We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are a Golfer in Sedona...this is the place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort to your Saves list
Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   55 Sunridge Circle, Sedona, AZ 86351   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“If you are a Golfer in Sedona...this is the place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Located in suburban Oak Creek Village, when visiting Sedona and wanting to golf, this is the place to stay. We stayed in an small efficiency and it was clean and OK, but would have preferred a one bedroom unit. Went to the time share sales presentation and wich we hadn't. Not worth spending 90 minutes to see the sales person get offended when you don't sign up.
Nice golf course in the beautiful town of Sedona.

Room Tip: Don't go to the Time Share Presentation
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
We regret to read that you have not been impressed with our sales representative's behaviour and would like to assure you that this is not the standard of customer service we aspire to deliver every day. We hope however that you had an otherwise pleasant stay and that you may consider visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    160
    66
    36
    16
See reviews for
131
196
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, CA
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We exchanged our Marriott Timeshare for a week at the Ridge. We were in a 2 bedroom unit. The resort exceeded our expectation. Check-in was quick and easy. I called prior and asked for a second floor unit which we received. The concierge, Whitney, gave us our welcome packet and was a bit aggressive trying to get us to do a presentation. We passed and moved on to our room.
What we liked:
1. Unit was spacious with everything you need and tons of closets!
2. The room was spotless and had plenty of towels.
3. 3rd day of stay they did a fluff up of towels, kitchen and vacuum
4. The pool and spa were outstanding. I ran into the pool man and complimented him on the cleanliness of the pool and you could tell it had just right amount of chemicals. No chlorine after smell. The view from the smaller pool was fabulous.
5. Easy access to main highway to get into Sedona
6. You could not hear neighbors....very soundproof
7. The grounds were spotless
8. Nice tables and lounge chairs at pool
9. Easy to find parking space

Many notes on TA about getting a room in a building lower than #12. We were building 7 room 704. It overlooked the driving range which was fine as we were out and about most of the day. What I liked about that bldg is that is was close to the smaller pool (although you had to climb 65 steps which wasn't a problem for us but for many could be). That pool didn't have the kids feature like the bigger pool, but it was also kid free. We meet many nice folks there in the afternoon after hiking. It also had two spas.

Highly recommend and plan to return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apalachin, New York
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This resort is located in Oak Creek Village which is about 7 miles south of Sedona. Please note that the highway (179) between Oak Creek and Sedona is to say the least, visually stunning, as it winds between the red rocks, so the trip is enjoyable.

Now back to the resort, we called ahead and asked for a room (2nd floor) with a view near a pool and we got one, so no complaint in that area. Buildings 12-18 seem to have the best views and are close to one of the pools. Check in at 6 PM was quick and easy. Sent to the concierge who give us a VIP card (this is great as most places take the card and give you a discount or free item). They asked if we wanted go to a presentation, but this was not high pressure. We said yes and will describe that later.

The resort is on a hill with some units in lower areas so if you are not near one of the two small pools, you may have to walk uphill a distance to get to the pool. Sedona is more of a on the move outdoors place, so the pool near us was not used much, even thought it was in the 90's. Also there are no elevator's at the resort.

The room was clean and well furnished. We recommend a 1 or 2 bedroom as we saw a studio and they have some limitations. The carpets and furniture could be updated (or maybe just not our style) but were satisfactory. Plenty of linens, bath towels, etc. the kitchen was nice and had two little problems. The toaster did not work and was replaced within 20 minutes. We also found the counter outlets had been tripped and did not work, but we reset them. Also they forget to leave filters for the coffee maker but replaced them later. Our room was quite but no one was next door or above us.

The only other problem was when we used the dryer on the last night before our departure, the heating element did not work. As a warning some units do not have the apartment size washer/dryers.

There is no restaurant at the resort, but you can get breakfast and lunch at the golf club which is next to the resort (easy walking distance) PS-the golf club has a excellent patio view.

Housekeeping came in on Monday (we arrived on Fri.) and they give you a notice the day before.

We found it a little odd that there was no instructions about where items were or what to do with garbage, etc. but a phone call would answer any questions.

This is a great stay over resort more than a stay at resort which is perfect for Sedona as you spend little time at the resort. Please note that Sedona shuts down early. Many stores are closed by 5 PM and restaurants close between 8-10 PM. It is also a dark town, one of four in the world, so not many lights or street lights at night.

Now the only thing that made our stay a little unpleasant. We decided to go to the 90 minutes sales presentation when we were assured it would last no longer than 90 minutes. We informed the concierge of that we had already paid for an off road hummer tour and need to be in Sedona (15-20 minutes away) by 11:30 PM. The main sales presenter Blaine was good and did not high pressure us at all when we noticed that the 90 minute presentation was near 2 hours, Blaine wrapped it up and informed us that another staff would need 2 minutes to complete a review of Blaine's presentation. William Love then showed up. He started off by telling us he had a "special offer" and then started the sales presentation again. We informed him that we had to go and he stated he would be done in 2 minutes. After five minutes my wife stated we had to go now and he asked if we would consider and offer of buying points for $2,995 which was on $30 a month with their payment plan. I said no and Love stated "You don't comprehend, this is a great deal, how can you not understand this?" We told him no again and he held his hand up to my face and said to my wife "you can't tell me your so poor you can't afford this, are you crazy? what don't you understand?" At that point I stated "You don't understand NO, so this is over now how dare you be so rude and demeaning" and we got up and started to leave when I stated "we want our gift now" and Love stated "This has never happened to me before a reaction like this" and I stated "Stop talking or I am going to get real loud" and then we went to another area where a very pleasant lady give us our gift. I then asked if there was a complaint form and she stated yes and gave us a copy to fill out which I did.

My advice is if you do take the sales presentation stick to the 60-90 minutes and don't let William Love near you.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room with a view near a pool. Buildings 12-18 are the best so ask for one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for this detailed review – we’re really pleased to read that your stay at the Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort was a generally enjoyable one!

We’re sorry to read that your experience here was somewhat marred by your interactions with our on-site sales team, though. We strive to provide an excellent standard of service to all our guests, and we don’t feel that there is a need for high-pressure sales contact at our resorts – we regret that this doesn’t seem to have been the case on this occasion, and we sincerely apologize for what seems to have been a very frustrating experience.

We really hope that this didn’t spoil an otherwise enjoyable vacation, and that you’ll choose to come back here for another visit – we’d love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I read several negative reviews about this place before we arrived but we could not find anything negative about the resort. We arrived about 7-7:30 at night after a 10 hour drive and our check in was quick and painless. We also did not receive any pressure sales pitch to attend a meeting. We had a studio apartment and stayed for three weeks. Once, we had a small problem with a towel rod coming loose from the wall, called the office and the maintenance man came to fix it in 5 minutes. Because we stayed three weeks, our studio was cleaned twice a week. We had a wonderful stay. Loved the location in the Village of Oak Creek, which had everything we needed, restaurants, gas, & shopping. The location was close to our day trips away. We highly recommend the Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
First of all, thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience. Naturally, we are pleased to learn that our standards of service and accommodation are worth of your appreciation. We are delighted that our location proved convenient to you and your family and you enjoyed all the attractions available in the area. We hope to see you coming back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

This was our third visit to the resort and we found it to be much less busy than
previous years. We were disappointed to find the Members VIP check-in that we had experienced last year was no longer offered but understand that something similar may be available next year for Gold and Platinum members.

With that said, regular check-in was efficient and we were quickly into our allocated apartment although, not before we had been snagged by the concierge. It was at this point we became ensnared into the 'Owners Workshop' - not a presentation or power sell, more of a group session with other owners where there would be a discussion about the resort - at least, that is what we were told.

Bottom line, it turns into a one on one with a sales member who points out the benefits of your club points and then offers to sell you more points to increase the 'benefits'. We had said no from the outset but two other team members came along separately with other incentives for us to lock in now and buy later. Finally, they got the message - we don't want to buy more points and if, in the future I do, I will going and buy them when I am ready.

Apart from that hiccup, the resort was very nice. As there was only the two of us we opted for a one bedroom unit. The rooms were all clean and well decorated. The kitchens are well appointed and equipped with crockery and cutlery for six guests and a small supply of tea/coffee. There is a stacked washer and dryer although this year no detergent. The bedroom had a king sized bed with first class linen. It was also equipped with a flat screen tv. The en-suite bathroom is spacious and the towels are good quality. One slight criticism; the shower heads are not adjustable and the force with which the water comes out puts my home pressure washer to shame. After a day by the pool roasting in the sun, water coming from the showers with a little less gusto would be so much more soothing.

Being a Diamond Resorts member we had complimentary wifi that worked flawlessly. Much better than our previous visits here. We also had a free daily news paper and enhanced shower and shampoo supplies.

The pool area was never very busy and most relaxing although some of the cushions on the loungers look as though they are in need of replacement. The pool itself was clean and well maintained - we only used the lower pool.

For those who complain about the resort not being in Sedona, get over it. The drive is through some of the most scenic desert landscape and only takes a few minutes. Being 'away from it' makes the resort so much more relaxing. And yes, there is only one housekeeping clean midweek if you are there for a week - good, it means I don't feel like I have to leave every day in order to let them come in and tidy. I can do that myself as I would at home. This isn't a hotel, it is a timeshare resort and some people need to consider that before writing their reviews.

Over all, we had a great time staying here and would be happy to recommend this to family and friends. We will return in the years to come.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. As we are primarily a vacation ownership resort, solicitation of a timeshare presentation may take place yet in most cases, attendance of this presentation is not mandatory and we apologize if our sales team member did not provide better service. We are pleased to know however that this appears not to have marred your stay and you had an enjoyable and relaxing break. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

This resort could easily get better ratings . King size beds please.....everything else very good nice pools loved the location a little out of town but next to great golf course and shopping restaurants close

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

I just left this morning after 3 nights here in a 2 bedroom suite. I used Diamond Resort points although this not a hOme resort. My grandson and daughter shared the lock off studio which had a bed, pull out sofa with a new very comfortable mattress, bath and mini kitchen. I had the one bedroom with full well stocked kitchen, living room bath and bedroom. The entire suite was spotless. We hac a patio overlooking golf course with wonderful views. Right outside our door were barbecue grills. And the family pool with cool water, comfortable chairs and great views was very close. The room was ready when we got in and the check in process was quick and efficient. There was the usual push to the concierge to set up a visit with the sales staff but I said no thanks and that was the end of it. Overall the staff was friendly and helPful providing excellent customer service. the drive into Sedona took about 10 minutes and it was lovely. There is a market 5 min away and lots of restaurants. We loved Pagos Italian so much we ate there twice. Huge portions and reasonably priced wine selection. Minestrone soup is fantastic. I highly recommend this resort. If we ever return to Sedona we will definitely try to stay here. We have only been members of diamond resorts for a couple of years. We finally traded our weeks in Vegas for points. I have used points to stay at several Diamond resorts since then and I have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick K, General Manager at Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments from your recent visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort

Address: 55 Sunridge Circle, Sedona, AZ 86351
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#17 Family Hotel in Sedona
#23 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golf Digest gives a big thumbs up on this spectacular and challenging course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ridge On Sedona Golf Hotel Sedona
Ridge On Sedona Hotel
Ridge On Sedona Resort
Ridge Sedona Golf Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.