We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A Sunset Chateau

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added A Sunset Chateau to your Saves list
A Sunset Chateau
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   665 Sunset Drive, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 30 Sedona B&B and Inns
Averill Park, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We traveled through Sedona during our trip around the country. One thing I insisted on doing was staying at a beautiful hotel, and we picked the Sunset Chateau. Although lovely, we were somewhat disappointed. Our room was not ready, and we had to wait an hour after the normal check-in time before we could get into our suite. I would have liked to stay in there a little longer, but we weren't able to get into it until 5 pm. Sedona is breathtaking, to say the least, but the view from our windows was hidden by the trees around the courtyard. Thesuite itself was great: towels were plush, the bed was extremely comfortable, and the decor was delightful. The breakfast was one of the best I have ever had. So all in all, we have mixed emotions about the place. We felt rushed, and we really wanted to be more relaxed when we left.

Room Tip: Be specific: if you are going for the view, ask for a room with a breathtaking vista. If you are g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asunset, Owner at A Sunset Chateau, responded to this review, January 25, 2015
Jan, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! Our apologies regarding the delay in response to you post. Terribly sorry to hear that you felt rushed. We are always seeking to better the experience for our guests, so we appreciate the feedback. It's nice knowing that you enjoyed the breakfast and the beautiful red rock views. A wonderful 2015 to you! Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    39
    12
    12
    3
See reviews for
59
230
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ajo, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We returned to Sedona last week to meet dear friends from the Northwest and spent another magical 3 days at A Sunset Chateau. There is so much to love about this wonderful refuge--delightful proprietors, cozy room with lucious comforter to keep the desert evening chill away, delicious 75 degree saltwater pool and 100 degree pristine hot tub, tennis court a stone's throw away, hiking trails right out the back door,marvelous breakfast on the terrasse looking out at the beautiful red rocks. It's a very short drive to town to enjoy the local shops and restaurants but when you are there town feels like miles away. We hope to return again and again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asunset, Owner at A Sunset Chateau, responded to this review, January 25, 2015
Thank you so much for the truly kind and thoughtful review! Our apologies regarding the delay in response to you post, but we truly appreciate you taking the time to share about your stay. It's such a joy knowing that you and your friends had a nice time with us! Thank you for your loyalty and support!!! We can't thank you enough. Happy 2015 to you and yours!!! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

My wife and I needed a break from the East Coast Winter. The Chateay was perfect for us. It was quiet, friendly staff. The breakfast was awesome and so was the hot tub.

We plan on coming back for another vacation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asunset, Owner at A Sunset Chateau, responded to this review, January 25, 2015
Bob, we are so delighted to know that you and your wife had a nice time with us! Our apologies regarding the delay in response to you post, but we very much appreciate you taking the time to share about your stay. A truly wonderful 2015 to you both! Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerson, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The Sunset Chateau is an enchanting experience - everything from the charming proprietors, the colorful walls and paintings and the exquisite views made this one of the loveliest experiences we have had. We enjoyed the outdoor jacuzzi and pool overlooking the red rocks of Sedona and the cozy breakfast room with superb coffee We are recommending this to all our friends and family and plan to return next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asunset, Owner at A Sunset Chateau, responded to this review, January 25, 2015
It was such a joy reading your review! Many apologies regarding the delay in response to you post, but thank you so much for taking the time to share about your stay! We are so delighted to know you and a nice time with us! Happy 2015 to you and yours! Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I've traveled all over the world and stayed in some fabulous B&Bs and hotels but there is something very, very special about The Sunset Chateau. From the moment we checked-in we were impressed: from the beautiful property with the breathtaking views of the red rock mountains to the friendliness and helpfulness of the front desk staff, to our pristine clean, spacious and charmingly decorated suite room, to the very comfy bed (and I am very picky about my beds), to the delicious breakfast we were served by an exceedingly courteous and attentive wait staff. I casually mentioned that it was my boyfriend's birthday when I made the reservation, and when we arrived to our room after dinner one night, the owners had left a delightful treat of gourmet homemade chocolates and red, ripe strawberries on our coffee table, along with a lovely note wishing him a very happy birthday. It was a very nice touch and very much appreciated! I have already recommended this property to my friends and family, many of whom are as selective about their hotel accommodations as I am. The best compliment I can give A Sunset Chateau is that even given the choice of many highly-ranked properties in the area, I will stay here the next time I am in Sedona. I wish I didn't have to leave!

Room Tip: The Adobe Romantica suites have spectacular views, beautiful furnishings, and are a great value. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asunset, Owner at A Sunset Chateau, responded to this review, January 25, 2015
Wow, we are so thrilled to know that you and your boyfriend had such a nice time! Many, many apologies regarding the delay in response to your post, but we truly appreciate you taking the time to share about your stay. Thank you for such a delightfully enthusiastic review! A wonderful 2015 to you both! Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubac, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Breathtaking views of the Red Rock Mountains from our living room, patio and the communal breakfast area. One of the quietest B&Bs I've ever stayed in. The "gourmet" breakfast was awesome and the servers were exceedingly helpful and courteous. The front desk staff person gave us great advice on everything from nearby hiking trails to little known restaurants and wineries. Highly recommended if you're ever in Sedona.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-8 face north, have great views of the mountains and are the best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asunset, Owner at A Sunset Chateau, responded to this review, January 25, 2015
Rob, thank you so much for the kind review. Our apologies regarding the delay in response to you post, but we truly appreciate you taking the time to share about your stay! We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your time here! Happy 2015!!! Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago and picked it because of the reviews on trip advisor. The rooms were very nice and clean and the views were great. Other than that I thought that the grounds were not attended to as they should be. Lots of dirt and debris on patio areas and around the pool. Didn't see anybody cleaning up outside during our 3 day stay. The pool was also dirty. The lighting in the bedroom and bathroom was terrible and could hardly see to do my hair or make-up. Breakfast wasn't anything special - day 1 overcooked omelet, day 2 very average breakfast burrito and day 3 was French toast that was inedible and by the looks of other people's plates they didn't like it either. Very disappointed. Also no access to front desk before 8:30 am or after 5:00 pm. This place has a lot of potential but they need to take care of the details.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asunset, Owner at A Sunset Chateau, responded to this review, January 25, 2015
Our apologies regarding the delay in response to you post, but thank you for your feedback. We are truly sorry to hear that your stay didn't meet your expectations. It's our mission to always improve and find new ways to make our guests time with us as relaxing and refreshing as possible. Happy 2015 to you and yours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Sunset Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Sunset Chateau

Address: 665 Sunset Drive, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — A Sunset Chateau 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sunset Chateau is a 25 room Bed & Breakfast located in the heart of West Sedona. We have a quiet, hilltop setting with unparalleled views of the red rocks. The property has lush gardens, several patios with tables/chairs, swings and hammocks, a pond/ stream/ waterfall, a heated salt water pool, outdoor Jacuzzi, and a kiva fireplace. Each suite includes organic soaps, shampoos and lotions as well as Starbucks(R) coffee. The B&B is owned and run by two artists, which give it a unique, artistic charm, with original paintings and murals throughout the property and individually decorated rooms. We additionally offer a free complimentary concierge services for setting up tours, dinner reservations, and day planning, as well as in-room massage for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your A Sunset Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Sunset Chateau Hotel Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Sunset Chateau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.