We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caught over 200 trout...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Junipine Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Junipine Resort to your Saves list
Junipine Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   8351 N. Highway 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
Mesa, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Caught over 200 trout...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Nice room, stayed here two times and all is great!! The unit we stayed in is beautiful although, I wasnt in the room much. Everything was sparkling clean with all the bells and whistles. I will be back!

Room Tip: I had a creek view room dont get me wrong, it was great but for the money just get a forest view you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    96
    25
    13
    6
See reviews for
113
151
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Louisburg, Kansas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Our trip was in June, we are a family of 6, kids ages 13, 11, 9, and 8. It was very beautiful, plenty of room for all of us, and great to have a kitchen so we didn't have to eat out every meal. The restaurant on site was really, really good as well. The food was fantastic. Comfortable beds, nice bathrooms, lots of space. We enjoyed the deck out back to just sit and read and enjoy the sound of the creek and the cool breezes. We were there for 5 nights. The kids loved playing in the creek. It is in a great location to visit a wide variety of places, the Grand Canyon, Meteor Crater, the Lowell observatory in Flagstaff, and shopping and jeep tours in Sedona. A beautiful and comfortable place to stay!

Room Tip: Get a creekside room if possible, and make sure you get a loft if you are bringing a family!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Ok it's summer, so the first thing on everyone's mind is what about the lack of A/C? I will be honest when we first checked in, I was very impressed with the unit overall and the grounds, but the room was a little warm. That said, after a day we adjusted and were fine. Take it with a grain of salt; we've stayed in Hawaii before without A/C too so we are used to making do in these kinds of situations. Granted I would probably not choose to stay here at the height of summer, though to be fair it is noticeably cooler than uptown Sedona. Personally I liked driving a bit north of the shopping district and feeling like you were "away from it all" as an Arizona native who has visited Sedona before. It was nice to be among the trees and grass for a spell. Also note you are close to Sliding Rock park and the rainbow trout farm. Another fun activity is to head north on 89A to the top of the mountain and there you will find Navajo booths selling some lovely arts and crafts.

The kitchen had all you could need, the patios have great dining and lounging furniture for dining al fresco, the toiletries are nice smelling (blood orange), and the staff were pleasant. We only had one issue our first night. It was a holiday weekend and despite the "quiet zone" warning letters in each unit, one unit was having a very loud, raucous party late into the night. Needing to sleep with the windows open in the summer, this was an issue for us. We did call to complain.

I would definitely return to Junipine with a large group given the spacious units (ours was 2 bedroom + loft) and full kitchen, with preference given to fall/winter/spring.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in cabin 21. It was gorgeous, close to the creek and very clean. We will definetly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

Loved the views from our creek side villa. Truly a beautiful, quiet, secluded place to stay, yet only a 10 minute drive into town. We would love to come back in cooler months as we were disappointed that we were unable to really use the upstairs bedroom as it was way to hot. Great place for a family! I would not pay $280+ per night again for Junipine in the summer, however would in the cooler months. The hot tub was fantastic - enjoyed it every night. The interiors are a little dated, but the views, space and location make up for it.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Junipine might be a nice stay in the fall or winter, but not the summer. It was 107 degrees outside when we entered Sedona. Hoping for a cool, refreshing, forest stay, Junipine was very disappointing.

For $300/night with a creekside view, I expected air conditioning, swamp cooler or something better to cool us in our upstairs bedroom. It was miserable. Couldn't sleep at night until it cooled down around 1 am. Bugs inside, no matter if we kept windows open or closed.

The creek is nice and cool, but it is not easy to access the waters - especially with 2 little ones (ages 2 and 4) who wanted to play in it. They should create a place of easy access into the creek for summertime use.

Junipine Cafe was overpriced and mediocre (the $24 recommended halibut I got was bland and very mushy - i couldn't eat it).

The staff is friendly and pleasant but didn't seem very knowledgable about the grounds (e.g. they couldn't tell me what type of berries grew right on property [even shown on their website] and near the lobby and if they were poisonous or not. I looked it up online: juniper berries. Would be good to know considering the "resort" is called Junipine). Upon my request, they did however personally go into our unit and kill a wasp for me while we were out. I appreciated that.

On the upside, here is what I liked: my view of the canyon/creek from the balcony, cool mornings to sit outside and enjoy tea, sound of the creek, pretty hiking trail on property (but dangerously low power lines you have to duck under), pretty forest area in general, updated modern furnished condo (except for no A/C unit), daily firewood.

This might be a nice place to stay in the fall and winter but I don't think I could go back. Ultimately, to pay $300/night in a "resort" and get miserable nights of sleep because of no A/C isn't right. I felt a bit cheated.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

No, it is not the Holiday Inn thank god, but we travel weary professionals and families actually like sleeping with the windows open (it is 70 this morning in mid July) and listening to the sounds of Oak Creek. The staff are consistently welcoming and friendly, and please note MOST of the units are updated. Not sure why the unit bashing is happening in other posts, but I advise asking for an updated unit if you want that and going with staff to inspect the room you have reserved. Where else can you stay with a full kitchen, and views of creek and cliffs that take your breath away. Sedona is very close, has great restaurants, organic grocers, and so many hiking trails you can hike a different one each day for a year...last night I slept listening to gentle rain, the whispering creek, and on a pillow top mattress with sweet dreams of a relaxing weekend. If you have tried this place, come try it again. If you haven't, call and set up your own perfect vacation. I have been here many times and am always happy...maybe they would let me move in???

Room Tip: Talk with staff about your exact needs. The units are owned by real people just like you and me. Int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Junipine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junipine Resort

Address: 8351 N. Highway 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#14 Family Hotel in Sedona
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Junipine Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Splendia, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Junipine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Junipine Resort Sedona
Junipine Hotel Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Junipine Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.