have her. I have passed your comments on to her personally. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed #44, and all that it has to offer. Many guests agree that it is a fantastic place to stay.

Thank you very much for staying with us.

Chris Bosselmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Couldn't have been happier with this resort. The deck overlooking the creek was completely private, which made it feel like an individual cabin in the woods. Even though it only got down to the low 50s at night, we had a beautiful fire each night. The wood is provided by the resort. The family-run restaurant on the premises was charming and had excellent food. The bonus was being able to walk back to our room after a couple of glasses of wine. I want to go back right now!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
I really appreciate your comments. Many of our guests really enjoy the privacy, the daily load of juniper/cedar wood, and the offerings at Junipine Cafe. Thank you for visiting and we hope to see you again soon.

Chris Bosselmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Junipine Resort is located several miles north of Sedona on Alt Highway US89 in lush forests at the bottom of a deep valley. The living room was large and the kitchen fully equipped. It also featured fireplaces (and plenty of wood) in the living room and bedroom, and a large deck. Our suite, recently upgraded and furnished, had lovely granite countertops in the kitchen and bath.

The Wi-Fi was okay, not great, but considering the remote location, it was satisfactory. There is a restaurant on-site, but we ate in Sedona.

We would stay again at Junipine on our next visit to the Sedona area.

Room Tip: We did have to negotiate about 10-12 steep steps on the sidewalk leading to our room; if this is a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Junipine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junipine Resort

Address: 8351 N. Highway 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#15 Family Hotel in Sedona
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Junipine Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Junipine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Junipine Resort Sedona
Junipine Hotel Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Junipine Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.