We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing at the Ridge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   55 Sunridge Circle, Sedona, AZ 86351   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
Orange, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Relaxing at the Ridge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I'm happy to recommend The Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort as a great place to stay when visiting Sedona! It's actually in the Village of Oak Creek on a beautiful golf course, and next door to the Hilton where my husband was attending a medical conference. We found our 2nd floor studio unit to be very pleasant with updated furnishings, a great small kitchen and a balcony that had a peek-a-boo view of the red rocks! The bed was comfortable with quality linens, and the kitchen was well supplied.

As for the wifi fee............I discovered that if you are an AT&T customer, it is one of their wifi hotspots, so we were able to get it for free! It would have been nice if they told us this when we checked in, instead of just telling us about the $30.00 fee. We didn't use the pools, but instead we enjoyed their jacuzzi's, especially at night when the stargazing was amazing! So few city lights made it easy to see the milky way!

With so much to see and do in Sedona, we found The Ridge a relaxing and comfortable place to come back to at the end of the day. I'm also especially happy that we saved so much staying here instead of the Hilton next door! We'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    151
    65
    35
    16
See reviews for
125
181
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houlton, Maine
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We'll start with the pros: the property is beautiful, the unit we stayed in (bldg.19) was comfortable, clean, and modern, the location is fantastic, and the staff is very friendly.
With that being said, here are the cons:
1)the water coming out of the shower head is slightly painful (like little pins hitting your skin) and there isn't a way to adjust this 2) while the pools are fantastic, getting to them is a HIKE...I counted 47 stairs to climb to get to the pool closest to our unit, 3) there shouldn't be a charge for WiFi ($30 for the week per device!!!), and most importantly 4) do not sign up for the "90 minute presentation!" the 90 minutes was a 3 HOUR sales pitch (so not worth the $100!)
I would still recommend staying here, just know the cons ahead of time and avoid the presentation.

Room Tip: Ask how close you will be to a pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your review and your kind words, especially referring to our fantastic team who work everyday towards ensuring that our guests have a lovely time. We are sorry for some maintenance issues you appear to have encountered and also we regret to read about your disappointment regarding the sales presentation. As we are primarily a timeshare resort, solicitation of a presentation may constitute a part of the experience, however in most cases attendance to a meeting is not necessary and we are sorry if you were in any way inconvenienced. We hope to have another opportunity to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod Mass
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here twice now and really enjoyed it. Last year we traded for a studio which was great and this year we traded for a two bedroom lockout. We stayed in the same area 504. The sun was lower in October so our room was very dark. I would recommend staying higher up in the fall. The rooms were clean and had all the amenities that you would need. Very close to the grocery store Weber's IGA and the outlet mall.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My two sisters and I stayed the week of September 15 as a trade through Interval. We shared a studio (one sister was only there for three nights). The location was perfect - actually better than Uptown Sedona. We had a second floor room with a nice view of the rocks from the balcony. Very convenient to hiking and all that the area has to offer. Took a day trip to the Grand Canyon and also Jerome and Flagstaff.

Yes, we got the "do you want to take a tour" question when checking in but politely said we were not interested and that was it. Rosemay was fantastic! The restaurants she recommended were spot-on. Try Miley's (don't let the location turn you off) up the road and Rincon (in the mexican village wohose name I cannot spell). Picazzo's was also good. Prices vary but good values everywhere.

The mid-week cleaning left a bit to be desired....As far as interner goes I didn't go on vacation to be on-line. We used the computers in the reception area when we didn't want to use our data plan. You pay for internet at all but the budget hotels so why not ecpect to pay here. All in all, we felt this was a very good value and would stay there again.

Room Tip: if in a studio take a second floor unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Really, you gotta be a grump not to get happy at this place. Its not perfect, but the red-rock world that engulfs the tranquil views around this resort are pretty close. Accommodations are tasteful and comfortable. Its not top of the line, but close enough and yet not snooty or budget busting. Downside is that having to pay for Wi-Fi is annoying as is hard sell to take the time share tour.

Two bedroom units (at least the one they gave my wife and our friends) are not really two-bedroom units...but convertibles. One bedroom is better that the second, causing couples an awkward moment of choice.

And if you're playing the adjoining golf course, buyer beware. SLOW PLAY with useless rangers. On one par 3, FOUR GROUPS were stacked up. If you tee off at one o'clock or after chances are you'll play the backside in the shade and 18 in the dark.

Room Tip: Ask about 2-bedroom units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Booked this without site unseen... was part of our time share book. Grounds are nice and clean, rooms are clean. We had the view of the golf course... I guess it would have been nice, but all we got to view was the white netting - perhaps black netting so we could have seen through? The extra amenities in the room you don't bring with you like coffee, sugar, soap, laundry detergent etc were supplied, but don't expect the small amount supplied will be enough past one day, one load or one load of dishes! And they didn't refill on the cleaning day. Other than that, beds are comfortable, it's quiet. Internet and cable tv would have also been a plus - don't expect that either. You can pay $30 for the week for internet for only ONE device. Is it so hard to offer that free? The entire city of San Francisco is FREE! Staff was really friendly too.

Room Tip: If you want a golf course view - ask if there is a protective net obstructing your view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Traded in my 2 bedroom from a studio (oversize hotel room). The room was very nice, the balcony was good to set on while drinking morning coffee. We were at the top of a hill, so we had a good view of some hills, to me preferable to overlooking the golf course. Although a queen bed, it was comfortable, great shower. The biggest disappointment was the couch. Very uncomfortable, no place to set and enjoy the tv or read. The disadvantage of the studio is my wife sleeps late, I get up early. No place for me to read, so went down to the reception area. Best coffee anywhere.
I enjoyed my stay, The location turned out to be better than staying in Sedona. We traveled to Cottonwood, Clarksburg, Jerome. Better prices and a lot of interesting places in old town Cottonwood. The Verne canyon train trip is relaxing and enjoyable. Felt that there was the usual pressure to attend a timeshare discussion, with the usual incentives. The Wi-Fi is separate from the resort and cost $30 for the week (free use of the computers in the welcome center)

Room Tip: Some have views of the rocks, not many. Others are closer to the pool and hot tub. May not have mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. We always strive to deliver exceptional hospitality and offer good quality accommodation to each of our guests who stay with us, and it is very concerning to us that we did not fully meet these expectations. We regret to learn that you found our sofa’s uncomfortable and were not pleased with floor plan of your unit. We would like to assure you that should our reception team be contacted with regards to this, they would do their best to rectify this issue. As your review states, a two bedroom unit was traded for a studio. The studios are our smallest accommodations, and generally are meant for 2 guests or less. We provide the floor plan of this unit type on our website for easy planning beforehand. Nevertheless, we of course apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to this. We are pleased to read, however, that otherwise you had a pleasant stay and we do hope to see you coming back with another visit in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort

Address: 55 Sunridge Circle, Sedona, AZ 86351
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#16 Family Hotel in Sedona
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#27 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golf Digest gives a big thumbs up on this spectacular and challenging course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ridge On Sedona Golf Hotel Sedona
Ridge On Sedona Hotel
Ridge On Sedona Resort
Ridge Sedona Golf Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.